We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Norfolk hotels

Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Dennis D Newport News
  • Overview
  • Reviews (152)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    51
    9
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
30
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport News
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A business trip took me to Norfolk Virginia where my company set me up at this hotel. The hotel staff is terrific the rooms are clean and big. The area isn't the best but this was a working trip. Not the best place for a vacation. All in all I was very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Ephraim, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently spent 4 days and 3 nights at this hotel. Excellent and friendly staff. Everyone from the concierge to the maintenance staff greet you with a "hello", "good morning/afternoon/evening" or a "how are you?". The rooms are nice-sized with every modern day feature available, including a fully functional kitchenette complete with stove, oven, microwave, full sized fridge and dishwasher.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milngavie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. Found housekeeping could use some improvement or at least better checks after room was cleaned. We actually had to ask for toilet paper after being out for the day and into the evening. Trash was emptied but new bags were not put in also had to ask for dishwasher soap too. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do wish we would have known about your housekeeping issues while you were here. We have several new housekeepers with us this summer an I apologize we did not inspect your room as well as we should have. We will use your comments in our morning huddle meetings to train our entire team on... More

Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a very clean, contemporary themed hotel. It has nine floor levels of rooms with most of the usual comforts of an apartment. Each room is very spacious and has its own kitchenette. We were here for a wedding. Beware, there are very few fast food restaurants or Walgreens / CVS stores nearby. However, the USS Wisconsin Battleship &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are centrally located near many attractions, shopping and restaurants. If your travels bring you back to the Norfolk area we do hope you chose to stay with us. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the first time I have bothered writing a review for a hotel but I feel that other parents of small children should be aware of my concerns. I was expecting the usual Residence Inn quality but I was disappointed. When I checked in, the two guests in front of me were each complaining about the bugs in their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your most recent visit. We strive to ensure everyone enjoys their time in Norfolk and at the Residence Inn. During your time here we did have to close the pool for 3 hours in order to "shock" the pool. This happens on occasion when... More

Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this hotel. The rates are reasonable. It still has a new look and feel. The beds are usually comfortable, however, one night the bed I slept in was very uncomfortable. My back was actually hurting when I woke up. The other downside is the $18 a day parking garage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous comments. We strive to make everyone travels just a little bit better. We hope you enjoy your new home. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow, I was very impressed with the customer service this hotel had to offer. My family and I stayed here for 4 nights during a recent cross-country move. I called the front desk at 8:30am to see if they could store luggage until check-in time, and instead they were able to get us into a room. I was so grateful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. Your comments and suggestions tell us what we are doing right and how we can improve. We wish you the best on your new journey. Sincerely, Linda Markert, CHA More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly. We booked a 2 bedroom suite and it smelled of smoke. The desk offered us another room or have the one we had cleaned. We were only staying one night so chose the latter, dId not totally solve the problem. Breakfast area untidy, cereal all over the place. Expensive to park, but does offer free wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have had our parking challenges and will continue to work with the city to rectify the issues as quickly as possible. We do apologize this impacted your stay. Thank you for making us aware of the messy cereal station. We do strive to keep the breakfast area neat during the entire meal time. We... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been staying from Va beach to Chesapeake to Norfolk since January. I would have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.. Too bad it was short lived. The parking garage was across the street, no available parking on the bottom floors and the elevators were out of order. A couple of nights the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

You are correct the elevator was out of service in the city garage. The desk team should have suggested you load and unload your luggage from the front door. Since we do not operate the garage the city did not give us notice they were completing maintenance on the elevator. I apologize for this inconvenience. We have a rotating menu... More

Tampa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was in Norfolk for business and was fortunate enough to call this hotel home for a night-- wish it had been longer!!! This is a beautiful property with fantastic customer service and, most importantly, exemplary accommodations. I am very particular about my lodging since I travel weekly for business and prefer the most home-like (and CLEAN) experience possible and this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are always excited when our guests enjoy their stay and experience the downtown Norfolk area. We hope you have an opportunity to return to the area and come back to the Residence Inn Downtown by Marriott. Best Regards, Linda Markert, CHA More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Address: 227 West Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk #5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
150

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer