We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Roanoke hotels

Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
69%
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012
Vanessa C New Orleans, Louisiana
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    69
    47
    18
    11
See reviews for
44
47
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Bedford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Let's just say a coat of paint and new panels in an elevator does not make a hotel "updated". The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. That's the best I can say. I was on a non-smoking floor, and had my dog with me (on the 3rd floor)...there was definitely smoking along the hallway. Room was more than worn.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about the issues during your stay. We pride ourselves on our service and I am glad to see that our staff was friendly and helpful. We do take the security of our guests very seriously and I'm thankful that you've brought the issue of the door lock to my attention. We are beginning an exterior... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at this property on my way to Tennesse. It was a overnight stay but got chance to experience their hotel entirely. From Registration process to Final Bill was just over my expectation. I was greeted by every single employee who encountered me during my stay. The manager (Indian Guy) was very pleasant. The Front desk staff couldn't find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us!! I'm excited to see that our staff was so friendly and welcoming during your stay, we pride ourselves on our service and it's nice to see that our staff delivers on that. Our Assistant GM (the Indian Guy) had a little grin reading your review, and he was really very... More

Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Looked great on checking in, receptionist friendly, clean modern hotel, but looks are not everything!. On entering room found our toilet was broken,reported straight away but took couple of hours before someone came to sort it, had to go down to toilets in reception in the mean time! I felt this hotel had no atmosphere it felt cold and uninviting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did, and I'm very sorry that you had some negative experiences here with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room and that our desk staff was friendly upon your arrival. This feedback is crucial to our ongoing efforts to always improve and... More

Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here one night and for one night, it's not bad. Actually, the rooms are clean and quiet and bed is comfortable with the exception of the horrid Holiday Inn pillows which are rock hard and over-stuffed. Guaranteed neckache the next morning. The hotel itself is tired and a bit run-down. They have tried to update but must have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your recent stay with us. We are always excited to hear from our guests, and your feedback is vital to our ongoing efforts to improve our property. I'm most excited to hear that you appreciated the service provided by our staff and the cleanliness... More

Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just left Roanoke's Holiday Inn Tanglewood- The staff - ALL staff - housekeeping included - were the nicest. Everyone greeted us each morning and night with a pleasant smile. IT WAS refreshing to see that . This hotel is huge - they have a parking shortage for as large as their hotel is but I would go there again. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We have spent a ton of time in training with all of our staff recently and it's nice to see that paying off. We are a fairly large property and we are working on some ideas to make parking easier for our guests. I see that... More

Bremen, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was on a bus tour to the Amish Country and our first stop was to spend the night here. The rooms were very nice. Breakfast was served to our group on the fifth floor. The only problem I had was the drink machines that had water were on the first floor. Beds comfortable and very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I hope the rest of your trip went well, and I'm very glad that we had the chance to serve your group. Our continental breakfast is served on the 5th floor, and it is available to our club members 5 days a week! Also, we did just finish a room renovation this year,... More

Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
107 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Omg this has to be the worst Holiday Inn. It's needs some serious TLC! Frig in room buzzed all night. Some serious carpet cleaning needed. Found someone else's toenails on the floor in my room! The beds left me with lower back pains. I'm sorry but I do not have one good thing to say about this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear Thesoupnazi88, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. I have taken note and wish to... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked our reservations through the Holiday Inn website for a room with a king bed a week before our stay. When we arrived, we were told they only had doubles left. I asked to cancel my room without penalties since they didn't hold the reservation and immediately began looking up other hotels in the area. They immediately found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Dear TerriK770, Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. It is good to know that they were able to provide you with the room type needed. I apologize for not being able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. We have taken note of your comments... More

Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My company usually has our meetings at the HI on Ordway Drive close to the airport. It's an ok hotel that's a bit older but completely fine for my purposes. They were sold out this last trip so we were booked at the Tanglewood location. Loved the switch! At first I thought it was a brand new hotel but realized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback, I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We know there are several options around the area for hosting meetings, and we're so glad you chose to try out our facility for your last event. You've noted that you felt as if the hotel was a newer property, We actually did just renovate... More

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I just wanted to share, and give high praise to the staff at the Holiday Inn Roanoke. I travel a lot in my line of work, and rarely have my expectations been exceeded like they were by the exemplary service provided by the front desk associates at this property. From check in, to sharing local hotspot insight, dining, and ensuring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback, it's always exciting to hear high praise for our staff. We take pride in our service and focus heavily on training our staff to be helpful and informative. I'm glad to see that you plan to be back and would love to introduce myself when you're with us again. I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay