We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Briarcroft

51 Clifton Gardens, Goole DN14 6AR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Briarcroft
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Briarcroft
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
4
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Royton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used the Briarcroft whist in Goole on a training course and found it to be excellent value for money. More than happy with all aspects of my stay , very smart clean room with everything you would need, friendly staff accompanied by a excellent breakfast , I would be happy to recommend the Briarcroft for a stay in Goole... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

My stay at the Braircroft was a very pleasant one. Service was absolutly spot on, the room was very nicely furnished, everything very well thought of, even including the little bottles of shower which I thought was brilliant!! Had no issues at all with my late arrival either. Definitely hope to stay there again. Couldn't fault the Briarcroft one bit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We came back to this hotel again whilst visiting friends again in the area. We found the staff gave first class service very friendly and welcoming. They made our daughter feel very special. We stayed in room 8 the family room which is lovely the child's room a separate room within the double room. The bathroom has been refurbished since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We chose the Briarcroft because we were attending the wedding of friends' son. We checked the out, on various web sites, all relevant accommodation in Goole. We chose the Briarcroft because it was within walking distance of the wedding reception venue and because it appeared to check all the boxes and meeting our needs. We were far from being disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels, B&Bs and hostels over the years and this is the first that has given me cause to complain on Trip advisor. I booked for 2 nights a number of months ago because we were attending a family wedding locally and I work for an independent business and wanted to support a local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JohnRGoole, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

The guest telephoned on the Thursday to ask if was possible to arrive after our last check-in time of 9pm. I advised her that if she telephoned when they were due to set off (to give us an idea of their arrival time) someone would wait for them to arrive. She has totally ignored this. On arrival breakfast times, along... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I stayed here with my family for two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. Unfortunately it was not a pleasant stay. We were told that breakfast was between 8.30 and 9.20, which did seem a little strange, only 50minutes for breakfast? We were also told that for the first night we were the only ones staying so surely they can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
briarcrofthotel, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

As I said in response to your mother's review, thank heavens for the CCTV as it shows your review to be completely untrue. With regard to the lack of fruit, we offer Full English Breakfast, not continental, however if you had bothered to read the menu we are quite happy to provide fresh fruit to Oder along with other items.... More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The manager was pleasant enough when met in morning, but room small with stained carpet! Breakfast adequate but sausages were cheap and nasty, as was the marmalade! Having paid more than we do anywhere else, we are amazed that it didn't meet the usual standards that we are so used to experiencing. The managers face piercings were making me think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnRGoole, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

We use Richmond sausages at breakfast as our customers have indicated that they are preferred .Carpets are shampooed regularly however at busy times it is impossible to remove all difficult stains before the rooms are reused. The tourist board have guidelines as the the minimum size of rooms and all our double rooms exceed this minimum. The personal remarks regarding... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed 2 nights whilst my son was attending a course in Goole. The rooms were very clean, bright and comfortable. Our only issues were the stairs are steep and narrow and not suitable for elderly people like my mother and there was a complete lack of flexibility when we asked for breakfast a little earlier than 8.30 so my son... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
briarcrofthotel, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

As with all small guest houses/hotels we have to set our breakfast times to suit the majority of our guests, these times are regularly reviewed. We do have a ground floor room which is clearly shown on the web availability, however many of our older clients prefer the upper floors and have no difficulty with the stairs, Might I suggest... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed for two nights while attending a group AGM. I needed somewhere close to the station with a single room and this fitted the bill nicely. The staff were very welcoming, and couldn't have been more helpful. As I was travelling alone it was really nice to feel looked after. The reception, lounge and breakfast room were all very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here just one night to be able to attend a christening near by. We booked the family room which even though is on the top floor so 2 flights of stairs, was a well laid out room. We really liked the fact that there were 2 separate bedrooms one with a double bed and the other had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay