We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Goole hotels

The Lowther Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lowther Hotel to your Saves list
The Lowther Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Goole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Seren4 Goole
  • Overview
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
15
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of us went for a staff leaving do we was all looking forward to a lovely 3 course meal as two of the ladies had been previous for a Sunday carvery and said how lovely it was as soon as we arrived the starters arrived while two people from the group didn't even get the chance to sit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goole
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I haven't been to the Lowther Hotel for a long time but happened to attend a function. The good: the staff, although all very young and looked like they were produced from the same mould, and none recognisable from when I last visited, were attentive and the service was excellent. The food was of high standard and very enjoyable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited The Lowther for dinner. I had lamb rump which was very nice and was cooked the way I asked. The dining area has a lovely ambiance and feels welcoming, the staff are very friendly. I would definitely return and recommend to friends and family

Was this review helpful? Yes
Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yet again greeted by very friendly staff, started with a cocktail, i always have starter, main and dessert because the quality and presentation of the food is exceptional, looking forward very much, the owners son, gave me a sneak peep at the new menu that the new chef has done, its amazing! which i believe starts on saturday, can't wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited here for Sunday lunch. The service was good. The food was very plentiful and a nice selection of veg. I do not think you can get 200 characters describing a lunch. The desert menu was a good selection but not for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

There isn't much in Goole to be fair, but this hotel is one of the best things in it! Very nice staff who go the extra mile, always very obliging. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms have quite nice views of the docks area. Beds are comfortable .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I was looking forward to a nice ladies lunch. What a total disappointment which left me still hungry. The starter of Garlic bread was not home made but bought in and had no cheese on as ordered. Ordered a roasted vegetable and Goats cheese panini with salad. As soon as the plate was put in front of me I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lowtherhotel, Manager at The Lowther Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch on tripadvisor. Unfortunately most of what you had said is wrong from the day in question. There were 2 members of staff plus one of the owners dealing with you on the day. Firstly the coffee, you had asked for skimmed milk, we hadn't any in so the owner went... More

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at the Lowther to attend a wedding a few miles away from Goole. Hotel is well appointed reflecting a rich heritage of its past with very friendly staff , immaculate room and good value for money. Brunch and Breakfast both exceeded expectations. This hotel deserves to do well and is run by a young and energetic team who know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night with our two small children. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by extremely friendly staff and shown to our room. The bedrooms are spacious, immaculately clean and elegantly decorated. They're also really well thought out with great attention to detail (great tea tray, plenty of toiletries etc) and lovely fluffy white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A business colleague and I stayed here while attending the Goole and Howdenshire Business Excellence Awards 2014 nearby. We were given a warm welcome by the young lady on duty and everything was explained to us. The same member of staff also arranged a taxi for us. My room was modern, warm and very comfortable. The bed was excellent with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lowther Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lowther Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowther Hotel

Address: Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Goole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lowther Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Lowther Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lowther Hotel Goole, Yorkshire

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 3 Star Hotel: The Lowther Hotel, recently restored to its former Georgian glory. The Hotel has 14 deluxe bedrooms, and 2 suites. The hotel caters for all sorts of private and commercial events such as weddings, birthdays, meetings & conferences. within the Lowther we have the famous Burlington Restaurant which served breakfast, lunch & dinner including an early bird menu 7 days a week. The Lounge is a perfect setting for litebite meals & our famous Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;