We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Branbran0507 Chesapeake, Virginia
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    8
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
30
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is the first time I have bothered writing a review for a hotel but I feel that other parents of small children should be aware of my concerns. I was expecting the usual Residence Inn quality but I was disappointed. When I checked in, the two guests in front of me were each complaining about the bugs in their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your most recent visit. We strive to ensure everyone enjoys their time in Norfolk and at the Residence Inn. During your time here we did have to close the pool for 3 hours in order to "shock" the pool. This happens on occasion when... More

Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this hotel. The rates are reasonable. It still has a new look and feel. The beds are usually comfortable, however, one night the bed I slept in was very uncomfortable. My back was actually hurting when I woke up. The other downside is the $18 a day parking garage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous comments. We strive to make everyone travels just a little bit better. We hope you enjoy your new home. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow, I was very impressed with the customer service this hotel had to offer. My family and I stayed here for 4 nights during a recent cross-country move. I called the front desk at 8:30am to see if they could store luggage until check-in time, and instead they were able to get us into a room. I was so grateful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. Your comments and suggestions tell us what we are doing right and how we can improve. We wish you the best on your new journey. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were friendly. We booked a 2 bedroom suite and it smelled of smoke. The desk offered us another room or have the one we had cleaned. We were only staying one night so chose the latter, dId not totally solve the problem. Breakfast area untidy, cereal all over the place. Expensive to park, but does offer free wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have had our parking challenges and will continue to work with the city to rectify the issues as quickly as possible. We do apologize this impacted your stay. Thank you for making us aware of the messy cereal station. We do strive to keep the breakfast area neat during the entire meal time. We... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been staying from Va beach to Chesapeake to Norfolk since January. I would have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.. Too bad it was short lived. The parking garage was across the street, no available parking on the bottom floors and the elevators were out of order. A couple of nights the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

You are correct the elevator was out of service in the city garage. The desk team should have suggested you load and unload your luggage from the front door. Since we do not operate the garage the city did not give us notice they were completing maintenance on the elevator. I apologize for this inconvenience. We have a rotating menu... More

Tampa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was in Norfolk for business and was fortunate enough to call this hotel home for a night-- wish it had been longer!!! This is a beautiful property with fantastic customer service and, most importantly, exemplary accommodations. I am very particular about my lodging since I travel weekly for business and prefer the most home-like (and CLEAN) experience possible and this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are always excited when our guests enjoy their stay and experience the downtown Norfolk area. We hope you have an opportunity to return to the area and come back to the Residence Inn Downtown by Marriott. Best Regards, Linda Markert, CHA More

Washington DC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went here on a quick one night trip - room was ready when we arrived, the service was friendly and helpful and they were quick to offer maps and share ideas on what to see. Room was clean and comfortable - the kitchenette was fully stocked and the bed was very comfortable. There is also a nice gym and pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We love that you were able to get away for a weekend and chose to stay in Norfolk. Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Downtown. We have many great restaurant, great festivals and plenty of exciting attraction. We hope you again have a chance to get away and come back to see us. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed here for 9 days while dealing with a medical issue and I cannot express what a great hotel this was!!!! Location was central to the waterfront, Nauticus, downtown restaurants, the Chrysler Museum, a great mall called the MacArthur Center and more!! I was able to park my car and walk the entire week. The staff was beyond courteous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We know hospital stays can be stressful. We are happy we made your time in Norfolk more enjoyable and hope that you return to the Residence Inn Downtown when you can enjoy all the wonderful restaurants and attractions we have to offer. Best Regards, Linda Markert, CHA More

Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We visited Norfolk to see the Rubber Duck sculpture and picked this hotel because of its proximity to the Chrysler Museum. We were not disappointed. Upon arriving in Norfolk at 11:00 a.m., we stopped at the front desk to sort out parking in the public garage across the street before walking over to the museum and were pleasantly surprised to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are very excited to have "the Duck" so close to the hotel for the grand re-opening of our Chrysler Museum of Art. If your travels bring you back to Norfolk we hope you again stay with us here at the Residence Inn Downtown. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for 3.5 months while our condo was being repaired from water damage. The staff could not have been more caring, attentive and efficient. The accommodations were stylish and clean. We did not hear any other guests in adjoining rooms. The maid service left a daily note of encouragement knowing how much stress we were under. Friendly dinners 2-3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you come back even if just to say hello. We hope your transition back into your home was easy and everything looks like new. Best Regards, Linda Markert, CHA More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Address: 227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk #5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
150

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer