We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Koorawatha Homestead Motel

4 Reed Bed Rd | just off the Bruce Highway, Bororen, Queensland 4678, Australia
Koorawatha Homestead Motel
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My stay here was booked and arranged by my company I work for, so took this as it came. In short, the basic rooms (I was booked into a basic room, not an exec suite or anything fancy) are tired and dated, and some aspects of the bathroom are stained from years of work and probably hard water, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hi Hamish, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would just like to clarify that the staining in the bathroom you mentioned is from extremely high calcium bore water. We have recently found a product that works in removing the calcium deposit, but sadly takes time & seems to make it worse before it gets better,... More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Was not expecting to find somewhere to stay away from main town but chanced on this and found it to be clean andcomfortable if a bit dated. Restaurant served good quality meals and the service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Again pleased to break the long drive north the Bruce Highway. Pleasant rural setting, amiable welcoming host, lots of room, especially for parking, a star lit sky, lovely moon rise, excellent dinner in the restaurant. Good basic motel and a comfortable night's sleep. OK, so it is bit dated, happens to all of us with age, and yes, there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mick, Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback. Its very much appreciated. It certainly was amazing to watch the blood moon on such a clear night! Thanks Again for the review. Allan & Michelle Koorn More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We didn't expect a lot but we're blown away by their fantastic service and hospitality in their little restaurant too. We had freshly made pumpkin soup that was to die for, with home made garlic bread. And a great glass of red wine. Perfect on a winter's night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rita, I am absolutely thrilled that you loved the meal so much. Comments like these just keep you going! Thanks for your wonderful review! Michelle Koorn More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

When we initially booked in thought we were in for a disappointing night as motel looked dated. We were wrong, owners were fist class people who couldn't do enough for you. Yes as in previous reviews rooms are dated but they are clean. Linen was spotless, room smelt fresh and we slept well even though noise from railway and highway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

HI Gunster, Thanks so much for your wonderful review. Its amazing how much Cream & Butter make EVERYTHING taste better! Lol. We hope to see you again one day! Michelle & Allan Koorn More 

Brisbane
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a great night's sleep - that is what is always important to us (or number 1 criteria actually). It is on the highway - but it set back enough that the road noise was only slightly noticeable - but nothing rattling, more of a low hum. This place hasn't grown up from the 80's décor that reined supreme...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hi SoreLegs, Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We have been working on rooms (With 22, it can be a long, slow process) We have recently upgraded 6 of our rooms, but with being heavily booked for the foreseeable future, we haven't had the spare rooms to work with. As for your note about the carpets, we... More 

Birregurra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I just wanted to say thank you to the hosts, Michelle and Allan, for your kind hospitality during my Queensland trip. Your efforts at making guests most welcome were much appreciated. The rooms are clean and well equipped, including pay TV and the beds are comfortable. The food whether in the restaurant or as room service was magnificent. Your information... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hi Noel, We are delighted that you had a great stay with us. The local wildlife certainly put on a show for you!! We look forward to seeing you again next time. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have travelled fairly regularly between Mackay and Brisbane over the past 5 years with young children and 2 dogs, which is difficult. After trying a number of overnight 'motels', i now always stop at Koorawatha because the owners have always been wonderfully accommodating, and helpful. We are always welcomed with a smile and a chat, which is so nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hi Joella, Thanks for your Review. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you all. Watching all the babies grow (Both yours and the fur related kind) Has been a joy. We hope to see you again soon. :) Michelle More 

Rutherford, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

stayed here for one night never again we stayed here as no where else available we are a removalist and were passing through. we were told when paying our bill that if we tell them next time they would up grade us to an executive room. pity we were not told about this when we booked and given the option.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bororenmotel, Owner at Koorawatha Homestead Motel, responded to this review

Hello annettemarie66, Unfortunately, The night you were here, We had limited rooms available due to a coach booking. (They had all Executive rooms booked.) You were placed in the room due to lack of rooms available, not due to it being a "Truck Booking" As for your concerns about room 1, We do not have any permanent tenants. The equipment... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Amazing food, excellent service, hosts had warming smiles and would bend over backwards for you. The rooms were very clean and austar, wifi, room service and a pool were all available. The rooms were very nicely kept and the beds were very comfy. Kangaroo, soups, steaks were only a few things on the menu and Michelle and Alan koorn will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question