We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Goole B&Bs / inns

The Briarcroft

51 Clifton Gardens, Goole DN14 6AR, England
Hotel amenities
The Briarcroft
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Briarcroft to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #5 of 9 Goole B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JohnWHull Hull
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Hull
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose the Briarcroft because we were attending the wedding of friends' son. We checked the out, on various web sites, all relevant accommodation in Goole. We chose the Briarcroft because it was within walking distance of the wedding reception venue and because it appeared to check all the boxes and meeting our needs. We were far from being disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in a number of hotels, B&Bs and hostels over the years and this is the first that has given me cause to complain on Trip advisor. I booked for 2 nights a number of months ago because we were attending a family wedding locally and I work for an independent business and wanted to support a local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnRGoole, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

The guest telephoned on the Thursday to ask if was possible to arrive after our last check-in time of 9pm. I advised her that if she telephoned when they were due to set off (to give us an idea of their arrival time) someone would wait for them to arrive. She has totally ignored this. On arrival breakfast times, along... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my family for two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. Unfortunately it was not a pleasant stay. We were told that breakfast was between 8.30 and 9.20, which did seem a little strange, only 50minutes for breakfast? We were also told that for the first night we were the only ones staying so surely they can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
briarcrofthotel, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

As I said in response to your mother's review, thank heavens for the CCTV as it shows your review to be completely untrue. With regard to the lack of fruit, we offer Full English Breakfast, not continental, however if you had bothered to read the menu we are quite happy to provide fresh fruit to Oder along with other items.... More

Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The manager was pleasant enough when met in morning, but room small with stained carpet! Breakfast adequate but sausages were cheap and nasty, as was the marmalade! Having paid more than we do anywhere else, we are amazed that it didn't meet the usual standards that we are so used to experiencing. The managers face piercings were making me think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnRGoole, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

We use Richmond sausages at breakfast as our customers have indicated that they are preferred .Carpets are shampooed regularly however at busy times it is impossible to remove all difficult stains before the rooms are reused. The tourist board have guidelines as the the minimum size of rooms and all our double rooms exceed this minimum. The personal remarks regarding... More

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed 2 nights whilst my son was attending a course in Goole. The rooms were very clean, bright and comfortable. Our only issues were the stairs are steep and narrow and not suitable for elderly people like my mother and there was a complete lack of flexibility when we asked for breakfast a little earlier than 8.30 so my son... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
briarcrofthotel, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

As with all small guest houses/hotels we have to set our breakfast times to suit the majority of our guests, these times are regularly reviewed. We do have a ground floor room which is clearly shown on the web availability, however many of our older clients prefer the upper floors and have no difficulty with the stairs, Might I suggest... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed for two nights while attending a group AGM. I needed somewhere close to the station with a single room and this fitted the bill nicely. The staff were very welcoming, and couldn't have been more helpful. As I was travelling alone it was really nice to feel looked after. The reception, lounge and breakfast room were all very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here just one night to be able to attend a christening near by. We booked the family room which even though is on the top floor so 2 flights of stairs, was a well laid out room. We really liked the fact that there were 2 separate bedrooms one with a double bed and the other had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benidorm
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Needed to be in Goole as I have mobility Hotel not cheap £70 B/B. Must say that is is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever visited. Trouble was this was a guest house not hotel. Rooms had no phones. This meant that to ring a taxi or whatever using my mobile meant a phone call from Spain each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnRGoole, Owner at The Briarcroft, responded to this review

We are, as the guest points out, a Guest House (and advertised as one), as such, we are unable to offer some of the services and facilities that one would expect from a larger and more expensive HOTEL, that this guest had obviously expected to receive . More

hull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we stayed here a few weeks ago for one night as we didnt want to camp as it was a scooter rally and was really pleased with everything , we got a pleasant greeting , a lovely and clean double room and a fantastic breakfast , i would definately stop at the briarcroft again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely little B & B while visiting relatives. Staff friendly and efficient. Rooms clean and quiet. Food very nice too. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage The Briarcroft?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Briarcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briarcroft

Address: 51 Clifton Gardens, Goole DN14 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Goole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Briarcroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briarcroft Goole, Yorkshire

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Briarcroft