We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Gravesend hotels

The Inn on the Lake

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shorne, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Hotel amenities
The Inn on the Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
35%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gravesend
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
carlyon001 manchester
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    51
    29
    54
See reviews for
42
68
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stopped at this hotel a few times now.my room overlooked the lake at the back of the hotel and was very quiet during the night. Rooms are clean and airy with plenty of pillows and towels. Breakfast is very satisfying with a choice of full english or continental plenty of teas,coffee and juices. Overall i would say this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was originally booked in to stay at the King Charles Hotel in Gillingham. However, on the morning that I was due to book-in I received a phone call from a very nice lady who stated that there had been a leak at the hotel and the rooms down the corridor that was affected by the leak were inaccesible. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped at this hotel on route to Paris - via Ebbsfleet international station. Our room overlooked the lake at the back of the hotel and was very quiet during the night. Rooms are clean and airy with plenty of pillows and towels. Although i did not choose to dine in the hotel for my evening meal the menu was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a Diamond Hols trip. Nice big room and bathroom, comfy bed. Good selection at breakfast including fresh fruit. Hot food slow to arrive on the first morning but greatly improved by the third. Very accommodating at dinner for a vegetarian and a gluten-free. A problem with lighting sorted out straight away. Residents bar spoiled by tv. Lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights whilst we had a family wedding which cost a lot of money plus the money which was spent on rooms, drink & food which was booked for 12 months. The hotel were well aware we had 9 children with us, we were more then happy with the rooms & facilities but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My room was booked with a disable room for my mother, My mother's room was nice but on the floor below mine and as far as could be from her, My nieces wedding was badly organised and she was £450 short over a dishonest member of staff, Food 1 hour late, Breakfast not very good and not drinks available after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a coach break with diamond holidays. Stayed at the Inn on the Lake hotel staff were very efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals and drinks on an evening. Hotel rooms were fine and we have no complaints about the hotel. However we aren't pleased with Diamond Holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Your wedding is supposed to be a magical and oe of the best days of you life, my wedding day was far different! It all started when me and my husband booked the inn on the lake as our venue: 1. They lost £450.00 that paid to the hotel in cash so we couldn't prove otherwise (when the hotel manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kevindemicoli, General Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for my belated reply. I was truly astonished when I first noticed your review about the hotel. As I explained to you during our last meeting before your wedding, the £450.00 was accidently not paid, which at the time, you did agree, in front of myself and my colleague. When we had... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I got married here in august the hotel lost payments I made and charged me dubble for rooms I booked staff very poor and was no help what so ever so if anyone is thinking of using this venue please don't as all it has going for it is the view of the lake

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stay at this hotel quite a lot, as we have family in this area. We enjoy the breakfast. Always plenty to eat. We always pay for a twin bed room, which is basic but also ok for our needs. We are having a lakeside view at Christmas. Some of the rooms need updating although are fine for our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Shorne, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
The Inn On The Lake Gravesend, Kent

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay