We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

#12 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    83
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
56
59
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Goodview, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Granted we got a convention rate, but not a bad room for the money. Only complaint would be that our mini fridge made too much noise while we we're trying to sleep. Even though we we're at the end of the hall across from an elevator and steps, I never heard the loud slamming of a door, or the elevator.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

We are so blessed every year when the end of February rolls around and we get to host this Con. This year was by far the biggest it's been, and sometimes it becomes very difficult to manage all the details surrounding this type of event. That said, the staff from the Con and from our facility worked so diligently this... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during MystiCon, a local science fiction convention. The hotel is in an excellent location, just off Electric Road an near banks, grocery stores, restaurants, and Tanglewood Mall on the south side of town. It's a quick ride to downtown, the airport, or Salem, too, if needed. The front desk staff were friendly, professional, and didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Wow. What a fantastic amount of feedback!! Thank you so much for taking the time to include so much information for us. We are all so glad that everyone seems to have enjoyed the con again this year! And we can't wait to host it again in 2014!! I'm sorry that you didn't get a chance to try out the... More 

Bluefield, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I travel very poorly and usually dread it but my comfort level at this hotel is always assured. A year after our last visit we walked in to a staff that knew our names and preferences. The accommodations are more than comfortable, every level of the staff is kind, attentive and friendly. With easy access to a variety of restaurants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

I was so excited when I heard that you were coming back again this year. We all remembered you from the previous year's Con and we loved having you. Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm happy that you were comfortable again this year. And I look forward to seeing you again next year! Thank you again for your... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

While staying at holiday Inn Tanglewood for Mysticon 2013, I was pleasantly surprised with the professionalism of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel itself, and the way the hotel put up with our noise and activities. It was very pleasant and I would stay there again. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us while attending your convention. We're so glad that we were able to impress you, as we pride ourselves on our service. Every guest, every day, every time we want to deliver on our promise to be the best. I hope you enjoyed the Con and we all can't wait to host you... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

For anyone who has ever run a convention it's a lot of work. And when you reach capacity, if the hotel staff isn't up to the challenge the results can be horrendous. Luckily the staff at the Holiday Inn - Tanglewood were up to snuff. Paul, Rohan, Ashley, Erin and Dylan at the front desk began with excellent service. Amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

I'm pleased to hear that everything went well for your event! Our staff worked extremely hard around the clock that weekend, and it's nice to see that we were able to serve as a great hotel to host you. Leo and Sis we definetly see a copy of this, and I'll see to it personally that they, along with Erin,... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my first visit to the Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood, and I certainly look forward to my next visit. We stayed for two nights (friday and saturday) while visiting a convention in the same building. I found the staff nothing but courteous and I didn't have a single complaint about the cleanliness of the room or any other aspect of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you again for choosing us. I hope you enjoyed the convention and that you'll get the opportunity to come again next year. I'm especially excited to see that you were impresseed with our staff. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and are very glad... More 

Charleston, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When we traveled to this hotel, I was 8 months pregnant, which is not the most comfortable state to travel in. My husband told the hotel staff about my condition and how I needed extra pillows to prop myself up to ease discomfort while I slept, and when we got to our room there were extra pillows waiting for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, and I hope everything is going great with your pregnancy! I remember traveling with my wife when she was 7 months with our third, (she was not all that happy about...well...me at that point). I'm so glad that we were able to make things a little less uncomfortable for you, and I hope... More 

Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family of four was there for a convention, and couldn't have been more pleased with the customer service. The decor and accommodations were ok, but the ongoing renovations should help. The dog-friendly rooms were appreciated. The location was lovely and convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know how we're doing. I'm so happy to hear that you had a great stay! I'm glad that you were able to bring your pet, and that you noticed the work we're doing to improve our product even more! Thank you again for your time and kind... More 

Monroe, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was stellar over the convention weekend. Totally loved the service everywhere except the hotel's restaurant. Never have we had worse service in a restaurant. The food made up for it somewhat. The food was good, the hotel's beds were fantastic and extra super comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for your feedback. I glad that you enjoyed the service at our hotel! And I hope you had a great time at the Con. I'm very sad you hear that you didn't receive acceptable service in our restaurant however, and I truly hope we get the chance to redeem ourselves again... More 

Ringgold, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four days as part of a recent convention. We enjoyed our time at the hotel immensely. Of particular note was the man working the breakfast shift in the hotel restaurant. He was polite and courteous. He suggested we try the hotel's Belgian waffles because, in his words, they were scrumptious. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we're very glad you had such an excellent time with us!! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the waffles!! I personally love them as well. I hope you had a great time at the convention as well, and we hope you get to come back again next year! Thank you again for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay