We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Norfolk hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA 23518
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
35%
Ranked #23 of 40 hotels in Norfolk
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
6
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years. The staff was rude and not very helpful. I spent 20 years in the military and had nicer rooms in 3rd world countries. Stay away! I didn't even spend the night, I checked out and found a nicer place to stay. The only thing I could say about this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very close to airport and 45 minutes from VA beach. Loads of shopping around and restaurants for any occasion. The hotel had a nice clean outdoor pool. Our stay was pleasant and all our needs were met by nice pleasant staff. We were even able to have our dog stay with us which was what we were looking for in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 young sons and really enjoyed it. As others mentioned it's not fancy but is very clean and has a great location. We liked being able to open the balcony door and walk right out to the fresh air. The boys loved the fact that their favorite restaurants and shops were just footsteps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bethesda
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We needed a hotel close to the airport for business reasons. Our stay was over an extended period, so we found this hotel close-by near restaurants, shops and business centers. The price was reasonable, the service was excellent. Continental breakfast was better than we expected. Wi Fi worked and if we needed anything all you have to do is just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I made a reservation for this hotel on July 4th. Then after reading all the nasty reviews of this hotel I cancelled the reservation. Mind you I cancelled it within an hour of making it. Five days later I had a nights stay taken out of my bank account. I contacted the main hotel guest sight and explained why I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Digidashi2000, Thank you for taking the time to post a review with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to cancel your reservations within the 48 hour policy timeframe. We do take your concerns seriously. We take great pride in our facilities and do our best to maintain them. We regret that we were not given... More

ny
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

this motel is horrible.......this is like worst motel i ever seen in my life. they charge extra for wi-fi and front desk clark is so rude never ever stay in this motel even though i have to pay more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Denna M, I am concerned about the WIFI issues you encountered during your stay. We do provide free WIFI service for our guests. There is no charge to use this service. Are you sure that you have the right location as we have several Americas Best Value Inns in the area? Please let us know so that we can... More

Ferndale
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is a dump and obviously a flop house! Got out of there as fast as we could and was charged a 20% penalty for checking out early!!! Was told when we checked in there was no penalty for early check out! Nasty - didn't notice that their vending machine sold condoms until the next morning - what the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk, VA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This motel featured the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on, among other problems. The mattress was so bad that I wound up taking two triple doses of pain medication just to get a couple hours sleep. The towels and linens were old and threadbare. Despite being advertised, there was no free wifi at this motel. The walls were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1850ELC, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear MikeBHR, Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I am sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience. We have upgraded our WIFI service in order to better serve our guests. We do maintain our mattresses on a regular basis. We regret that we were not able to meet your needs. Regards, Angela-Manager Americas Best Value... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hotel was utterly disgusting - yeah that's the nicest way to put it. One of the main reasons for staying at this hotel and not the others closer to the beach was the price and the option to have a jacuzzi in the room. Too many problems to name but I'll start a list. 1. At check-in the employee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richmond, va
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Where do I start? It should have been a sign when they gave me my remote control to the television at the desk and also people asking for their money back once the checked in. Being that it was late we decided to stay since we only needed the room for a couple of hours. Trust me when I say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1850ELC, Public Relations & Reservation Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

So sorry you were not satisfied but....the tv remotes are kept at the front desk for your convienence. When you are tired and it's late, who wants to spend time searching in an unfamiliar environment trying to find the remote. Most of our guests agree that it's wonderful to have it in hand when entering the room. Yes you do... More

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1850 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA 23518
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Americas Best Value Inn in Norfolk, Virginia. We are conveniently located across from a shopping center with food shops and restaurants. Our charming six story facility with exterior corridors offers 59 spacious guest rooms and efficiencies. All our guest rooms are furnished with Microwave, Mini-Fridge, Cable TV with HBO, and Wakeup Service. All our Efficiencies are furnished with Kitchenettes. We also have a Guest Laundromat, and a Fax facility on-site. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear Outdoor Swimming Pool and our free daily continental breakfast. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours to better serve your needs. Come in and check out the friendly hospitality and the clean rooms we provide our Guests. Whether you are in the area for business or pleasure, you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.