We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Roanoke hotels

Sleep Inn Tanglewood

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
51%
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Joan R Jonesborough, United States
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
10
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Jonesborough, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Asked for room, got a suite which was evidently still being renovated. Beds were o.k., but not quite the comfort level of the previous Sleep Inn stay. No elevator. Nice desk and chair for wifi use, comfortable but dated sofa and chair. Bedspreads were dated and the pocket doors were a bit confusing. Location and price were good and breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't discover i had left my bag of shoes at the Tanglewood hotel until two hotels later. Katrina was so nice. She went over an above her usual duties by taking them to the post office herself and mailing them to our last stop on our journey at another Sleep Inn in Ohio. When we arrived, the box was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is really great. Considering location and price you can't beat it. Friendly, helpful staff, nice breakfast and great rooms. I am treated like a VIP. Apparently the hotel hass been recently renovated. Love the water pressure in the showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We went to the Sleep Inn in Tanglewood after a long road trip. We walked into a lobby and the gentleman at the desk was very nice. We had too room booked on the first floor next to each other I called to verify that the rooms were on the renovated floor.. We decided to check out the rooms before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your very bad experience. We have encountered many problems with renovations and had planned on not opening any more rooms up until after November. With the increased demand for the hotel we did make a decision to try and finish up a few of our suites that were left... More

North Tazewell, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The employees went above and beyond any expectations I have from any hotel. I do a lot of traveling and this location is one of my best experiences. Would recommend to everyone. The location was in close proximity to Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to make this a second home for our guests and I am glad to hear we are accomplishing this. Thank you as well for the Carilion plug as we are building a great relationship with our Carilion community and welcome any family or friends visiting their loved ones at a... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I have stayed at the Sleep Inn Tanglewood four or five times in 2014. I find it a very pleasant place and it is convenient to other places I need to be in Roanoke. The Tanglewood Mall is across the street, a pleasant full service Mexican restaurant is next door and a wine and spirits shop is on the block.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! I definately appreciate the comment that we are as good as Cambia as they are rated #1 in Roanoke. It is our goal to become THE #1 place to stay in the "Star City"! I also appreciate your loyalty in staying at our hotel every time you come visit! More

Gatineau
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed there one night and the room was large and comfortable however the air conditioning was noisy and the maid didn't clean properly (see pictures). I would not have stayed there more than one night because of the dust.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences occured during your stay. We have renovated and have larger more comfortable room. I do apologize for the extra dust as we are still cleaning daily every room due to renovations. It has been a process since we have taken over the property and began renovations. We also had a complete makeover of the staff... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Booked by phone after our normal choice hotels booking wouldn't take with rewards card. First they booked the wrong exit and location. Second they didn't book the room type we request each time because they failed to mention that this hotel has ZERO bathtubs. Sign at front desk says pardon our mess while the front desk clerk insists they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I would like to apologize on behalf of my staff and I for the condition of your room. We are in the middle of renovations and I believe you may have been put in one of our older rooms. I also apologize for Choice Hotels not being able to accomodate you for the hotel you were looking for. Please feel... More

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The pictures on here do not look like the room we had, our room had dark wood, new furniture, granite countertops and stylish touches, breakfast was decent enough and while staff were very slow, and fairly stupid it seemed, they were friendly. I think this place is a very good value for the price if you get one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have renovated the 2 main floors while leaving the bottom floor un renovated until November when business slows. This does offer us a chance to give un renovated rooms at a smaller price. i do apologize that our staff was not up to par and i will do all... More

Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was attending a class and was there overnight during the week. The property was clean, inside and out. The free breakfast was more then just danish and cereals, more than I honestly expected. The staff was great, from check-in to my departure. They were very courteous and helpful with my questions. I will stay here again when I come... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have more exciting additions to the breakfast coming. We also strive to keep the property extra clean even while renovations are happening. Please come back and stay next time your in the Roanoke Valley. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Sleep Inn Tanglewood?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Address: 4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay