We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Pontefract B&Bs / inns

Tower House

5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Bondgate, Pontefract WF8 2JP, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tower House to your Saves list
Tower House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
98%
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontefract B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
bowler9 manchester
  • Overview
  • Reviews (64)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just got back from tower house after going to the races with friends Very nice bed breakfast Lovely clean rooms Comfy beds breakfast lots to choose from and very nice Carol and family very nice Would def go back The blinds do let a little light in but once you are asleep you won't notice it Thank you carol... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolslatt, Owner at Tower House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you all and I am glad you enjoyed the races, we look forward to hopefully seeing you all next year. Many Thanks More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for just one night at the end of June. Chose it after reading all the positive reviews on the Trip Advisor site. I have to say that I was disappointed. The room was lovely. Clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was lovely. Great choice ,nicely presented and lots of it. HOWEVER. Our room was on the main road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolslatt, Owner at Tower House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay, perhaps I could have clarified any issues you had if I had been made aware of them at the time of your stay, it is always ,"dissapointing"for the proprietor of the bed & breakfast to think that someone has left their establishment un-happy with their stay!. With regards to... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were attendimg a wedding at nearby King Croft and the owner was nice enough to meet me earlier so that we could get the keys and wouldn't have to pop out of the wedding to check in. Loved that you could choose what time and exactly what you wanted for breakfast. The whole guest house was well presented and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The welcome was warm and un-fussy just how I like it. I was given my own key to come and go as I pleased and was not bothered by noise or knocks on doors as I've experienced elsewhere. My breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choices, My cooked breakfast was served promptly at my chosen time. I'd booked it the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolslatt, Owner at Tower House, responded to this review

I thank you sincerely for your comments about your room and will act upon them immediately to ensure that we give our guests the best possible experience when staying with us. All our rooms have 2 extra spare pillows in all the wardrobes for the comfort of the guests to either change the pillows or to have extra if required,... More

Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a wonderful two week stay here, whilst training for a new contract. I received a warm welcome on my arrival by Carol and was very well looked after throughout my stay. The room which I stayed in was big, very clean, well equiped and had great decor. There was a fantastic choice for breakfast and Rita cooked me... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice room, good chippy down the road, good brekkie! Good reception on arrival. Not sure it is a five star though? More like a four star. Would I stay again? Yes! Good location for Pontefract. Thanks for looking after me.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I had a great stay here when I went to pontefract for our Christmas party. Room was really clean, plenty of towels and the dressing gowns were a great touch. My only negative was I was in the attic room and I could hear the wind howling around the rooftops. Also the room was slightly chilly but once under the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

first time to me at the Tower House I was on a business trip In UK and travelling by car to meet potential customers. Miss.Carol and Tim her hursband helped me a lot, also for business ideas.. Room was great, clean and comfortable, private parking and wife wife stable and free. A real warm British family hospitality, much better than... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolslatt, Owner at Tower House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, I am so pleased that we met your expectations and that you rated us 10 out of 10. Both my husband and I look forward to welcoming you back to Tower House for your business trip and as you mentioned because we are local people and we have extensive knowledge of Pontefract and the... More

Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great welcome, friend service, spotlessly clean and lovely breakfast! What more can you want? The Tower House is a gem of a place to put your head down! Followed the recommendation for dinner at the nearby Cobbler and it was great pub grub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolslatt, Owner at Tower House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words I am so glad that you will be back to stay at Tower House and that we can welcome you back once again. Kindest Regards Carol. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed at the Tower House many times over the last few years and have always found it THE place to stay. Carol the owner is always very welcoming, everywhere is lovely and clean and the rooms are very luxurious, all with en-suite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolslatt, Owner at Tower House, responded to this review

Thank you Arthur for your great review, it is always a pleasure to welcome you back and we look forward to seeing you in the spring. Kindest Regards Carol. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House

Address: 21 Bondgate, Pontefract WF8 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tower House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated in the medieval town of Pontefract, famous for Pontefract Castle, Oliver Cromwell and Pontefract Race Course, and now for the ultimately modern Xscape. Rich in history and comfort, a stunning Victorian home restored to its original elegance, and offering FIVE STAR GOLD AWARDED accommodation. All our spacious rooms are beautifully decorated, en-suite and are fully equipped with shower/bath, soft fluffy towels and robes, luxury toiletries, trouser press and Flat screen colour TV/DVD. A room safe is available plus direct dial telephone with modem connection or FREE WIFI. We offer Full English breakfast or Continental breakfast as part of the Deliciouslyorkshire Breakfast Scheme, with the breakfast ingredients sourced locally. And we also hold the highest standards in hygiene by being awarded Five out of Five Stars (excellent) in the hygiene star rating certificate. Whether you are in Pontefract for business or on holiday or simply visiting this delightful town, you will find Tower House a real home from home. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer