We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Newark B&Bs / inns

Church Spa

Save Saved
You added Church Spa to your Saves list
High Street | East Markham, Newark, Newark-on-Trent, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (31)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Church Spa
Ranked #8 of 18 Newark B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newark
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't usually write these reviews but often read them before booking. Having read the review by trippygirl who gave her 1 star rating, I wasn't sure about booking and only took the plunge after a recommendation from a colleague. This place is WONDERFUL! I felt nothing but welcome and the finish of this venue is top notch with Harrods... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchSpa, Director at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Your lovely comments are greatly appreciated, Thank you. We always strive for excellence. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Church Spa over the festive Christmas period. Yours Truly Rachel @ Church Spa Director More

shepshed, leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

There are few words for such an amazing place and host. Rachel truly was the hostess with the mostess, nothing was too much trouble for her throughout our stay. We arrived as a surprise for my best friends birthday and the church has been transformed into something truly magical. We spent the rainy morning relaxing in the pool, steam room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. It a pleasure to receive lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your wonderful day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa. Yours Truly Rachel @ Church Spa Director More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having just experienced the most relaxing weekend I've possibly ever experienced, I just have to write a review to express what a treat the Church Spa is. From the moment my boyfriend and I arrived we didn't have to lift a finger, we were met with hot towels to refresh us from our journey, we were shown around and told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Your wonderful comments are gratefully received. We are delighted you enjoyed your Swedish Massage treatment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa. Yours Truly Rachel @ Church Spa Director More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We came as a small hen party of seven and church spa was the perfect location for some girlie relaxing! Rachel made us all so welcome and the facilities are beautiful. Pool, steam sauna, jacuzzi! A very well spent afternoon. Highly recommended locally!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchSpa, Director at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to create a bespoke experience for the pre wedding celebrations Yours Truly Rachel@Church Spa Director More

East markham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I have just spent the most enjoyable couple of hours at the Church Spa today. I had never heard of the place before until my son's gift of a lovely pedicure there for Mother's Day. I cannot praise Rachael highly enough. Firstly the renovation if the church is first class and very beautifully done. The chandelier is spectacular! Secondly Rachael... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchSpa, Director at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Thank you for your lovely comments they are gracefully received. It was a pleasure to celebrate your special day with you and we are delighted you enjoyed your treatment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa. Yours Truly Rachel@Church Spa Director More

Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked Church Spa for our daughters 9th birthday party. From the moment we arrived all the girls were made to feel special little ladies. Rachel was the perfect host greeting us at the door with hot towels. The pool area is fantastic and the girls were given time in the pool, jacuzzi and steam room before they all had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChurchSpa, Director at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted Emily and her little ladies had a wonderful bespoke birthday celebration experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa. Yours Truly Rachel@Church Spa Director More

England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Visited this morning and it is a fab little boutique Rachel couldn't have been more helpfull never once made us feel uneasy I have previously visited a lot of spa's that turn there nose up at the slightest bit of noise but as this is an exclusive experience it makes all the difference it's a lot more relaxed! I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChurchSpa, Director at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience Your lovely comments are gratefully received. There are three mirrors available for guest use for 3hr Spa / 2 Guests Located: Church Spa entrance, Luxury bathroom and Spa entrance with hairdryer. Additional mirrors are available on request. Valet Service is provided throughout Church Spa reservations. We endeavour to... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had the greatest pleasure to visit Churh Spa on 2 separate occasions on the run up to my wedding at the end of August 2013.I went for my hen do with my 2 daughters,my 8 year old granddaughter and a good friend,we were met by Rachel the owner with hot towels at the door.after being given a tour of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. It was an honour for Church Spa to create your unique bespoke experience, for your pre wedding celebrations. Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your treatments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa in the future. Yours Truly Rachel@Church Spa... More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited this spa in July 2013 for the afternoon with friends, I hadn't realised that by booking the spa you have exclusive access of the whole house. And what an amazing house it is. The bedrooms look comfortable, spacious and welcoming. The finish throughout this spa is excellent, no expense has been spared to make this a unique and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your Church Spa experience. It is a pleasure to receive lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa in the future. Yours Truly Rachel@Church Spa Director More

cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I dont usually write reviews for anything but I want to shout out about church Spa! As a teacher and reaching the end of a busy term i booked the spa following a friends reccomendation! From the moment we arrived we were cared for by Rachel and Dan and invited to take over there place for our sole use!! Yes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. We are honoured by your review and always strive to provide a superior service bespoke to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa. Yours Truly Rachel@Church Spa Director More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Church Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Church Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Spa

Address: High Street | East Markham, Newark, Newark-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newark with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A late 19th-century former Methodist church sympathetically restored into this luxurious and peaceful bed & breakfast with spa, nestled in the enchanting village of East Markham. A conservation village in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Perfectly located and within easy reach of many historic towns and points of interest sitting on the very edge of Sherwood Forest. With its three beautifully appointed contemporary bedrooms, Church Spa offers not only a truly exclusive luxury bed & breakfast experience. Offering absolute tranquility within the in-house Spa, there is an Oasis of exclusive relaxation facilities awaiting guests; you can bathe in privacy, in the exclusive indoor heated swimming pool, use the therapy hot tub, with a host of water features to ease away those aches and pains, perfect to loosen you up, should you chose one of the many body treatments. The more indulgent will take advantage of the Spa's Treatment Room and lose themselves in a Magical Menu of Beauty, Aesthetic and Holistic treatments, Residential Detox and Cleansing Packages, Spa Days and Twilight Packages, tailored for your specific requirements by accredited Therapists. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Church Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer