We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tazewell Hotel & Suites

3.0 of 5 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    93
    36
    21
    26
See reviews for
38
84
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Built in 1906 so this place does have its problems but it also has a lot of charm. If you are quirky and like quirky you should check it out. It has a little bit of a haunted feel to it but in no way is it a bad energy. It's actually really comforting. The room we stayed in was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington, DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked the room at the Tazewell through priceline for $85/night, which was reasonable, but the hotel was overpriced for what it is. The Tazewell is basically a 2-star hotel in a 4-star location. Lots of nice restaurants in walking distance, but our experience was tainted by the nasty room-- the size of a closet with peeling paint, glops of hair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holland, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm coming to the realization that online presence can be so deceiving. My son was receiving his wings as a Naval Aviator and The Tazewell was centrally located to his apartment and other conveniences. Travelling from New Jersey, Florida, North Carolina and Maryland, our extended family was happy to be able to stay together at the same hotel. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary on the Spirit of Norfolk (which was wonderful) so we decided to make a night of it and stay downtown. First, I booked this room at a lower rate, but I still didn't expect to be put in the broom closet. The room was TINY. Checkin was easy. Paid 15 to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith K, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Britney, We are always interested to hear the comments of our guests and we are grateful that you have taken time to have written to us. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. I am going to look into this and make sure it is addressed right away. All your concerns could have been addressed... More

Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

INTRODUCTORY EDITORIAL: I appreciate the concept of Ascend Hotels (part of Choice Hotels) which is the branding of historic boutique hotels. I badly wanted to give it a higher star rating but have to stay with a 3. LOCATION: Although I've been to all 50 states, I had never visited Norfolk. Arriving by Greyhound, I had originally planned on staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith K, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Chicagoken 60657, Thank you for choosing to stay at Tazewell Hotel and giving us your feedback. Guests feed back are very important to us, it gives us opportunity to improve and meet guest expectations. However there has been a confusion because we don't have Room 101 on this property. If you can let me know the correct room number,... More

Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

We made a quick trip to Norfolk, and got really lucky to find this hotel. Here are the pluses: 1. They offer AAA and AARP discount. 2. There is a fresh juice bar attached to the front of the hotel, which gives guests a 10% discount. 3. Attached to the other side of the front of the hotel, is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Keith K, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Amelia, Thank you for staying at Tazewell Hotel and giving us your kind opinion about your visit to Norfolk and your stay with us. We are extremely happy that you could have a wonderful time in Norfolk and were able to enjoy your trip. We are glad that we could meet your expectations. We are definitely looking forward to... More

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great location w/spacious rooms and lots of character to older hotel. Now the bad: floor soaked from leaking air conditioner, only two paper thin towels provided for four of us, phone didn't work to call down for more towels, old tube TV, not the cleanest rooms, went to desk to get extra towel and when back upstairs noticed how filthy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith K, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tazewell Hotel, We value our guests feedback, as it gives us an opportunity to improve our services as per our guests requests. The areas highlighted by you have been looked into and corrective steps have been taken, so that you do not face these issues again. I hope you... More

Bellmawr, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stay here because i want to stay downtown and not drive my car as little as possible. Many attractions with in a short walking distance. many restaurants near by. One block away was a mall and the light rail station. Also with in walking distance is the water taxi to Portsmouth VA. for more attractions and restaurants. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith K, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Kenny, Thank you for staying with us at Tazewell Hotel and giving us your comments. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time while visiting downtown Norfolk and were able to have lots of fun. We thank you for giving us good words of appreciation. My team strives hard to make sure every guest that leaves... More

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on August 9th, 2014. Our check in was fine; we had a wonderfully friendly (if not a bit oversharing) receptionist who made sure to offer different suggestions for parking and such. We went to our room, which was on the second floor. I really liked the carpet in the hallway, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith K, Guest Relations Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Kmsbarnes, Thank you for staying at Tazewell Hotel and giving us your feedback. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. I am personally taking this matter in my hands to see why we overlooked so many issues. I hope you will give us another chance to make up... More

Baskerville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I could stay at a soulless, whitewashed, fancy hotel if I chose to, but the Tazewell has so much character, so much warmth to it, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly without being fake, and it is in the perfect location to park and walk for most everything. I love it and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith K, Guest Relations Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Carla, Thank you for your kind words, it was a delight to read. It is always our aim to have satisfied guest and even more positive for us when guests give us their kind feedback. You are always welcome at Tazewell Hotel, looking forward to your next visit. Best Regards More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay