We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    71
    12
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
40
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are a nice size and comfortably furnished. Nice, urban location adjacent to the beautiful historic Ghent neighborhood. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Traffic noise can be loud on the one side of the building and the air conditioner is strangely loud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spacious rooms, well-stocked kitchen for light cooking, extremely comfortable beds and living room area... but it's the consistent professionalism and pleasantness of the entire team at this hotel that was so impressive and made our stay such a pleasure. Every person we met during our 5 days in Norfolk - front desk, maintenance, room service, housekeeping, breakfast staff - was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Residence Inn. It’s our goal to provide service so memorable and our team here at the Residence Inn has hopefully done that for you. We are excited to see you again when your travels bring you back to Norfolk. Thank you, Audrinna... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

AC broken 2nd night, at 9 PM maintenance man told us to turn the system completely off and "wait a while before turning it back on" and maybe that will fix it; when AC came on it was so loud it could wake the dead; even though we didn't use refrigerator ice, the ice maker made ice several times during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at the Residence Inn. We hope while you were here with us you reported all issues so we can ensure these are isolated incidents that will not impact any future stays. We appreciate your review and we will be using it for... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel was clean, and well kept. Staff was very accommodating, and courteous. First time in Norfolk, and the staff was very helpful in giving suggestions on things to do. Will be staying here again on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here in Norfolk. There are many fun exciting things to see and do around downtown. We hope your travels bring you back to Norfolk soon. Sincerely, Audrinna H. Assistant General Manager More 

Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entire staff was always so helpful & pleasant. Always with a smile on their face. Could not have been more helpful. The room itself was like an oasis. I was expecting that much in a room. The ladies at the front desk were so lovely & knowledgeable. I was so pleasantly surprised that a FULL breakfast was part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Residence Inn. I will be sharing your review with my team. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Norfolk! Sincerely, Audrinna H. Assistant General Manager More 

Lewes, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been staying at this hotel for several years now on our annual trip to Norfolk to see Virginia International Tattoo. The hotel is just 2 blocks from The Scope, and within easy and quick walking distance to the McArthur Museum, McArthur Center, and the USS Wisconsin. This year, as always, our room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn. We are pleased you had a fun, comfortable stay. Our hotel is in a very convenient location to all fun amenities. We are very excited to see you next year for the Tattoo Festival as they celebrate their 100th anniversary. Sincerely, Audrinna H. Assistant... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to visit family. I have never stayed at a residence in before. Wow! What a great place We arrived at 3 am very tired and ready for bed We met Dorothy a very friendly upbeat courteous staff member at the front desk. She wasted no time getting us our keys and off to our room. The property is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are pleased we could make your trip to Norfolk so enjoyable for you and your family. We will be sharing your comments with our team and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Audrinna H. Assistant General Manger More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed in several Residence Inn's around the country, we had high expectations about the quality of our stay. Unfortunately, this property didn't measure up. The first room we were given had a strong odor of cat urine, and the front desk graciously and quickly changed us to another room. When we settled in for the evening however, we realized... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I want to apologize for your recent stay with us here at the Residence Inn. We have let the team know about the issues you encountered and will ensure they are resolved. I want to thank you for staying with us and would hope if your travels bring you back to Norfolk we can get... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
59 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We wanted a hotel within walking distance to the Chrysler Hall--this one is about 3 blocks. Parking garage across street is very convenient--no valet parking here. Parking fee included in your bill when front desk staff stamps your ticket and you have 24-hour access. Our room was very clean and tidy! Comfortable layout with full kitchen. Pretty quiet for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that our property was a convenient location for the recent concert you attended. With the many concerts that Chrysler Hall puts on, we hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Audrinna H. Assistant General Manager Residence Inn Downtown Norfolk More 

Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

From the start everything was great for this Marriott property, the front desk staff was outstanding and hotel staff was great....The location was perfect because everything was within walking distance and I love the hot breakfast every morning....When I am in Norfolk I will always stay at this location.... Mike T

Was this review helpful? Yes
Audrinna H, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to share your wonderful review . We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast that we provide. Cant wait for you to come back and stay with us again! Audrinna H. Assistant General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities