We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill

Hotel website
Hotel deals
12367 Gov. GC Peery Hwy, 1.5 Mi E Insct US Rt460 and 19, Pounding Mill, VA 24637
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Richlands\/Claypool Hill
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lexington, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

This property is nice and has clean yet comfortable rooms. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank WolfgangThis
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Claypool Hill Super 8.I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. Please come back and see us again! More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

When my daughter and I first arrived, it was apparent that smoking was being allowed in the hotel (even though it was clearly stated that it was a NON-SMOKING facility). When walking down the hallway, the entire area was filled with ciagrette smoke. At one point during our stay, I even heard the maids discussing in the hallway just how... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 652mglb
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we apologize for the smell of smoke in some areas and for the fact that it was not addressed properly. I appreciate you letting us know and we will check into it. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. Thanks so much for being our guest. More 

Brodhead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I stayed with my 4-year-old son, and we were pleased with the property. The staff was friendly and the rooms were great for the affordability. There aren't many options in the area, and I would certainly stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Regional Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay with us at our Claypool Hill, VA Super 8. I am very happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one, we would love to see you again. Thanks for being our guest. More 

ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

I reserved two suite rooms months in advance using Tingo (a Trip Advisor Company) only to find out after paying for the rooms in full (to get the current rate), then finding out at checking the rooms were NOT available, well one suite was. I was very disappointed! The girl at the front desk said there was a maintenance problem.... More 

Helpful?
Thank welovethesmokies1
Larry K, General Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at our Super 8. I am sorry that the room you requested was not available and you were not notified ahead of time. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

This was the nicest hotel I have stayed in in the past two years. And I have stayed in many hotels. The room has beautiful and felt so welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank shanitiaa
Larry K, General Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments you posted about your stay with us at our Claypool Hill, VA Super 8. I am glad to hear your stay was a pleasant one and that you were treated well. We pride ourselves on our great staff and our recently renovated rooms, and we appreciate great feedback such as yours. Glad you enjoyed... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

The motel doors slam so loud that would wake us up. It's noisy here. You could hear traffic outside. The sheets and comforter are also smelly. Some of the non-smoking rooms smell like smoke. Some guests smoke even though they know the rooms are non-smoking.

Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler2010
GMLegacyMGMT, General Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

I apologize that your recent stay with us at our Claypool Hill, VA Super 8 was not a comfortable one. We do a monthly preventative maintenance program and our door closures are part of the inspection to assure that the doors do not slam like you mentioned above. I am sorry for the road noise that you experienced as well,... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

light bulb was out in lamp on table; was replaced by staff. when heater was turned to warmest setting, there was a smell that set off fire alarm. Therefore we slept in cold room with temperature set in the middle. This was a potential fire hazard and totally unacceptable. Should have been addressed prior to anyone taking occupancy of room.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 937hughh
GMLegacyMGMT, General Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the heater not working properly and other problems with your room. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We will address these... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pounding Mill
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lebanon
22.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bluefield
Comfort Inn Bluefield
#1 of 1 in Bluefield
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#2 of 2 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
19.9 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
11.0 mi away
Fincastle Motor Inn
Fincastle Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Tazewell
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay