We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balinese Retreat

14 Mountain Crescent, Montrose, Victoria, Australia
Balinese Retreat
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, is this place Balinese, Japanese or middle eastern? The whole concept is strange, fake and tacky. My masseuse was rude and condescending - not what I was after when we paid over $220 for a 1 hour massage and half a hour in an Onsen spa. Absolutely not worth the money, massage was not great and the experience to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Briscns, You did not stay in the Balinese Retreat... you had a one hour massage and one hour outdoor hot mineral spring experience. You chose to leave the outdoor mineral spring early of your own choosing. We have 5 acres of landscaped gardens and lakes all with the focus on all things Eastern. Japanese and Balinese accommodation, the spa... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We loved every minute of our honeymoon. The villa was amazing and the grounds were gorgeous. It was private and secluded, peaceful and romantic. The food was delicious and the staff and service was perfect. Would love to come back for our anniversary, it was absolutely perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the manager and escorted to the oriental lounge for welcome drinks. This was a good chance to just sit as we had just travelled 4 hrs. After drinks we were given a tour of the new spa and bathhouse. The building is just beautiful. I could go on but you must see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

I booked 2 nights at the Balinese Retreat as a surprise for my wife’s 30th following our wonderful experience in Ubud-Bali 2 years earlier. We were after a relaxing and private getaway and at over $1k per night, I was sure this would be an unforgettable experience. I was right, but for all the wrong reasons. We’ve travelled a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations, however I would like to list the following for consideration. A $20 charge for room service is not unreasonable considering the kitchen is approximately 150 metres from the Balinese Retreat. Most guest use the restaurant so you do have a choice. There is no mini bar in... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
118 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Occaisionally you find a real gem. On arrival we were offered a drink whilst enjoying the magnificent gardens and waiting for our room. Our villa was exactly as advertised, nicely appointed, with delightful views from both the bedroom and the living room. The bedroom overlooked a lagoon with a waterfall and the sitting room overlooked our private pavilion. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Balinese Retreat. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience so much and that you feel we have accurately depicted the villa. We look forward to your return to experience the new Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse now open. Kind regards, Deborah and all of the Team More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

It was my 30th B'day surprise weekend getaway organised by my wife. When I got to the retreat I was absolutely speechless. The Balinese Spa and Retreat 2night stay package was was booked by my wife, our very own Balinese style villa was magnificent, and waking upto the view of the lake and the waterfall was breathtaking, it actully felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jayanthan, Thankyou for writing a review of your experience. We are happy to know that your 30th Birthday was enjoyed so much. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely wife again one day. Kindest regards, Deborah, Mark, Winnie and all of the staff More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Just stayed at the Balinese Villa at the Mountain retreat for our 12th Anniversary and it was amazing, from the time you roll up until the time you leave it is complete serenity and indulgence. We loved the private lake with the pergola and dinner in our villa was sensational. Lovely staff, fantastic spa treatment, would highly recommend particularly for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundoora, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We had the most relaxing peaceful enjoyable stay. The staff are fantastic,the food delicious.we also had a massage which was the best I ever had. High quality in every aspect. I slept which I never do. This place is magical We will definitely be back and telling everyone I know about this heavenly spa retreat

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, Thankyou for your review of your stay at the Balinese Retreat. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your massages so much. We look forward to your return! Thankyou, Deborah,Mark, Winnie and all of the team More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My new husband and I went to this wonderful place for a much needed break and some time together. What we found was a small slice of paradise only an hour away. The grounds were beautiful, the villa was luxurious, the food was delicious, the massage and hot springs were relaxing and the staff were delightful. We can't recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thankyou for your kind words in describing your experience here. The staff all try hard to meet expectations so we are all happy that you both enjoyed the food, massage and mineral spring bathing as well! We hope we will see you again. Kind regards, All of the team at the Balinese Retreat More 

Ferny creek
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Wow...what an amazing place. My husband and I have just returned from a night at The Balinese Retreat . From the moment we arrived we received a warm friendly greeting from Deborah who then took us down to The Oriental Lounge where we received complimentary drinks and introduced us to the lovely Winnie who briefed us on the retreats facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah Q, Manager at Balinese Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Donna, Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad we exceeded your expectations.... hope to see you again this year! Kind regards, All of the team at the Balinese Retreat More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities