We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

Norfolk Plaza Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Norfolk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Macarena's L Richmond, Virginia
  • Reviews (134)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    24
    27
    16
See reviews for
35
26
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here to drive to the beach the next day on july 4 weekend. The rooms are clean and nice ,bussines type.The hotel lobby nice decorated friendly front desk personal.The 3 blocks around the hotel are not the best but it gets better after those 3 blocks there is a nice big mall banks and restaurants, movie theater. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your mention of our Front Desk Staff. We look forward to your next visit to the Hampton Roads area. More

Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had heard a few criticism about some of the employees overall not so welcoming personalities;however, that was not Tha first impression I got. Staff was very friendly and assisted me and my mom quickly . One employee in particular, Ms Evelyn in house keeping department was very outgoing and answered every question I had pertaining to Tha bookings of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback about your hotel and our staff. We have made great strides build a team here that provides more then the guest expects and comments such as yours are always appreciated. I will ensure that Evelyn and is noted for the service she provided you. More

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Entrance lovely. Rooms dirty. Was moved to 3 different rooms. Toilets, bed sheets & floor dirty! Sleep member bed was broken. Worst stay ever! Empty water bottles in room. Picture were wrong. Will never stay there again. My rate was non-refundable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM_NP2, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darrell, Thank you for bringing the issues that occured during your stay, to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the quality of your stay. Hotel management is currently working with our housekeeping department to ensure that such issues are resolved. Regards, VL General Manager More

Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I took a chance on this place hoping the reviews were not true. Huge mistake this place is a dump. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE NOT WORTH THE RISK. My trip started bad at check in and never improved. The toilet was stopped up when we got to our room. My daughter couldn't quit crying over the huge brown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. The conditions you have reported are not the level we strive to be at. Since you have stayed, we have upgraded and repaired many of the issues you mentioned in your review. Our pool is open and operational, and as of today, we have begun... More

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

the hoon check-in, you will notice that the rooms are good size, clean and presentable. But if you are on business and you stay for more than 2 days to a week or months, you will notice few things that are not at par to hotel standards: 1) STRUCTURAL DAMAGE to the ceiling: Drywalls falling apart and paint chips on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_NP2, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasant. I would also like to thank you for bringing maintenance issues to our management team's attention. We are actively working to resolve these issues. I sincerely hope that you will consider staying at the Norfolk Plaza... More

Lexington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband An I were in Norfolk for three nights, to attend the MEAC Baseball Tournament. I was worried about staying at this hotel, after reading many reviews on this site. Since this was where our grandson's team was staying, we decided to stay here also. We had a room on the top floor (12) of the hotel, room 1202.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_NP2, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. Best wishes for continued safe travels More

Chesterfield, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked this hotel for my daughter and her friends. They were going to a concert at The Norva and wanted a place to stay within walking distance. For the price I paid you would think I would have gotten them a suite but NO....I paid for a room with 2 king beds that were supposed to have sleep number... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_NP2, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. It was very troubling to learn how we handled your request for a king bed. We are working diligently to ensure that issues such as ones you faced are resolved. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate... More

Fruitland, Idaho
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Upon check-in, you will notice that the rooms are good size, clean and presentable. But if you are on business and you stay for more than 2 days to a week or months, you will notice few things that are not at par to hotel standards: 1) STRUCTURAL DAMAGE to the ceiling: Drywalls falling apart and paint chips on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your recent stay here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. The conditions that you describe are not the standards we strive for here. We are currently doing work to many of our guest rooms to address the issues you mentioned and are also in the process of upgrading many of our features including adding LCD... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

About 8 months ago I stayed in this hotel only to have had a firefighter knock on my door at 4:00am to evacuate the hotel due to very dangerous levels of carbon menoxide. I stayed at the plaza again, as I was in Norfolk randomly, it was college graduation weekend, and every other "decent" hotel was booked. The hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Merrimack, NH
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I read the reviews "Stay away" but being across the street from the Scope Center -- Location ruled. The hotel is under new management and having adjustment pains. There is no elevator from the parking are to the lobby--or rooms weird!!! The rooms are comfortable, quiet and typical of a city type hotel. Now to the reviews watch list-- ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. We have started a program to upgrade many of the issues that you addressed including adding new LCD TV's to all of our rooms that will help address some of your issues. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Norfolk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Norfolk Plaza Hotel is an upscale newly renovated hotel with a retro flair. We are one of the best values in Norfolk and have the lowest parking fees of any hotel downtown. We have 15,000 square feet of meeting space with state of the art capabilities. High Speed wireless internet access the entire hotel. Olympic size outdoor pool. New fitness equipment and free weights in our large fitness room. Dining on property at our upscale Black Tuna Grill serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
235

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer