We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial House Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Special Rate
NZ$144 (NZD)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Colonial House Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was best hospitality that we have seen - great stay, helpful owners, a refreshing pool and overall a good value for money. Our family stayed here and loved the place. It had all the things that you need in a room includes a small kitchenette with essential cutlery. The location is easy to find - very quiet and private.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GauravGrover
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Gaurav, Thank you so much for sharing with us and writing such a super review. We really do try to make your stay a happy one and it is wonderful when this is appreciated. We hope that you and your family will come to visit us again soon. With many thanks and kindest regards, Alan & Andrea. More 

Antequera, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights but wouldn't do again. On arrival all seemed ok and the hosts Alan and Andrea are very nice. I got a welcoming glass of wine and a couple of mini bits of shortbread. However upon inspection the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there were ants in the kitchen but most worryingly around the bed and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tutupointe
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi tutupointe, Where to start? Ants in summer are always a problem, they mostly come looking for water - it's just natural - and they can appear in a flash; that's why we provide a very effective insect spray. On the first day you said you had a problem with WhatsApp– we fixed the problem and left a note for... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with my wife and our 3 kids and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everything was so easy. A home away from home, the pool was perfect for doing my laps and for the kids who are still learning to swim. And we could even play backyard cricket, and so close to shops and cafes .... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveSheehan69
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Your review is very very much appreciated. It is great to see a family laughing, playing and having fun together, especially enjoying our super salt-water pool. Looking forward to your next trip, hopefully in April. With many thanks and very best regards, Alan & Andrea. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The motel is an older style but very comfortable and with a recently renovated bathroom that includes high quality fixtures and a spa bath. Insect screens are fitted on doors and windows, and the location is quiet and secure so everything could be left open on warm evenings. The setting is delightful with mature gardens and a very peaceful feeling.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 405Sally
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi 405Sally, Thank you so much for your lovely review; so informative and insightful. We really love our location - the motel itself having a very special ambiance. Our tagline is "Your Quiet Place" in Kerikeri. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Best always, Alan & Andrea. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Alan and Andrea have created a truly comfortable place to stay in Kerikeri. It starts with a warm welcome. We got our choice of wine, these sweet biscuits, and our choice of milk which the proprietors carried to our room. We received a guided tour of our room and was shown where everything was - the heat was even turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Wow Bernard, you are amazing! Such a wonderfully detailed and descriptive review! Very well done - are you possibly a feature writer / photographer back home? It was so lovely to have you and Melanie as our guests. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Bay of Islands and most especially your scuba diving. We thank you sincerely... More 

Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Set in a very peaceful location, two minutes out of Kerikeri, I HIGHLY recommend this motel. Comfortable, with free wifi, two bedrooms (one queen size and two singles, plus a sofa bed in the living area), there's plenty of room for the family. With a swimming pool and easy walking distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you David for your wonderful review. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Bay of Islands and not forgetting your very special memories at Cape Reinga. Wishing you and Helen a super dynamic holiday in New Zealand. It was so lovely to meet you both. Thank you once again, Alan and... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

This place is very private. The hosts were so welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. Really nice after a day at work. Will definitely stay here again. The rooms are very pleasantly fitted out. Nice and quiet at night. Wish I'd brought my togs as the pool looked inviting and it was very humid.

Helpful?
Thank themacgirls
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi themacgirls, we really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back to Colonial House Kerikeri (please don't forget your togs this time as the salt-water pool is absolutely delicious!!!). With many thanks, Andrea & Alan. More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

We decided to stay for 4 nights at this motel, and weren't disappointed at all, quite the opposite. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and made our stay very comfortable. We used it as a base to go out and visit various places and it worked very well. There are lovely places to eat in Kerikeri and lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank OrangeCat86
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

' Hi OrangeCat86, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We try to help you really enjoy your stay in the wonderful Bay of Islands and especially gorgeously gastronomic Kerikeri. Please visit us again! More 

Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

This Motel is more than a motel ....it is a home-away-from-home ... Andrea and Alan gave me such a warm, friendly welcome when I arrived ... the little extras were wonderful - my cottage was lovely and warm as Andrea had turned on the heater earlier, the offer of freshly baked home made biscuits and a wine was tempting. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank blue13127
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi blue13127, thank you for such a wonderful review. It is really easy to be friendly and hospitable to such a gracious guest as yourself. So glad you loved the amazingly comfortable new beds with the comfy-puffs - they really are delicious! We so look forward to welcoming you back again, Andrea & Alan. More 

Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

I have stayed at the Colonial House several times, and it is very clean, very modern, and quiet. The owners are very welcoming, there are nice feather pillows to sleep on, a great spa bath, nice linens, and also I had a glass of wine and a treat, which was unexpected.

Helpful?
Thank babalinany
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you BabalinaNY for the lovely review. It is very, very much appreciated. Every good wish for the future, Andrea & Alan (PussPuss & Biggles) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.3 mi away
Abilene Garden Motel
Abilene Garden Motel
#8 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
8.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.2 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#3 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay