We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    47
    31
    42
    32
See reviews for
57
36
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When you see that the "Wyndham" sign is not permenant and is a banner over another sign, that should be your first indication that this is not a great hotel. When i tried to check in i was told there were no rooms available due to some recent "bad rain" which flooded parts of the hotel. Upon hearing this it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debra B, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel, unfortunately we had some damage done to some of our rooms from a bad storm, and we were unable to use those rooms. We made accommodation with another hotel, however I apologize the information was not explained clearly to you. I have spoke to my staff so we... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there recently for the Norfolk Jazzfest Weekend. Very reasonably priced. Front desk personnel were exceptionally nice, one in particular named Deborah was very helpful. My only problem was that all the elevators were not working properly! Thank God I didnt experience getting stuck in one of them! Rooms were nice and clean very retro! The lighting in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debra B, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our hotel. I want to apologize about the elevators, we did have one go down but we were waiting on a part. Again thank you and we look forward to having you as a guest again. Debra B More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Totally overpriced!! Had I spent $60 I would have known what to expect... IF I could've cancelled the reservation I would've... the second I walked in. Nothing says welcome quite like a security guard with handcuffs! Just saying... Don't take your kids and don't think thre hot looks ANYTHING like the pics.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debra B, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel, I will speak with my security person. If you could please give me a call here at the hotel, I would love to get more details of your stay. Again thank you for bring this to our attention. Debra B More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The area seems to be a little run down, I was concerned for the safety of our vehicle. There is nothing really close to grab a bite. The lobby is nice, looks are deceiving. The staff was helpful when we checked in and when we had to call to get a new room due to infrastructure issues. We could see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debra B, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. What you discribe is not the standards we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden hotel. I have gotten with my department heads to find out what happen, and I can assure you that we have implimented proceedures to correct this matter in the future. Thank you Debra Berry... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lobby was dark and the elevators were slow. 3 of the 6 didn't appear to work. We stayed on the 9th floor and the ice machine was not operational and you had to travel to the 7th floor. The refrigerator had not been cleaned out and my son opened it to discover a bottle of tequila, some ice cream,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debra B, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. What you discribe is not the standards we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden hotel. I have gotten with my department heads to find out what happen, and I can assure you that we have implimented proceedures to correct this matter in the future. Thank you Debra Berry More 

Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Wyndham Norfolk downtown this past weekend and the customer service from the late night front desk receptionist was great. I got a little turned around finding the hotel and William stayed on the line until I arrived at 2am. However, once I got to the room it "looked" clean but the tub was half cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. What you discribe is not the standards we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden hotel. I have gotten with my department heads to find out what happen, and I can assure you that we have implimented proceedures to correct this matter in the future. More 

Neenah, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful!!! We stayed with a family of 6 in a mini suite and were very comfortable. The room was really nice. 2 full beds and a queen sleeper sofa. One negative thing was the refrigerator wasn't working upon our arrival and a lot of our food went bad. They did fix it our second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback,we strive at the Wyndham Garden Hotel for our guest return. http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g58026-d126041-r279495663-Wyndham_Garden_Norfolk_Downtown-Norfolk_Virginia.html# More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
#16 of 39 in Norfolk
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay