We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Lynne B Norfolk, Virginia
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    29
    36
    29
See reviews for
50
35
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thanks goes out to Larry, Angelo and the entire staff for making our fundraiser Men Who Cook a wonderful and very successful event!!!! From the bartenders to the catering department and everyone in between, thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. Yours is one of those repeat events that we all look forward to each year. More 

Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the newly named Wyndham Garden. In the past the rooms were average, but since becoming a Wyndham hotel, I was very impressed. The rooms have been updated. They are nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff is professional and genuinely care that their guests have the best possible experience at the hotel. One employee in particular,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for noticing the changes we have been working on since becoming a Wyndham Hotel. All of our staff looks foward to continuing to give you the best service possible. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

You and your team were just the best thing that happened to lighten the event. You brought energy into the event planning . What could we have done without you all ! You all going an extra mile to help arrange the venue and setting up everything was highly appreciated and your idea of the lounge type setting made the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate the comments about our staff. Our staff is always going the extra mile to make sure we are always exeeding your expectations. More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently had an event at the Wyndham. Angelo, the Catering Director and Larry, the Guest Relations Director were so helpful. They made the planning process so smooth. The event went off without a hitch. Every need we had was anticipated by the staff and they handled every detail with precision and professionalism. I've had events at the hotel in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work with all of our staff to try to make every event as memorable as possible. More 

Glen Allen, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I work for a large health care provider and Angelo and his staff exceeded our expectations on every level. They came through for us with a meeting space and accomadations for my team last minute and for that I would not hesitate to reccomend this venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Our entire staff here at the Wyndham Garden always work to exceed our guests expecations. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Working with Mr. Angelo prior before the event was very exciting, he laid out everything in detail and added some favors! He was very personable, so this made the event stress-free! Upon my arrival Mr.Scott meet me and greeted me with a warm friendly welcome. He asked if I needed anything, do not hesitate, and I didn't! The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your event here at the Wyndham Garden. We do strive to make every function memorable and easy to plan for our guests. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay except our TV and air conditioning kept going out. The sockets would not hold the plug from the TV. The Housekeeping was awesome! They (Evelyn and her team) made sure my family was comfortable and had all we needed at all times. Great team Evelyn! Thank you for the grand hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, and thank you also for pointing out the room number. We have already had our maintenance department address the issue with the socket in that room. More 

Bowie, Md.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought front desk personnel were very slow in getting info. re nearby church, + no directions on how to get there. Hotels should have a directory of ALL denomination churches nearby, + map to get to same. Also, ice machine on 7th floor broken=NO ICE! No lunch in dining room, only breakfast & dinner; no quick coffee shop. Probably... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

we are so sorry to hear that you did not thourouly enjoy your experience here at the Wyndham Garden hotel. We do keep a listing of most of the major churches at the desk with preprinted directions to the churches and other attractions. I am sorry to hear that we did not have the directions to the church you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities