We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road and Canterbury Road, Forest Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3131, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    23
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
6
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great spot, friendly happy to help. We had a two bedroom suite that had eveything we needed apart from the worlds worst instant coffee sachets! Do not drink this evil stuff 😂 Only drawback was the rude and arrogant Frenchman that was our "waiter" for breakfast. rudest man and would never stay for breakfast ever again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your accommodations and I will speak with the breakfast waiter to ensure he is always friendly and considerate to all guests. Thank you. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Our basketball team stayed here for the June Long weekend. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Being a bit colder we didn't use the pool but a few of our boys used the gym on site which is a nice plus. The hotel has a bit of class to it with some nice finishing touches and the beds were comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you group back again next time. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I have stayed at this property a number of times in the last 12 months for work. The rooms are always clean, staff friendly. Lots of parking onsite for guests and free wifi. There is a restaurant onsite but can be a bit pricey, room service is also available. The hotel is located in a great location with a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoy your stays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. More 

Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Overnight Stay, the rooms are on the small side but clean and comfortable, good size shower and water pressure. Rooms on the street side do attract the noise from outside. Hotel staff were really friendly, the food at Oliver's was really good And it has a great pool set-up undercover for the kids

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

On first sight, the hotel seemed lovely but the next 3 days proved that it did not live up to it's initial expectations. Room was quite roomy but housekeeping standards were abysmal. After the first night the dirty towels were left but the empty tissue box was removed and not replaced. The large bathroom was badly designed with the towel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Thank you for the feedback, I will look into the issues you have mentioned. More 

Travelers are raving about these Forest Hill hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Spent 2 nights here while attending a friends' Golden Wedding celebration, which was also catered for by the Clarion. Most successful weekend and, I am happy to say that the free in-house Wi-Fi was fine

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed both the function and the accommodation at our venue. Thank you for the review. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

In this day and age, surely it's reasonable to expect to have internet connection in a hotel that presents itself as a more up-market suburban option in Australia's second-largest city? To me, internet connection is as basic a requirement as electricity and running water. But, apparently it's way too much to expect from Clarion on Canterbury. We booked in for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with our hotel. I apologise you were inconvienced with the wifi problems, we are urgently trying to correct this by having a new cable installed from the street to enable us to change providers. Thank you for your feedback. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel. My kids were desperate to have a holiday and stay in a hotel but being a single mum not being able to afford a holiday this was the next best thing! Our first night was fine, until myself, 7yo, 3yo and 5 month old were woken at 6am by an alarm clock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

My apologies your entry key card was not working correctly, I will look into the locks on your hotel door to ensure it is working correctly for the future. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I have spoken with our front desk staff regarding this and their responses. Unfortunately we were unaware the previous guest must have left... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Due to all the events being held in Melbourne the weekend we were there, the Melbourne Tourist Centre reserved this hotel for us (about 50 minutes from Melbourne). We stayed for 3 nights (Friday, Saturday & Sunday), and Sunday was by far the worst night. We arrived back at our hotel around 6:00pm to find our room had not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

We have taken on board your comments and counselled our staff with regard to this. My apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Stay at this hotel a few times a year through work and it always gives me mixed feelings......some excellent points and very friendly staff, but also some things that always frustrate me - eating choices being just one. Perhaps I am a hard marker, but always seems to me to be trying too hard, to be something it isn't.....a business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ugo_Bisogno, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review

At the Clarion Hotel on Canterbury we classify ourselves as a boutique hotel for the discerning business person. We are Australian owned and run. Anything we can do to improve your stay please let us know. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Hill
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.3 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Manor
Quality Hotel Manor
#1 of 1 in Mitcham
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 1 in Mont Albert
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay