We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norfolk Plaza Hotel

3.5 of 5 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    27
    31
    21
See reviews for
39
31
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival I was told that what I had originally requested( double-beds) were not available due to high volumn of booking. However I was offered by the staff a suite; which I gladly accepted. The staff , namely Joe, Charles, April and Shawanda gave me and my family the best service that could be offered. All questions were answered throughly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. My wife and I got a groupon to stay at this hotel for a few days as we celebrated our anniversary. We traveled over 6 hours from NJ to have stayed there and we wish we would have stayed somewhere else. As soon as we got there it took them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jcg, I want to apologize for the service you received during your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. The issues you described should not happen to any guest. I will meet with our front desk staff to ensure that no other guest has the same check in experience that you received. Additionally, I will meet with my breakfast... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place seems to be styled as a throwback to the 60's. I was surprised there wasn't a valet up front based on the design of the hotel. It probably had one when it was first built. But over time the luster has worn off. It's oddly out of time. The site itself is awkward, especially having to walk up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay. I am not sure of the exact date of your stay, but I did wish to inform you that we have completely upgraded our Wireless system in the hotel. This was a week long project that completely changed out our system and replaced it with a... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The projects are directly across the street, first room had a broken bed and no air conditioning. They moved us to a room that had air but had horrible noises all night. Apparently they had a party of guests that had no respect for sleeping children too. NEVER STAY HERE. Management did not care at all about our si

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and had to be moved to another room. We do keep staff on overnight to ensure that no one guest disturbs another guests stay, I am sorry if that other guest disturbed your child sleeping. Here at the Norfolk Plaza we do have staff on 24 hours a... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel was such a disappointment from what I was expecting. First, there is no ground level parking...you must park and be forced to walk up 2flights of outside stairs. Secondly, If you have small children potty training...BE AWARE they only change sheets Monday and Friday per stay, unless they can physically see blood. I had to get a supervisors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We did have one of our two guest elevators down for a few days for repairs. We had to have the parts flown in to repair it, and I apologize for the inconvenience. Also, we do change the sheets in between every guest, but in an effort... More

Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I will rate this hotel average only because my husbands company is putting my husband up in this hotel while he goes to school. If we were paying for it ourselves I would be asking for my money back. First, out of 4 elevators, only 1 works. That one elevator even went out one day and we had to use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. It is true that we had an issue with our elevators the weekend you were mentioning, but our elevator company came out within one hour and had our guest elevator back up and running. We apologize that you had to use... More

Odenton, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were at the college for 12 hours and was told we needed to come back in the morning. After looking at 5 hotels and having to deal with a stressfull day of registering my son for college I returned to Norfolk Plaza Hotel where Ms.Billie's pleasent attitude made it very easy for me to pick them. I enjoyed eating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to point out what a great asset we have in Billie and in our staff at the Black Tuna. Here at the Norfolk Plaza, we are making great strides in not just providing what our guests need, but trying to go above and beyond and provide more then our guests expect. We... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I'm going to say an old saying, the first impression is what counts. 1. The first thing I noticed when I entered the hotel was the main entrance double/doors were broken and stayed open the entire time we stayed there. 2. They only had one employee checking in the guests and the line was very long for 2 AM in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Here at the Norfolk Plaza we have made great strides to not just meet but exceed the expectations of all of our guests. I would very much like to get in contact with you so that I can find out the particulars about which room you were in and... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I chose to stay at this hotel because of a wedding. After reading the reviews on this website I was thinking about changing my hotel and just driving in to the wedding from a different location. I have to say I am glad that I decided not switch and instead I stayed at this hotel. The reviews make it sound... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the wedding and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have you as a guest again next time you are here in the Hampton Roads area. More

West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I must commend Bobbie Jo Jones who is usually working the front desk when I check in. She welcomes me by name and has a room ready for me even though my check in is before noon 3 different times a week. She makes me feel like I'm home away from home. Over all the staff is friendly and seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give your feedback about the hotel. We are always delighted when one of our associates is complimented on the service we all strive to deliver here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. We have also noted the issues you have had in the past and will be taking actions... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay