We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
52%
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011
Rocknrollchica2 Charlotte, North Carolina
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    138
    125
    73
    69
See reviews for
99
107
39
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a trade show and was quite surprised after reading negative reviews. I am extremely picky when it comes to hotels and I think this hotel was a very good find. The hotel has a nice layout and is very clean. The staff was overly accommodating to everyone staying here, making us feel right at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

The view of the waterfront can be breathtaking and we are so glad you enjoyed some time watching the ships from our hotel. Our staff always looks forward to ensuring our guests stay is a positive one and your kind acknowledgment will certainly inspire them. Thank you for sharing your perspective regarding parking and internet fees. We would like to... More

Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hard to find....scary to drive to. Ridiculously priced, but we did get a great rate through Hotwire...about 1/3 the cost. Unfortunately the thrill faded fast. The hotel is in the middle of a militaristic/rundown deserted part of the city. Inside is cold and DIRTY...lobby, hallways and ESPECIALLY the cramped rooms. Rundown, NO amenities (fridge, microwave, only one vending machine which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It is truly disappointing to hear about your experience with us. Your comments and opinions are important to improve our hotel for future guests. If a refund was supposed to be given and wasn’t, please reach out to us or your third party booking vendor so this can be further investigated. Thank you for your review More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

Not bad but not great -Walking distance to major attractions but dEtails of great customer service are overlooked - coffee set ups were not replenished but they were quick to bring it to the room after a phone call, towels not restocked. Hated the bottom sheet on the bed that kept crawling off!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It is good to hear the location worked well for you when visiting with us, but regret not everything was satisfactory. Thank you for making us aware of these details so we may stay on top of them for future guests. In the future we hope you will visit us again so we may make a better impression on you. More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Checked in last night. Exterior and lobby seemed nice. Staff were polite. Things started looking down when I got to the elevator -- there were crushed potato chips all over the floor... and they were still there this morning. When I got to my room I was really disappointed. After specifying a waterfront view in my reservation a month ago,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

After reading your review, we cannot help but be disappointed. If you had booked a Harbor View room, then it’s not clear at this time why you wouldn’t have received this room type at the time of your arrival. We will share your comments with our housekeeping manager, and apologize that your room was not at its best. We can... More

Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was in the room check out was at 12:00 noon it was about 10:20 and we had the do not disturb sign on the door and the maid knocked on the door when I got up and opened the door guess what no English! I'am sorry but this bothers me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the interruption during your stay. We respect your right to express your opinions and appreciate the time you’ve taken to do so. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. More

new york
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

just got back in from staying in Norfolk, Virginia at the Sheraton Waterfront. I have to admit that I did read the reviews before leaving and I was a bit worried. Some of the things that were said in previous reviews about the rooms being paper thin are true, but I didnt find the furnishings in my room to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review! It is great to hear you and your friend enjoyed our breakfast selection and your compliments will be passed along to your server. Our hotel offers one of the best locations in downtown Norfolk with the added benefit of beautiful water views and we’re glad you enjoyed these features. We feel fortunate as well... More

Norway
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
85 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Not exactly thrilled with our stay at this hotel. As a starwood platinum member, I have stayed at several sheratons. This one has a long way to go. The room was tired and worn. The furniture had seen it better days, and the walls in desperate need of paint. The connecting door to the neighbouring room was paper thin, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It is upsetting to hear you were disappointed as a Starwood Platinum member. We apologize for any disturbances you experienced during your stay. Please understand your comments are very important to us and we will look into the issues you mentioned. It seems we may have missed the opportunity to encourage a return visit with us, but hope you will... More

Chevy Chase, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Have stayed at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside several times. While it seems to be isolated at first glance, it is actually convenient for downtown and to an excellent shopping mall as well as some decent restaurants. I was traveling on business, so got the government rate which is exceptional value and includes a continental breakfast. Hotel is right on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Our business travelers are greatly appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed the special government package. It sounds like you found the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel’s close location to many great activities a plus as do many of our guests. The next time you are in Norfolk we hope to welcome you back to enjoy more good food and good... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I'm just going to go straight into the pros and cons on this one. PROS: - Nice looking lobby - Business area nice - Good walking distance from some restaurants (e.g. Outback, Joes Crab shack, Hooters, etc) CONS: - Staff not very knowledgeable. Had a lot of trouble checking in. - Not completely clean room. Items for another guest were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that your impression was not what we would hope for our guests when staying at our hotel. It is our priority to provide the best in service and hospitality and it’s disappointing to learn we did not exceed your expectations. Our management and housekeeping staff will be made aware of the issues you mentioned so we can... More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Like most Sheratons, this property provides the excellent illusion of customer service. However, if possible, when in the Norfolk area I would stay elsewhere. As other commenters have pointed out, the restaurant is awful. The servers in the restaurant are ill dressed, and the server tucked in her shirt while she was talking to me and serving my coffee...I'm not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It is truly disappointing that this is the impression you were left with after staying with us. Customer service is extremely important to us and we regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the difficulties experienced with the internet service and are truly disappointed that this was not handled more appropriately at the time. Your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Norfolk with
any amenities