We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

3.5 of 5 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    28
    34
    23
See reviews for
41
33
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Exmore, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel with some friends of mine visiting the area for the first time. The staff was excellent very helpful and courteous. The room was very clean and comfortable. My friends and I also enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel had, it has nice bar and good food. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

After viewing a couple hotels in the area Wyndham stuck in my mind and won me over and I'm very pleased with my decision. After speaking with Evelyn( housekeeping supervisor) she volunteered to show me around. I was very pleased with her hospitality which was a big part of me choosing Wyndham. From check in to check out the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the time I check in everyone was very pleasant and helpful. My room was very cleaned I love the red wall. The housekeeper gave several good places to eat made sure she mention the hotel restaurant first. She was right I loved the seafood platter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to mention our staff members. We pride ourselves on the great staff members that we have and that we can always count on them for going above and beyond. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel for the weekend while visiting Norfolk to watch 2 shows one at the Chrysler Center and the other at the Scope Arena and both ARE right across the street from the hotel, what not to like...just walk across the street and voila, no driving and no extra money for parking, just Fantastic location and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made many changes to the property since becoming a Wyndham Garden and we appreciate the fact that it shows. More 

Powhatan, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Key didn't work, so they comped my parking. Funky décor, but it's classy looking. My 11-year old says it looks like JZ's living room. Great staff. Comfortable room. What else do you want? AAA+++....Scope is right across the street...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do strive to provide a comfortable stay and meet the needs of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again for your next stay. BTW, Go Admirals More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This hotel is absolutely the worst never stay here because very poor managed, up kept, and ghetto employee’s. I stayed here during the weekend of thanksgiving because of last minute traveling arrangements. Where to start on the problems with this hotel door to the room didn’t lock, musky odor in rooms, cords wouldn’t stay in the outlets, and sleep number... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Tasha, I am sorry to hear about the problems you faced during your stay at the hotel. I am very distraught to hear about the run in you had with our employee at the front desk, but rest assured that we do not condone any employee that does not present the best appearance and disposition towards our guests. Steps... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

This place has so many areas to improve!!! Got the deal from Groupon. Absolutely ideal location...however, your lobby decor does not even come close to exemplifying the rest of the hotel. Pictures are misleading! Door did not close properly, musky odor in rooms, dusty all over the room, cords wouldn't even stay in outlets, not too the patch jobs everywhere!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your recent stay. Since your stay, we have had many improvements which have let to us becoming a Wyndham Garden Hotel. I hope that you will come back and try us again so you can see the improvements we have made. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel for a few days in November 2014. The Norfolk Plaza is a good, clean hotel, and convenient to everything in town. But what I really wanted to remark on was the helpfulness and friendliness of the front desk Manager, Bobbi. She was always so very helpful, and always greeted me with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great feedback about our staff. Billie is one of our greatest assets. More 

Woodland, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Been needing to get to this review for a little over a month now. First and foremost, this place is NOT what it looks like on the web or even close. The pictures are photoshopped to no end. My now wife and I aren't the richest people, so we try and find deals where we can. We wanted an affordable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent wedding. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza. I am not sure of the exact dates of your stay, but we have instituted many changes since September. Due to the complaints of our WiFi system, we completely replaced our entire system. The process took almost 2... More 

Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here briefly last night. We picked this hotel because it was close to the Chrysler Hall and we were seeing a performance. We stayed on the 12th floor and while the lobby was nice when we got off the elevator we felt like we were staying at a different hotel. The hallway smelled like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your stay this past weekend. We do strive to meet or exceed every guests expectations, and I am sorry that we failed during your stay. There was an alumni event in our ballroom that night and though we brought on extra security, those guests did interfere with other guests stays and for that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay