We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Roanoke hotels

Sleep Inn Tanglewood

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014
Paul C North Tazewell, Virginia
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
15
10
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
North Tazewell, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The employees went above and beyond any expectations I have from any hotel. I do a lot of traveling and this location is one of my best experiences. Would recommend to everyone. The location was in close proximity to Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to make this a second home for our guests and I am glad to hear we are accomplishing this. Thank you as well for the Carilion plug as we are building a great relationship with our Carilion community and welcome any family or friends visiting their loved ones at a... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I have stayed at the Sleep Inn Tanglewood four or five times in 2014. I find it a very pleasant place and it is convenient to other places I need to be in Roanoke. The Tanglewood Mall is across the street, a pleasant full service Mexican restaurant is next door and a wine and spirits shop is on the block.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! I definately appreciate the comment that we are as good as Cambia as they are rated #1 in Roanoke. It is our goal to become THE #1 place to stay in the "Star City"! I also appreciate your loyalty in staying at our hotel every time you come visit! More 

Gatineau
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed there one night and the room was large and comfortable however the air conditioning was noisy and the maid didn't clean properly (see pictures). I would not have stayed there more than one night because of the dust.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences occured during your stay. We have renovated and have larger more comfortable room. I do apologize for the extra dust as we are still cleaning daily every room due to renovations. It has been a process since we have taken over the property and began renovations. We also had a complete makeover of the staff... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Booked by phone after our normal choice hotels booking wouldn't take with rewards card. First they booked the wrong exit and location. Second they didn't book the room type we request each time because they failed to mention that this hotel has ZERO bathtubs. Sign at front desk says pardon our mess while the front desk clerk insists they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I would like to apologize on behalf of my staff and I for the condition of your room. We are in the middle of renovations and I believe you may have been put in one of our older rooms. I also apologize for Choice Hotels not being able to accomodate you for the hotel you were looking for. Please feel... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The pictures on here do not look like the room we had, our room had dark wood, new furniture, granite countertops and stylish touches, breakfast was decent enough and while staff were very slow, and fairly stupid it seemed, they were friendly. I think this place is a very good value for the price if you get one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have renovated the 2 main floors while leaving the bottom floor un renovated until November when business slows. This does offer us a chance to give un renovated rooms at a smaller price. i do apologize that our staff was not up to par and i will do all... More 

Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was attending a class and was there overnight during the week. The property was clean, inside and out. The free breakfast was more then just danish and cereals, more than I honestly expected. The staff was great, from check-in to my departure. They were very courteous and helpful with my questions. I will stay here again when I come... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have more exciting additions to the breakfast coming. We also strive to keep the property extra clean even while renovations are happening. Please come back and stay next time your in the Roanoke Valley. More 

Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

this is probably a nice 3 star hotel, but the friendliness of the staff bumped it to a 4 star for me. when I checked in they told me how they had just purchased the property this spring and are working hard to update it. improvements are visible throughout the hotel, new furniture in the bedrooms, wallpaper removed and replaced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much four your feedback. My desk clerk was correct in saying that one complaint is too many, we strive to make sure the guest has the best stay possible. I do apologize for the oversight of the trash and will make adjustments to not have this overlooked again. I also would like to express to all concerned... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

From Manager Travis Hill, to the housekeeping staff, I love Sleep Inn Tanglewood. Over the course of my life I've stayed in every imagineable type of facility; a road-side family-owned motel in Colorado & New Hampshire, major-chain hotels from New England to California, B&Bs in various states , even a five-star suite in New York. In all my travels I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are trying to make this hotel the #1 place to stay in Roanoke. We know it all begins with great customer service, that is why our goal is to go above and beyond expectations. I have passed these comments on to my staff and they love knowing they have another happy... More 

Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The price of this hotel can't be beat. And it was clean and neat. The staff were courteous. It offers a nice continental breakfast which, again, at this price is really nice. I did have a noise issue that was corrected right away by staff by checking me into a top floor room. Things to know: 1. Ask for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! The staff here are more than acomodating when it comes to our guests. We are aware of our elevator situation and are willing to carry any bags for any guest. We strive to offer good southern hospitality and a comfortable room. More 

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay while visiting family back home. I could not figure out how to access the internet from my room. I called to the desk and spoke to the General Manager and he instructed us how to get on. A few moments later the clerk, Raj had called just to make sure all was still ok with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy to help guests with any issue that happens during their stay. I am happy to hear that Raj's quick actions led to helping secure another life long guest. Please stop by any time you are in the Roanoke Valley. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Address: 4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay