We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
St Johns Road, Harrow HA1 2EF, England
BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Harrow
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mikeybabe Liverpool, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    106
    82
    53
    42
See reviews for
62
90
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (339)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First of all, the staff are great and far to good for a hotel of this quality. The room was in a seperate building which is not nice on the eye. The room is clean but the bed is terrible, the wi-fi didn't work, the TV stopped working, there was no Iron and the noise.. well I agree with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I am very sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable I will look into this and share my findings with the housekeeping team. I am also a bit puzzled as to why the Wi-Fi was not working for you I can only imagine that you did not register correctly to use the... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Best western used to stand for quality. They seem to be accepting much lower standard properties now and it is compromising their brand. Some positives - good location, easy parking. Very good service. All the staff we encountered were little short of excellent. We paid for an exec room. Small, dated, badly decorated. No style. Poor mattress. Would not want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. Firstly let me point out that all BEST WESTERN hotels are privately owned and run and we are no different. I am very sorry that your room size was smaller than you expected and that the decor was not to your style. We do have other room types available, and if our availability allows... More 

Travelers are raving about these Harrow hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading the reviews on this hotel, I was reluctant to be staying there. But let me tell you, some of those reviews could not be further from the truth. Firstly, people are moaning about the size of the carpark, my colleague and I had no problem parking, In fact, the carpark is more than adequate to accommodate numerous vehicles.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us despite reading the reviews relating to the noise. I am pleased that you have experienced the hotel for yourself and have realised that we all have different expectations. We have 85 bedrooms and feel that the size of our car park is more than... More 

Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good place to stay if you are visiting London, with easy public transport links into town. However the hotel is a mish-mash of outbuildings which are fairly basic, so do not expect too much. Breakfast is expensive for the choice available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotels location ideal for your travel arrangements. With regards to our breakfast prices, full English breakfast is charged at £8.50 if booked at the time of making your reservation or upon your arrival. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.... More 

Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read the mixed reviews from other posts on this site, my wife and I were a bit concerned about what we would find. First impressions: Very friendly check in lady, clean reception area, friendly porter called Lucky who carried our bags to our room. Thereafter I have to say we were feeling deflated. Our room was on the ground... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you did not like the room that was allocated to you on this occasion. I was disappointed to read that your bed was uncomfortable. We have recently upgraded several beds throughout the hotel however, the process is still ongoing. We provide earplugs in the bedroom drawers for the lighter sleepers... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hmmmm - we were put in the annexe - top floor. Should have been worried when I saw the ear plugs in the drawer. The window was open as no air con or fan. Decision was to leave the window open for air and noise, or close the window and get very hot. Not only was it noisy but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We provide earplugs in the bedroom drawers for the lighter sleepers as some of our bedrooms are road facing and occasionally suffer from higher levels of traffic noise. However, this is an issue shared by many other hotels in busy urban locations and town centers. Bedroom fans are available upon request I am very... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is in a good location close to the tube station and only 20 mins from central London. Room was clean and small but contained everything needed for a one night stay. Very little noise at night and we had a decent night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning had variety and was hot and quite tasty. Would return if in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our location with the tube station, shops, and restaurants all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Furthermore, I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast buffet options. We look forward to welcoming back... More 

Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for one night as part of an organised trip. The decor in the rooms is a bit dated and I found the bathroom to be particularly small in my single room. However, even having the window open I found very little outside noise and had a good night's sleep. Staff all friendly and helpful and breakfast more than adequate.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We currently have an ongoing programme in place to update the remaining of our older decorated bedrooms. All our bedrooms and bathrooms vary in size due to the layout of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that all other areas of your stay were to your likings and I will share... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in for 2 nights on a buisness trip. BEAWARE THIS IS AN INDEPENDANT HOTEL!! Not like the usual best western standard. Please note that i am not a moaner and am usually very easily pleased, i use trip advisor alot but just to check up. I registered to allow for this review as thats how bad it was. Like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly let me point out that all BEST WESTERN hotels are privately owned and run and we are no different. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated. Room 380 was recently inspected by BEST WESTERN so it is disappointing to read you were not pleased with this room allocation. Our single room... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked into this hotel as I was working in Harrow for a period of 7 weeks and needed to stay overnight 1 night per week. The location was perfect, right in the town so there was lots to do if I wanted to go out in the evening. The décor is a little dated - not uber modern and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel Manager C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted that all areas of your stay were to your likings and that the hotels location was ideal for your travel arrangements. We currently have an ongoing programme in place to update the remaining of our older decorated bedrooms, however I am pleased to hear that this did not affect... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay