We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Roanoke hotels

Sleep Inn Tanglewood

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
50%
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
DeHull Gatineau
  • Overview
  • Reviews (54)
  • Photos (12)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
9
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there one night and the room was large and comfortable however the air conditioning was noisy and the maid didn't clean properly (see pictures). I would not have stayed there more than one night because of the dust.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences occured during your stay. We have renovated and have larger more comfortable room. I do apologize for the extra dust as we are still cleaning daily every room due to renovations. It has been a process since we have taken over the property and began renovations. We also had a complete makeover of the staff... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Booked by phone after our normal choice hotels booking wouldn't take with rewards card. First they booked the wrong exit and location. Second they didn't book the room type we request each time because they failed to mention that this hotel has ZERO bathtubs. Sign at front desk says pardon our mess while the front desk clerk insists they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

I would like to apologize on behalf of my staff and I for the condition of your room. We are in the middle of renovations and I believe you may have been put in one of our older rooms. I also apologize for Choice Hotels not being able to accomodate you for the hotel you were looking for. Please feel... More

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The pictures on here do not look like the room we had, our room had dark wood, new furniture, granite countertops and stylish touches, breakfast was decent enough and while staff were very slow, and fairly stupid it seemed, they were friendly. I think this place is a very good value for the price if you get one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have renovated the 2 main floors while leaving the bottom floor un renovated until November when business slows. This does offer us a chance to give un renovated rooms at a smaller price. i do apologize that our staff was not up to par and i will do all... More

Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was attending a class and was there overnight during the week. The property was clean, inside and out. The free breakfast was more then just danish and cereals, more than I honestly expected. The staff was great, from check-in to my departure. They were very courteous and helpful with my questions. I will stay here again when I come... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have more exciting additions to the breakfast coming. We also strive to keep the property extra clean even while renovations are happening. Please come back and stay next time your in the Roanoke Valley. More

Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

this is probably a nice 3 star hotel, but the friendliness of the staff bumped it to a 4 star for me. when I checked in they told me how they had just purchased the property this spring and are working hard to update it. improvements are visible throughout the hotel, new furniture in the bedrooms, wallpaper removed and replaced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much four your feedback. My desk clerk was correct in saying that one complaint is too many, we strive to make sure the guest has the best stay possible. I do apologize for the oversight of the trash and will make adjustments to not have this overlooked again. I also would like to express to all concerned... More

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

From Manager Travis Hill, to the housekeeping staff, I love Sleep Inn Tanglewood. Over the course of my life I've stayed in every imagineable type of facility; a road-side family-owned motel in Colorado & New Hampshire, major-chain hotels from New England to California, B&Bs in various states , even a five-star suite in New York. In all my travels I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are trying to make this hotel the #1 place to stay in Roanoke. We know it all begins with great customer service, that is why our goal is to go above and beyond expectations. I have passed these comments on to my staff and they love knowing they have another happy... More

Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The price of this hotel can't be beat. And it was clean and neat. The staff were courteous. It offers a nice continental breakfast which, again, at this price is really nice. I did have a noise issue that was corrected right away by staff by checking me into a top floor room. Things to know: 1. Ask for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! The staff here are more than acomodating when it comes to our guests. We are aware of our elevator situation and are willing to carry any bags for any guest. We strive to offer good southern hospitality and a comfortable room. More

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay while visiting family back home. I could not figure out how to access the internet from my room. I called to the desk and spoke to the General Manager and he instructed us how to get on. A few moments later the clerk, Raj had called just to make sure all was still ok with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy to help guests with any issue that happens during their stay. I am happy to hear that Raj's quick actions led to helping secure another life long guest. Please stop by any time you are in the Roanoke Valley. More

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel itself is a bit dated and undergoing renovations. Despite this the price was right and the staff was very professional and accommodating. Mike Snelling was especially helpful with a number of needs I had as a cross-country cyclist. He helped make my stay quite enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are undergoing renovations to to improve our customers experience. It is employees like Mike Snellings that helps put us above our competition. Please stop by the hotel next time your riding through the valley! More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in the in-progress, renovated Sleep Inn. At least, I hope they aren't finished renovating yet. There are certainly some nice amenities like the furniture, fridge/freezer, desk, etc. The door to the bathroom is an old-school sliding door that disappears into it's hiding cubby if it's pushed too far. This makes for a struggle to get it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. You are exactly right, we are still doing minor tweaking to finish our renovations. We have completed the main part which is gutting the rooms and re finishing and purchasing new furniture and equipment. Now comes the remaining parts. replacing old Air conditioners, bath fans, bedding, and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sleep Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Address: 4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Roanoke with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sleep Inn Tanglewood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer