We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel

St Johns Road, Harrow HA1 2EF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    115
    92
    54
    44
See reviews for
65
98
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (361)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Cumberland for two weeks, it was a pleasant place with some character. No lift, so with heavy suitcase was a little annoying. Bed comfortable, creaky flooring, good modern bathroom. I had expected it to be a noisy hotel, but luckily nothing significant. Location for tube and shops good, but overall a bit pricey. The staff were friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stopped her for two nights to see the Rugby League Cup Final. The hotel has a great location for local shops etc. and the tube into London and Wembley. The room was large clean and had all the usual amenities.The staff were great and the breakfast had all the usual items. - good quality and plenty of each item.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here whilst attending a conference in Wembley and found it to be a nice hotel which was conveniently located very close to shops and about 8 minutes from Harrow-on-the-Hill Station. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our room clean and well kept. The only small disadvantage was that if travelling between our room and the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for a long weekend in London. The hotel is a good location being just a few minutes walk from the tube station and very central to the town. Choices for shopping and eating is quite extensive in a short walking distance. It may seem a long train journey out but it is only about 10 minutes more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.I am delighted that all areas of your stay were to your expectations and that you found the hotel location ideal for your travel arrangements. I have not been made aware of any issues regarding the Wifi , however we will monitor this. We do provide earplugs in the bedroom drawers for the... More 

St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a slightly strange hotel in that we checked in and then, after going through a maze of corridors, had to go outside to another block across the car park. Not a huge problem if the weather is fine (as it was) but far from ideal if the wind or rain was beating down. The lack of a lift,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the layout of the hotel some of the bedrooms are located in our annex building which is just a 30 second walk across our car park. The same quality and standards are maintained within all of our bedrooms. It is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Although the breakfast was nice the rest of the stay was awful. The room was tired with peeling paint on the skirting boards, the bathroom had mould around the bath, The shower rail was rusty, The towel rail was so close to the lavatory ( which was so close to the wall it was awkward to use) that when the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We currently have an ongoing refurbishment programme in place to update the remaining of our older decorated bedrooms. All our bedrooms and bathrooms vary in size due to the layout of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated on this occasion. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Harrow hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Its location for central Harrow can't be beaten and it's probably the best available in the town itself. However, it has some issues relating to its age. We got an "executive" double room but it was still fairly small and the bathroom was very cramped. There was also no elevator - not an issue for us but could be. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal for you. We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme in place to update our older decorated bedroom. Due to the layout of the hotel it is impossible to install an elevator, however staff are always available to assist guests with their luggage. I am surprised... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Clean good sized room and bathroom with shower and bath. Comfortable beds and bedding with coffee/tea making facilities. Been to quite a few 'budget' hotels in and around London and this is one of the best. Very close to Harrow town centre and station which is approximately 30 mins from central London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel and the surrounding area. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s location ideal. I am pleased to hear that our prices were well within your budget, looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Natalie Smith-Ford More 

London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

My wife and I booked into the Cumberland for two nights, to make it easier our house move. We selected it for its very convenient location, in the centre of Harrow, within walking distance of Harrow on the Hill tube station. We have not eaten in the hotel, therefore this review is about the room only. As I said, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that all areas of your stay were to your expectations. Our rooms can vary in size though all are maintained to the same high standard of cleanliness. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your room allocation and found the reception staff extremely helpful your kind comments will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow
1.1 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Harrow
Comfort Hotel Harrow
#7 of 10 in Harrow
3.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#6 of 10 in Harrow
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hindes Hotel
Hindes Hotel
#4 of 10 in Harrow
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay