We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

14 Mountain Crescent, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
Review This Hotel

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
65
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A last minute search with all my favourites booked out, and my wife's birthday over a long weekend left me with little choice. However, I stumbled across This very special retreat. The gardens and lakes are beautiful and the rooms are truly authentic Japanese, which made it very special. The spa facilities are fantastic and it is hard to believe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful retreat in the truest sense of the word. Once you come through the gates you are totally enveloped by the serenity. A great experience with wonderful food and a lovely massage. Highly recommend the full package. Can't wait to rteturn to try the Balinese Retreat which looks devine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I was looking for something out of the norm to celebrate Valentine's Day with my partner. I stumbled over Japanese Mountain Retreat and took out the Japanese Escape package. Both my partner and I have had the most memorable weekend. We were so well looked after, there was no room for reproach. I took the very small number of negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julimanda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay over the Valentines Day Weekend. We are all happy to know that you enjoyed the facilities and services we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind wishes, All of the team at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

It was an absolute joy for my girlfriend Emily and I to celebrate our 1 year anniversary here. Before we arrived we were a little nervous about the price, having never really stayed at a upmarket resort before, and not knowing what to expect. However our fears were allayed as soon as we arrived, the grounds and room were simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Calvin and Emily, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here for you anniversary. I have passed on your review to all of the team who mentioned that they hope to see you enjoy the Balinese Retreat next time! Kind regards, Deborah, Mark, Winnie and all of the team at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs &... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The place is 5 star and we slept on a mattress on the floor. Japanese experience , I don't think so . The owner was so rude and don't know why she bothered to waste our time filling in forms for our therapist , they never got them . The forms were left in public view in the dining area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

If you were not given plates or cutlery for your meal how did you eat? We don't have frozen Thai food. All of our food is freshly prepared by our Chef! If you understand anything about 'Japanese ryokan' you would know that sleeping on the floor is the norm in traditional Japanese accommodation! It is a Japanese experience!!!!! Have a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is the hotel experience you always dream of having! In a word, amazing! The service was friendly and attentive but not overbearing. The Japanese banquet was authentic and fresh. The room was immaculate and the view was stunning. It felt like I had grabbed my passport and been whisked away to Japan. Thank you, what a special experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

HI Kashena, Thankyou for writing a review. I am happy to enjoyed your stay so much. I will pass on your comments to our staff! Hope you return to see the new Moroccan spa and Roman Bathhouse. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the retreat and wow how it has changed! We'll done to Deb and her lovely staff for making our stay so wonderful. From the time you arrive you are made to feel special. The food was amazing and so well presented. We had in room one hour massage each which was amazingly relaxing. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments.. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Deborah, Mark and all the team. More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked this retreat place for my birthday with my family. I saw a 4 people package online, but it says it's a 'student package'. So I called up and the receptionist told me as long as there is one student it should be fine. So we rock up on the day, excellent venue, very beautiful environment and lovely staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

A student package is designed and priced that way for students. You cannot arrive on your birthday and expect all of your adult family members to receive the benefits of the student price! All of the people who are using the package need to be students we make this very clear upon booking this package. When you arrived we did... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A surprise Christmas present from my husband which he booked after hearing Deborah speak on a radio travel show. I initially had misgivings as we were driving down from Sydney. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted with a cool drink in the Guest Dining/Lounge area overlooking the beautiful gardens and bush. It was a lovely way to relax after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marissa, Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and for driving all the way from Sydney to stay at the resort! Thank you for your comments regarding the authentic Japanese room and the other facilities we offer. We hope you will return to us one day to see our new Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse. Kind regards,... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try the Japanese retreat, after loving our stay a year earlier at the Balinese retreat. The room is beautiful with tatami mats, kitchen area looking out onto gardens, and a large and impressive bathroom. The Japanese dinner was yummy, and our massages relaxing. I would certainly return for another relaxing weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question