We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

Norfolk Plaza Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Norfolk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
49%
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
theh413 Washington DC, District of Columbia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (145)
  • Photos (39)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    25
    29
    20
See reviews for
38
28
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm going to say an old saying, the first impression is what counts. 1. The first thing I noticed when I entered the hotel was the main entrance double/doors were broken and stayed open the entire time we stayed there. 2. They only had one employee checking in the guests and the line was very long for 2 AM in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose to stay at this hotel because of a wedding. After reading the reviews on this website I was thinking about changing my hotel and just driving in to the wedding from a different location. I have to say I am glad that I decided not switch and instead I stayed at this hotel. The reviews make it sound... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the wedding and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have you as a guest again next time you are here in the Hampton Roads area. More

West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must commend Bobbie Jo Jones who is usually working the front desk when I check in. She welcomes me by name and has a room ready for me even though my check in is before noon 3 different times a week. She makes me feel like I'm home away from home. Over all the staff is friendly and seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give your feedback about the hotel. We are always delighted when one of our associates is complimented on the service we all strive to deliver here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. We have also noted the issues you have had in the past and will be taking actions... More

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was very friendly, I needed a cab at 6:15 in the morning, was told they would call for me and have one there cab was there at 6:10. Clean room. Hallways clean, very nice lobby. Fridge/microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

Roselle Park, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here 6 nights and it was not what I saw online. Walls had viable holes, outlets hanging off walls which prevented me from using the clock. The halls and elevators looked like they haven't been vacuumed in days. The sleep number beds were broken. The restaurant inside the hotel was awful. The staff was okay but limited. Overall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A Wonderful experience for my husband and I and our three kids:) the staff was very helpful and courteous! All special requests were met and in a timely manner. The suite was very spacious with a good size kitchenette. Thanks so much for a great stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Customer service is horrible. The booking mistake that they made was a great inconvenience. They were unwilling to even fix the mistake let alone offer any other suggestion. The woman at the front desk was very sarcastic and unhelpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. I have sent you a message on here so that I get get more information about your stay. Please contact me so I can resolve the issue... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel suited our needs while we looked around Norfolk. Some minor issues with our room which were rectified by staff upon our request. Rooms were comfortable and staff were friendly. Wouldn't want to stay there for more than two nights, due to lack of amenities and things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. More

Dallas, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this dump over the weekend while attending the jazz festival and all I can say is you're better off staying at Motel 6. First of all I love the view of public housing it was so scenic...not! The iron did not work so I called the front desk to request another one and they said they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza. We have taken efforts to ensure that other guests will not have to deal with the issues that you had during your stay. I hope that you will... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel for the Jazz Festival this weekend. I have to take my hat off to them. We really had an enjoyable stay. The lobby and the decor were great, and rooms very pleasant. The hotel location was ideal, because it was close to everything we needed (Food, Drinks, and the festival. however what really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_NP2, Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Ms. Pegram, I am happy to hear that your stay at the Norfolk Plaza was an enjoyable one. I sincerely hope that you will be staying with us again, when in Norfolk. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Norfolk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Norfolk with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Norfolk Plaza Hotel is an upscale newly renovated hotel with a retro flair. We are one of the best values in Norfolk and have the lowest parking fees of any hotel downtown. We have 15,000 square feet of meeting space with state of the art capabilities. High Speed wireless internet access the entire hotel. Olympic size outdoor pool. New fitness equipment and free weights in our large fitness room. Dining on property at our upscale Black Tuna Grill serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
235

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Norfolk Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer