We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Norfolk

853 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Norfolk
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    10
    23
See reviews for
18
4
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where to start? Hmmmmmm. Well the bathroom door wouldn't close, the front door had enough of a gap under it I could slip my hand under it, 2 tiny slivers of soap to wash with , 4 thin towels to dry off with, no garbage can in bathroom, toilet wouldn't flush, mattress made enough noise to wake the dead, "wood"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer... More 

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at other Motel 6 locations in different states and the issues are always the same...WATER PRESSURE or lack thereof, grainy cable TV reception, and NO FREE WIFI!!!The only thing that's good with Motel 6 is its price and the employees are really friendly and accommodating. The room is also nice and modern. Other than that, I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Abbey, Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the water temperature and television channels challenges during your stay. Please know the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department... More 

Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was OK, hardwood floors were dirty, no carpet in the room whatsoever, water pressure in the shower was abysmal, and there were a couple of bugs in the room. Having stayed in worse places in my Navy days, and as I was there by myself for this trip, the cost savings were worth the stay. Had I been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

Gerard, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and are sorry for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We are sorry to hear... More 

Hackensack, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I didn't expect much from an inexpensive motel but... It started when I made the reservation, booking.com just couldn't get it right. wrong number in the room, wrong number of beds, wouldn't let me have the AARP or Military discount. I called the Motel directly thinking that they would be able to make the corrections. I was told that everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

Jonathan, Thank you for posting your review. The service concerns you describe are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Please know the conditions you experienced in your room are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We are committed to delivering a clean,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Horrible check-in process, garbage in parking lot and around hotel door, room was not cleaned after previous customer, cigarette burns on sheets in a non-smoking room, hair/stains on towels and sheets, feet were black from walking on room floor, WAS OFFERED DRUGS AS I WALKED INTO MY HOTEL ROOM!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities... More 

Stanley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

Its well worth what you pay. The pool is the hugest I have seen at a hotel! The staff is polite and friendly. Some kinda shortage of housekeepers and waited two hours on checking into a reserved room. Once there it was good we booked a double with a kitchenette. Spacious and convienient. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We stayed for a visit on vacation 10 hrs from home. Called the day before we left reservation was good to go I had booked 3 months in advance get in oops lost my reservation! !!! After 45 minutes finally got us a room which had no towels booked in with five had 1 fork 1 spoon 3 plates. Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

The place was a rat race full of thugs threaten to shoot ppl out side our door ! They never had wash clots or towels ! Hard to get toilet paper ! Children running around with out parents in the pool aria ! Hookers running around trying to turn tricks at every corner ! No silverware no coffee pot .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Poor front desk service. Arrived 2:15pm & was told room will be ready by 3pm. Maids stop in to say what rooms are done. I asked if room was ready & told no. At 3pm told room would be ready by 3:30pm to 4pm. A different employee found me a room at 3:05pm. No smoking room smelled like strong chemicals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review

David, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future. More 

Seminole, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We went to visit our son in the Navy, upon checking in for a week long stay, we told the girls at the front desk to not permit anyone in our room, not a problem we were told. The next day we were leaving the room for the day, my husband told the housekeeper close to our room, do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
4.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#22 of 40 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn  Lake Wright
Sleep Inn Lake Wright
#20 of 40 in Norfolk
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay