We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Kerikeri accommodations

Aroha Island Ecocentre

177 Rangitane Road | RD1, Kerikeri 0245, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Aroha Island Ecocentre
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very pretty and small camp with lovely people. Clean and tidy. Something a little different too. Hopefully with all these good reviews they are getting, the place will still be small, quiet and peaceful. This is a quiet eco-camp, Lets all hope it stay's that way and does not get too popular with the regular camping crowds. Go there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

a little jewel amongst all the camp grounds we've been to so far in NZ. We stayed 6 nights at this campground after finding it with a Google search. The place is tidy, probably not the place for families that expect a whole heap of activities but Kerikeri and other places are not far away. We kayaked, did the kiwi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is a great place for camping, very inspiring, clean, quiet and really friendly people with a lot information about kiwis. Unfortunatly we could only stay one night and we didn`t spot any kiwis that night but we didn`t regret our stay anyway as we had a good time there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very quiet small island, yet with full of activity for kids, Children spent some time in the kids corner, We also did kayaking and self guided kiwi walk. Winter manager Helen and Tim were very friendly. My only complain is this place is too far away from home, that I couldn't come often. During the stay, My 7 year old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

New Zealand is so full of beautiful sites that it's almost impossible for any one place to be more special than another. Our stay on Aroha Island was a game changer. To begin with, how many times can you say that you had a whole island basically to your self? This is a place to lose yourself, forget about all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a special time at Aroha Island. We loved having your family here and so pleased that you had that special moment of seeing a kiwi in its natural habitat. Thank you also for your kind donation for Grandma Barbara the Kauri Tree Helen & Tim Lee Winter Managers More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have friends who live in Kerikeri and they have camped here a number of times, sometimes with just them there - must be idyllic. They have also been lucky enough to see the kiwis during the night time walk in the woods a number of times. We had a one night camping stay in March 2013 when we visited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Aroha Island. Easter was a busy time with school holidays and the gorgeous weather this year, but hope you can come back another time and enjoy the beautiful campsite and location and the peaceful setting that this place usually is. Even if you don't see a kiwi, walking around... More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A beautiful place just 12 Kms away from Kerikeri town. Helen was very kind when she assisted us with the booking. We had booked the Fantail Cottage - a sweet cottage for 4 with a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. The cleanliness of the room was just spot on. A paradise for ones who love bird watching and listening to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and you never know you might just spot those kiwi :-) Helen & Tim Winter Managers More

NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wish we had time to stay but our visit today inspired us to book a return trip soon. Beautiful spot, simple but lovely facilities, plenty to keep our littlies (5 and 8) entertained for some time All overnight options are attractive! The idea of sleeping that close to kiwis and maybe even being lucky enough to see one is truly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inge B, Manager at Aroha Island Ecocentre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit here and look forward to seeing you again in the future. If you are able to stay the night, hopefully you will be able to enjoy a night time walk to try and see our resident kiwis. Helen & Tim Lee Winter Managers More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Alice & Cliff Hutton made it possible to live with nature with the comforts of home. We stayed in the Fantail Cottage while our friends stayed in the Tui Cottage (what wonderful names). The entire centre is managed exceptionally well with everything provided for to make your stay comfortable. Heated water is provided through Solar heating (really good for those... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we travelled for 3 months in NZ. We wanted to see a kiwi and we were told about this place. The volunteer who was in charge these days was really nice, helpful and full of knowledge about her country. So, we stayed in the campground and went for kiwis searching in night time...and we saw one !!! Lovely place

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Aroha Island Ecocentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Island Ecocentre

Address: 177 Rangitane Road | RD1, Kerikeri 0245, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroha Island Ecocentre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aroha Island Ecocentre to your Saves list