We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7950 Shore Drive, Norfolk, VA 23518 (Formerly Days Inn Norfolk)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach to your Saves list
M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
30%
Ranked #33 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
  • Overview
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    9
    6
    31
See reviews for
22
15
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was probably one of the worst motels we've ever had to stay in. We needed a room late at night and settled for this but I wish we had traveled further and later to get a better room. We were supposed to have a non-smoking room but our room smelled strongly of smoke; the bathroom door would't shut; the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I would give this hotel 0 stars if it was an option. I actually saw the bad reviews before I booked this hotel but did not take their advice. This room was higher priced than other hotels in the area ( multiple places around for 49.95). This hotel does look nice on the outside. Which is why we decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Was in town for a funeral and I was looking for an inexpensive but decent place to stay. The title says Days Inn but it isn't. I could only get a room on the ground floor and the room had ROACHES!!!!! I will spend more money and stay in upscale hotels from now on!!! Don't mistake my ratings. The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mstarnorfolkva, Webmaster at M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your comments. We strongly dispute that there is an insect problem at our hotel and are very proud to live up to the Days Inn name every day and in everything we do. Still, I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your needs in this. I hope that if you visit the area again, you... More

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks while looking for a flat and my things arriving (military). The room was large and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. I ran the a/c fan at night and didn't hear any other noises as others mentioned in their rating. It isn't brand new but it was not dirty and there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Clearly this place is shabby and run down. Stayed hear for 5 nights while visiting the area and found it to be a good value if you are willing to stay at a marginal place. Being only several miles from a Norfolk municipal beach it was convenient for a stroll or a swim in the bay. The management was responsive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mstarnorfolkva, Webmaster at M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your comments and your kind feedback about our staff. We do everything possible to make guest feel at home. In fact, we’re proud of this property -- although it could always be better, of course. I sincerely apologize if we fell short of exceeding your expectations in any way, but thanks for your multi-night stay. I... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Terrible! We did not listen to the reviews and we're lucky enough to find a much better hotel! Room was small, old and dirty. Also from what we learned a very bad neighborhood. Not close to the beach at all. I would never ever think about a room here ever. Stay away from the m star!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mstarnorfolkva, Webmaster at M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your comments even though you indicate that you did not stay with us. Fortunately, we’re always working to improve this property and it has been updated and improved in many ways since these comments some months ago. Still, I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. I hope you will try us again if... More

Keysville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the past few years for our family vacation. This past July was the worst and I will never stay there again!! We paid this place about $4000 to accommodate our family and it was terrible. Our first night we were woke up at 2 a.m. by the people next door fighting and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mstarnorfolkva, Webmaster at M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the M Star Norfolk. We appreciate you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your feedback. We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay. We have implemented complete security measures and ensure that no anti social activity is going on. We are addressing your observations related... More

Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

When I read the reviews prior to staying here, I figured that for every bad review there was a good review so it really couldn't be that bad. Here was my experience: Room: 1st room given was not even cleaned. 2nd room was dirty even though it was cleaned. Pubic hair in the bathroom, shower, & microwave. Carpets & furniture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mstarnorfolkva, Webmaster at M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for being at the M-Star, Norfolk VA to stay during your last visit to our area. Our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever. We have taken your review seriously and appropriate actions are being taken on each of your observations. We are hiring a professional team to study and improve the hotel upkeep and hospitality.... More

Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Sometime a cheapo room is not worth the cheapo price. I swatted 10 or so flies. carpets were filthy. AC would not adjust temperature... Freeze or cook were the only settings. Not even a great location... Next time I'll pay the extra and stay at the Hampton Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mstarnorfolkva, Webmaster at M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the M-Star, Norfolk and the review. We are investigating the issue you have mentioned, but our apologies for the same however unlikely it may be. We believe that’s only way to improve. We are paying serious issues to the amenities and also pest control through a special agency. You are again welcome to stay... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel and I must say I was impressed, the staff are friendly, great customer service.the rooms have been renovated and are spacious. I would recommend for people to stay. One particular staff made me enjoy my stay, checked on us and made us feel comfortable. The parking was great, the security was ok. Only one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 7950 Shore Drive, Norfolk, VA 23518 (Formerly Days Inn Norfolk)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Little Creek Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Days Inn
Days Inn Norfolk

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The pet friendly M-Star Norfolk Virginia Beach offers a free breakfast, outdoor pool, exercise room, and guest laundry facilities. Additional amenities are free parking and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
105

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer