We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Millstone at Mellor

Certificate of Excellence
Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Millstone at Mellor
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    87
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
143
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed overnight for business and enjoyed my stay. Meal was very good and room comfortable. Room perhaps a on the small side but as stated comfortable and nice large bathroom. Very clean and staff superb, very friendly and approachable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good Points: Really lovely breakfast with buffet style cereals, filter coffee and food cooked to order such as eggs benedict, scrambled egg & smoked salmon on a muffin as well as a full breakfast. Fantastic restaurant for the evening, really lovely food with plenty of choice. An upstairs lounge for when the bar closes but conversations continue! Lovely, comfortable spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review its always nice to welcome new guests to the Millstone & with our business guests we feel we are an ideal home from home alternative to the corporate hotels that are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the very near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Literally their fish and chips is so good that you should consider travelling there only to try them. Price is very reasonable - 10 pounds for small and 12 for a giant portion. Well done! And as I don't really like black pudding they made me to like them - definitely try their black pudding fritters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, we're really proud of our Pub Classics & Fish chips is most certainly one of our best sellers, Next time your in these part I recommend you try our Steak, Kidney & Wainwrights Ale Pudding which we feel is most definitely on a par with our Fish & Chips. Hope to see you back... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just had a night at The Millstone. Lovely reception on arrival by the owner and chef. We found we had been upgraded by Katy, thank you so much! it made our stay even more special. The room was beautiful (Room 43, a 'Character Room'), comfortable bed, clean and well equipped. Delicious handmade biscuits and quality crisps and drinks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your fantastic review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay in this delightful pub in the undersold Ribble Valley. The standard of service welcome and staff friendliness was outstanding.This clearly is well run ship. The menu choice was plentiful and the food is of the highest standard. We have stayed in top hotels very recently in Manchester and Liverpool and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your fantastic review we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us & its always nice to hear when we give those City folk a run for there money :-) We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone next time your in the area. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This small hotel is simultaneously charming and sophisticated. The pub is warm, relaxed, and a nice place to meet the locals; the dining room is elegant, furnished with a keen eye for art, and serves excellent food. Chef Anson excels at creating unique dishes and is not afraid of innovation. Note on the rooms: if you are willing and able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review which just about sums up all we try to achieve at the Millstone. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone next time you are on these shores. Kind Regards Anson & All at Team Millstone More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff very welcoming. Restaurant was very good. Accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Service on the first night was slow but excellent on the second night when the restaurant was very busy. Food and drink excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, we're really glad to be of service and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson & all at Team Millstone More 

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dispite our complaints the room remained cold. It wasn't terribly clean and there wasn't enough room to open a suitcase. However the meal and service in the restaurant was exemplary and is to be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review, I sincerely apologize your room didn't live up to expectations, The Millstone dates back to the mid 1700's as a result our rooms do vary in size it would appear on this occasion you had booked a classic room which is one of our smaller rooms and is reflected in the price paid. We are... More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Difficult review to write. My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights. The room was disappointing - despite asking for a larger room it was very modest and the bathroom was very small. The bedroom was clean and tidy and reasonably decorated etc. The bathroom looked tired and the tiles in the bath needed a proper clean. But the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your feedback, Room 42 is one of our county rooms which is one of our Mid sized rooms we do have larger rooms available but unfortunately these we fully booked during your stay. I appreciate you bringing the tiles & bathroom to my attention, we'll get our maintenance team on the grouting straight away. If you wish... More 

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a single night over Easter, dinner b&b. Great pub/restaurant with good menu and choice of drinks. Room (Old Dan) was spacious, immaculately clean and the small hamper was a nice touch. Staff are all friendly and very helpful, particularly the waitress that served us at dinner and breakfast on 3rd April!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for you lovely review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question