We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

14 Mountain Crescent, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    17
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
3
69
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the kyoto suite and loved the bathroom. The spa bath and shower were a joy to use and we loved the little window looking into our japanese garden. It was so serene, we actually felt in we were in Japan. Our bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed lounging on the deck overlooking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

ThIs place is shifty. Once they book out they raise their prices 100 fold and put booked for the next few days. If you call them they offer you a normal rate as a discount and say it's available at a tenth of the price. This is an ACCC Dream if someone wishes to complain. I've stayed there many times.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Albert, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review after your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that after so many good visits, we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion. We are always open to assist and clarify your questions to ensure no confusion and avoid such reviews. To clarify... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

The stay in the Balinese villa was absolutely divine. From the greeting upon arrival, to the Roman baths and spa treatments, the experience at this hidden gem will not be soon forgotten. Highly recommend this retreat for that special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Me and my wife were here over the weekend and we had a blast! Thank you again to the team for taking care of us :). The Yumcha lunch was good and it was our first time in the mineral springs. We really had a great time and definitely looking forward to our next visit! We would really love to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We visited the Japanese Mountain Retreat for our anniversary. We had booked in for 2:00pm expecting lunch. We were instructed that we would receive a massage first. Although my masseuse was quite good, my husband's would not stop talking. Far from relaxing. We were then told to dress and be ready to be taken for lunch. We had to wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Congratulations on your anniversary and please except our sincere apology for an experience you felt was disjointed. Our guests on arrival are greeted by our front reception team and we encourage any feedback or thoughts so do feel like you can flag any issues during your time with us before it's to late. We have had guests from... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

A last minute search with all my favourites booked out, and my wife's birthday over a long weekend left me with little choice. However, I stumbled across This very special retreat. The gardens and lakes are beautiful and the rooms are truly authentic Japanese, which made it very special. The spa facilities are fantastic and it is hard to believe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

A beautiful retreat in the truest sense of the word. Once you come through the gates you are totally enveloped by the serenity. A great experience with wonderful food and a lovely massage. Highly recommend the full package. Can't wait to rteturn to try the Balinese Retreat which looks devine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I was looking for something out of the norm to celebrate Valentine's Day with my partner. I stumbled over Japanese Mountain Retreat and took out the Japanese Escape package. Both my partner and I have had the most memorable weekend. We were so well looked after, there was no room for reproach. I took the very small number of negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julimanda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay over the Valentines Day Weekend. We are all happy to know that you enjoyed the facilities and services we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind wishes, All of the team at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

It was an absolute joy for my girlfriend Emily and I to celebrate our 1 year anniversary here. Before we arrived we were a little nervous about the price, having never really stayed at a upmarket resort before, and not knowing what to expect. However our fears were allayed as soon as we arrived, the grounds and room were simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Calvin and Emily, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here for you anniversary. I have passed on your review to all of the team who mentioned that they hope to see you enjoy the Balinese Retreat next time! Kind regards, Deborah, Mark, Winnie and all of the team at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs &... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The place is 5 star and we slept on a mattress on the floor. Japanese experience , I don't think so . The owner was so rude and don't know why she bothered to waste our time filling in forms for our therapist , they never got them . The forms were left in public view in the dining area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

If you were not given plates or cutlery for your meal how did you eat? We don't have frozen Thai food. All of our food is freshly prepared by our Chef! If you understand anything about 'Japanese ryokan' you would know that sleeping on the floor is the norm in traditional Japanese accommodation! It is a Japanese experience!!!!! Have a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
Chateau Yering
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,339 reviews
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities