We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

Norfolk Plaza Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Norfolk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
48%
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mickeymouse518 Lake Stevens, Washington
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    26
    30
    21
See reviews for
39
28
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The projects are directly across the street, first room had a broken bed and no air conditioning. They moved us to a room that had air but had horrible noises all night. Apparently they had a party of guests that had no respect for sleeping children too. NEVER STAY HERE. Management did not care at all about our si

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was such a disappointment from what I was expecting. First, there is no ground level parking...you must park and be forced to walk up 2flights of outside stairs. Secondly, If you have small children potty training...BE AWARE they only change sheets Monday and Friday per stay, unless they can physically see blood. I had to get a supervisors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We did have one of our two guest elevators down for a few days for repairs. We had to have the parts flown in to repair it, and I apologize for the inconvenience. Also, we do change the sheets in between every guest, but in an effort... More

Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will rate this hotel average only because my husbands company is putting my husband up in this hotel while he goes to school. If we were paying for it ourselves I would be asking for my money back. First, out of 4 elevators, only 1 works. That one elevator even went out one day and we had to use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. It is true that we had an issue with our elevators the weekend you were mentioning, but our elevator company came out within one hour and had our guest elevator back up and running. We apologize that you had to use... More

Odenton, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were at the college for 12 hours and was told we needed to come back in the morning. After looking at 5 hotels and having to deal with a stressfull day of registering my son for college I returned to Norfolk Plaza Hotel where Ms.Billie's pleasent attitude made it very easy for me to pick them. I enjoyed eating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to point out what a great asset we have in Billie and in our staff at the Black Tuna. Here at the Norfolk Plaza, we are making great strides in not just providing what our guests need, but trying to go above and beyond and provide more then our guests expect. We... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm going to say an old saying, the first impression is what counts. 1. The first thing I noticed when I entered the hotel was the main entrance double/doors were broken and stayed open the entire time we stayed there. 2. They only had one employee checking in the guests and the line was very long for 2 AM in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Here at the Norfolk Plaza we have made great strides to not just meet but exceed the expectations of all of our guests. I would very much like to get in contact with you so that I can find out the particulars about which room you were in and... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I chose to stay at this hotel because of a wedding. After reading the reviews on this website I was thinking about changing my hotel and just driving in to the wedding from a different location. I have to say I am glad that I decided not switch and instead I stayed at this hotel. The reviews make it sound... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the wedding and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have you as a guest again next time you are here in the Hampton Roads area. More

West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I must commend Bobbie Jo Jones who is usually working the front desk when I check in. She welcomes me by name and has a room ready for me even though my check in is before noon 3 different times a week. She makes me feel like I'm home away from home. Over all the staff is friendly and seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give your feedback about the hotel. We are always delighted when one of our associates is complimented on the service we all strive to deliver here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. We have also noted the issues you have had in the past and will be taking actions... More

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staff was very friendly, I needed a cab at 6:15 in the morning, was told they would call for me and have one there cab was there at 6:10. Clean room. Hallways clean, very nice lobby. Fridge/microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

Roselle Park, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here 6 nights and it was not what I saw online. Walls had viable holes, outlets hanging off walls which prevented me from using the clock. The halls and elevators looked like they haven't been vacuumed in days. The sleep number beds were broken. The restaurant inside the hotel was awful. The staff was okay but limited. Overall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

A Wonderful experience for my husband and I and our three kids:) the staff was very helpful and courteous! All special requests were met and in a timely manner. The suite was very spacious with a good size kitchenette. Thanks so much for a great stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Norfolk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Norfolk with
any amenities