We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

3.5 of 5 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    156
    132
    78
    74
See reviews for
107
117
44
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (557)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (192)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked our room through the Starwood Preferred phone line. (Some credit cards earn customers discounted parking fees which would be steep otherwise.)The room was clean,the beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed the water view. The hotel is right on the riverwalk and is an easy walk to Nauticus museum, Joe's Crab Shak, Outback Steak House and local downtown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our surrounding locations! The City Dock Restaurant on the Waterfront is the ideal place to witness beautiful views of the harbor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We offer a free parking package for AAA members and we invite you to visit our website to learn... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
164 hotel reviews
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I first visited this hotel in January 2011, and re-read my prior review. I had the same impression during this visit. I was pleased that my upgraded room was reserved, even when I arrived at 1:30 a.m. The Club Lounge on the 10th floor was a really comfortable place to relax. Kim, the server, was very friendly. Sheraton bed, shower,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that we could create the same lasting impression as your first visit! We are happy that you found our hotel to be at a great value and we hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. More 

Paradise Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton in Norfolk on a Saturday night in the middle of December. The hotel is beautiful, the room was great, very spacious and the view of the harbor was nice. Bed was comfortable until we started "sharing" the room with the next door neighbors. There were several Christmas parties in the hotel that night and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We wish we could have addressed these noise disruptions with you at the time of your stay, as we understand how frustrating this may have been. We never expect our guests to endure distractions during a stay with us and it is disappointing to learn that we missed the opportunity to welcome you back. We... More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was really not looking forward to staying here from the reviews I read but I must say I was pleasantly surprised! Don't always believe what you read! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was so comfortable I forgot I was staying in a hotel. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I don't feel that guests should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that we could exceed your expectations! With our valet parking at $22 a day and self-parking at $12 a day, we feel that our rates are comparable to the Norfolk area and we regret to learn that this may prevent you from staying with us again. We offer a free parking package for AAA members and... More 

Wash DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel / (5th floor) Info: We got the hotel for $50 via Priceline. We stayed for one night during the holiday. Because of the holiday the hotel was very quiet. This may vary if you stay during a busier time of the year. Pros: ~Close to highway ~Location on the water (water views), we had a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

At the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, our guests can enjoy spectacular views while dining at our on-site restaurant, The City Dock Restaurant on the Waterfront. Our parking options include valet parking at the hotel or self-parking at Dominion Tower Parking Garage, located next door. Thank you for sharing a few of the many surrounding attractions! There's so much to see... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel's location is OK; the hotel rooms are mediocre; the value is decent; the staff is terrible; the parking is expensive and a significant distance away unless you pay for the outrageous valet service. I would not recommend this hotel based on the staff's shortcomings alone. The same employee who handed me the receipt for our two-night stay on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonNorfolk, Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret to hear about any issues that you may have experienced during your stay with us and can appreciate your disappointment. Your experience does not reflect the high level of service our guests have come to expect from us and we will be certain to share your comments with our staff so that... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel has a great location downtown and by the water, and the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were very pleasant. It is reasonably priced for what you get. However, it also has some problems, including: 1) walls a bit thin, so it was not a quiet night's sleep; 2) you have to pay about $10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you found our downtown Norfolk hotel to be at a great location. It is disappointing to learn that you encountered these problems with us, as our goal is to provide our guests with beneficial services at a great value. For any future stay, our recently renovated lobby features Link @ Sheraton where guests can enjoy complimentary... More 

Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Unimpressive, not being maintained, location difficult to access. $22 a night to park and $10 to use a hard wired internet, no wireless. Way to fleece paying customers. They tell you this with complete indifference, like it's normal to charge you for parking at the hotel you are staying at. We were informed that in DC it can cost you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that we failed to impress you during your stay with us. Our $34 million renovation to our hotel brought exciting new changes including Link @ Sheraton, which offers guests free wireless Internet in our lobby. To ensure adequate parking for our guests we are excited to offer our services at such... More 

New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Waterside Hotel in Norfolk, VA We were very disappointed in your hotel the first thing was no free parking and the parking lot used by the guests was quite a distance away, my husband is handicaped and we were forced take the valet parking for $22.00 a day, we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Our goal is to offer guests services that will ensure an enjoyable and convenient stay. We regret to hear the difficulties you experienced and will review your comments with our housekeeping staff to avoid these issues in the future. We hope that any other concerns were brought to the attention of our staff and addressed quickly. It would a pleasure... More 

Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I recently traveled to this Sheraton for business. Apparently (although I am unsure) the hotel recently underwent a refurbishment....but for some reason they decided not to put wireless internet in the rooms? The internet is wired which I can live with, but it...was...slow. SO slow. I couldn't watch videos or webcasts not to mention it was still slow for simple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

With our on-site business center, the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is especially suited for business travelers. We regret to hear that we could not impress you in all areas. With our exciting renovations to our property, we are committed to exceed guests expectations. Recent renovations to our property have included Link@Sheraton, which features free Wi-Fi and printing access for our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay