We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
425 Water Street, Portsmouth, VA 23704
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    156
    132
    52
    31
    25
See reviews for
85
85
21
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (396)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding and was more than disappointed. My husband said that it was more like staying at a lesser hotel than the Renaissance brand that we know and love. It took a long time before I was waited on at the reception even though there was only one guest in front of me. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Upper Darby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel while visiting the Hampton Roads area for the Hampton Jazz Fest. Loved the area and gym and everyone was so friendly and helpful. The only negative thing was the breakfast service, but that doesn't change my opinion of this hotel. It was a wonderful stay. I will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastal NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I expected more out of this property. The room furnishings were dated and reflected the quality one would expect in a Fairfield Inn. I hope the owners are in the process of updating the rooms; it is desperately needed. Free Wi-Fi was available but it was terrible (as you would expect from free Wi-Fi at a hotel). If you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galt, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was just "OK". Pricey, but not much of a selection nearby. The mattress had seen better days, in-room coffee let us prepare one cup to share. The room was clean, view from 12th floor was very nice. Don't think I would stay there again. Wi-fi was free but I had to end up using my phone since the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again and come visit us again soon! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised with my recent stay at the Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel. We arrived before noon and went to see if our room was available early. Although our room wasn't ready the front desk staff was very helpful in telling us where to park and a few local things to do while we waited for our room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing!! Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again and come visit us again soon! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk for a friend's wedding weekend. The hotel was beautiful and overall it was a great experience, but at the wedding reception several iphone's were stolen towards the end of the night. I was disappointed that none of the banquet, clean up or hotel staff seemed to take it seriously. We realized the phones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and truly apologize. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I have personally presented the listed opportunities to my management team! Again our sincerest apologies!! More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for a concert at the NorVa and really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance! From the minute we drove up, until the time we checked out, we were pleased. Customer service is top notch and everyone is so friendly and accommodating. The hotel is simply beautiful and has stunning views. We were on the 12th floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel!!! The water ferry is a delight for any family to experience. Next time you come to Portsmouth, please let me know! Would love to meet you and your family!!! More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 2 nights, it is a beautiful hotel. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Stayed in 2 different rooms, as I wasn't sure how long we would be staying, so checked out and then rebooked. The harbor view is gorgeous. The rooms are attractive with nice towels and Aveda products. The hotel is large and the parking garage is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing!! Next time you visit our hotel, I would be delighted to let you sample one of our tasty appetizers!! Look for to seeing you again soon!!! More 

Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a very good location to stay in Portsmouth as it is right on the harbour and also within walking distance of main street. Staff are very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of surrounding attractions

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing!! Our staff takes pride in getting our guest to discover something new. Please let us know when you plan to return so we may share other hidden gems!!! More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friends booked a room at the Renaissance for us when we were visiting the area for a special occasion. The room was very spacious with well-chosen furnishings. Though we were not on one of the higher floors, the view of Norfolk was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, and the seating was adequate for a gathering of friends. The hotel’s public... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darnell S, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I have communicated the notes shared. We look forward to seeing you again!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay