We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Chessington hotels

Chessington Safari Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leatherhead Rd, | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chessington Safari Hotel to your Saves list
Chessington Safari Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
74%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Chessington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Biz112
  • Overview
  • Reviews (830)
  • Photos (221)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (202)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    289
    124
    55
    51
See reviews for
529
58
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our third visit to this hotel, very disappointing. It seems all the money & attention has been given to the new one next door. The result is a hotel that seems really shoddy & neglected. We had trouble finding a seat in the restaurant that did not have bad stains all over it, the food portions were smaller & poorly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights while visiting chessington. Breakfast was hectic both mornings even though we tried earlier and later. Food was good though. The staff are great. My biggest issue was the size of the rooms. We had a family room and thought the layout and sq footage is not reflected in the price......

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel! Breakfast in the hotel does get extremely popular and consequently, we do offer our guests the option between eating in the Temple Restaurant or alternatively the Zafari Bar and Grill! We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms small but do hope that you were able... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

At check-in staff were brilliant and very polite. Hotel was amazing. We had booked an African themed room and the kids were very excited to see this knowing they had a Treasure Box and a Quiz to get into it was making them more excited. On arrival of our room (336) we were very disappointed. 'African Themed'?? All that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel! We are glad to hear that you found our reception team very polite! We are very surprised to hear that you were dissapointed with your African Adventure themed room, with in build treasure hunt for the children. We will ensure that your comments are passed on to our... More

Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and myself decided to pack a bag and head down to chessington world of adventure on Saturday (30th) for a spontaneous over night get away. After a 2 hour journey, we were pleased that check-in was hassle free, the staff were so helpful and answered the few questions we had. As we booked last minute the only room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with your bedroom, which we have immediately escalated to our Housekeeping Management team for further investigation. It is great however to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly! We will shortly be contacting you to gather... More

Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wow, what a great experience, well worth the extra money to stay on site, no travelling to and from the park from an off site hotel. In addition to this you have access to parts of the park in the evening to entertain the kids, not confined to a room. You also get entry to the park earlier and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a great five star review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the evening access that the hotel provides to the Wanyama Village and Amazu; Treetop Adventure. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon! More

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On Tuesday 26th August 2014 I visited the Safari Hotel to eat in the restaurant after a nice afternoon in the park. Whilst in the park I went on Griffins Galleon, Sea Storm and Bubble Works and was a lone traveler. I then decided to have a meal in the hotel but was worried that as I hadn't booked there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing such a great four staff review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! It's fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal in the hotel, we will pass this on to our Head Chef! We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon! More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here overnight at the Safari hotel during the school holidays as a one off treat for our son. I had been reviewing the comments on this website with interest to see how it faired, especially because the price of this was expensive. 1 overnight stay plus 2 day park entry was in excess of £250, I thought that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing such great feedback on the Chessington Safari Hotel! We are very surprised to hear that you did not find the beds particularly comfortable during your visit, we will ensure that this feedback is passed on to the Housekeeping Management team for further investigation. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon! More

Romford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed at this hotel for 1 night,ideal for park,early entry to park in the morning was good!,clean,spacious room,,lovely view of the animals,Zafari restaurant was nice,buffet breakfast good,very enjoyable stay,would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed during August school holidays at the Chessington hotel, we had not stayed in the past 1 year while the new hotel was being built. The new pool was great with the children's area, son loved it. We had dinner at the new Aztec hotel buffet, its 19.50 for adults and 9.95 for children. Found this pricey for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chessington Safari Hotel! It’s great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to our new Savannah Splash pool! We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the breakfast offering in the Azteca Hotel, we will ensure that this is passed on to our Restaurant Management teams. We... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just come back from a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was lovely and clean, best shower I have ever had in a hotel! The room was spacious, the kids loved the animal painted bunk beds, the beds were comfortable and the room had everything we required for an overnight trip. The staff were all very nice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a great review of the Chessington Safari Hotel! It is so great to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit, including our Safari themed bunk beds! We are sorry to hear that you encountered an issue with a lack of pastries at breakfast, I will pass this on to our Kitchen team... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chessington Safari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Address: Leatherhead Rd, | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (214)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it’s the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, an indoor swimming pool, gym & spa, Nintendo Wii Room, Movie Club and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill, the hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting new spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon’s Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
150

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chessington Safari Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer