We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Newport News hotels

Country Inn & Suites Newport News South

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1069 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Newport News South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #13 of 37 hotels in Newport News
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Scott W Beijing, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (116)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    16
    10
    16
See reviews for
54
16
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I thought the hotel was pretty good for the price ( I paid a little over $50/night for a three night stay). However, there was a very strong smell in the room. I'm not sure if it was smoke (in a nonsmoking room) or chemicals used to clean, but it was really bothersome to my wife. Also, we returned the... More

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olympia Fields, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Please don't stay at country inn suites newport news va. Very dirty pillows had blood stains on them. Towels are very dengue rooms look like a motel 6.the staff was terrible the owner Stephen Barger was a very irate man he took the pillows and throwers them across the room

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear ladggh, We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We also apologize if your room did not meet your expectations. More

Matthews, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed at the County Inn and Suites after a day at Busch Gardens. we had a 5:55 am flight the next day so this location was perfect and so was the price. We didn't get to partake in the breakfast but our room was clean as well as the hotel. I loved the bed and pillows!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Lucy's Mom, I am thrilled to see that you and your daughter enjoyed our property so much while in the area to go to Busch Gardens! We are lucky to have such a great location, halfway between Virginia Beach and Williamsburg, directly off of Interstate 64, with a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. I am sorry that you were... More

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I choose this hotel because it was close to the facility where I was taking a two-week class. I arrived on a Sunday evening and was delighted by the front desk staff. My room was very clean and spacious. There were several basketball teams staying in the hotel so there was a lot of traffic and noise but the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Derese, Thank you so much for your recent visit to our property and thank you so much for your excellent review! We are glad we were able to provide the small touches and make this feel like home every day while you were with us. We understand the needs of our business travelers and we do all we can to... More

Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked through my job's corporate discount program in hopes of getting a great room for a lesser price. This hotel is adequate/average. The employees are very nice. The decor is more "homey" than "hotel-y" and appears to have been bought at yard sales. It's clean enough but I couldn't get over a weird mildewy smell in our room. Luckily,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Roslyn, It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we appreciate both your business and your review of our property! We are planning on beginning renovations in the next year, that should give us an updated look, while keeping that homey feeling. We are also constantly looking at options to further improve our breakfast, in hopes to improve... More

Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night as a pit stop on way to beach. Suite was spacious for a family of 4. Clean. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was good just be early in order to have choices. Room rate was very reasonable. Would stay again if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Noahlukasmom, Thank you so much for your business and your great review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay, that our staff were helpful, that our rooms were spacious and clean, and that our breakfast was good. We do all we can to provide the best possible stay for each and every guest, and I am glad... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight on our way to a business conference. The first problem was when we pulled into the parking lot. There was a whole group of kids in the parking lot in front of the check-in area looting. Later we went to the pool, which was very small, and all the kids had moved there. They were loud and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Mrs. Parsons, I am very sorry about the issues you had during your recent visit with us. We have several basketball teams staying at the hotel, and during their off time, they frequently hang out by the pool or outside. I will have housekeeping and maintenance make sure all the carpets are cleaned this week, and the other issues you... More

Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel as it was close to an event that we had to attend the next day. We checked in late on Friday night and the clerk at the front desk was very pleasant. WE were upgrades to a Queen Suite and NC. Nice too. First No parking as a large truck with an even larger trailer was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Bentley's Mom, I am sorry that you were not happy with your recent visit with us, largely due to a few teams staying with us. July is one of our busiest months, and we do get quite busy at times. I am sorry for this inconvenience. If there are any specific issues you would like to discuss, I invite... More

Port Orange, FL.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in Newport News and were faced with few choices since there was a concert at the Coliseum. We booked a room here and were satisfied with the room. However, we were not satisfied with the breakfast provided the next morning. There was very little to choose from and no type of eggs available. Terrible has browns didn't help.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, I am glad that you were satisfied with your room, but I am sorry you were not satisfied with our breakfast. We normally have eggs most mornings, I do not know why we did not have them that morning. I am very sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast options, and please know I will use... More

Burgas, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is virtually the same as any other Country Inn we stayed at. Its a chain, so you get similar rooms, similar food etc etc. I always feel at a Country Inn, that there is a bit more focus on the customer needs, than that found at a Choice Hotel/Comfort Inn. For instance the breakfast here includes cooked items... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Chris, Thank you so much for your business this past fall. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, but are sorry that we didn't do anything to stand out specifically. We have revamped our breakfast to offer a better breakfast for each guest, and we have spent a lot of energy training all of our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Inn & Suites Newport News South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Newport News South

Address: 1069 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Newport News South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Carlson, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Newport News South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South Hotel Newport News
Country Inn And Suites Newport News South
Country Inn Newport News
Newport News Country Inn

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renovated in 2010, the smoke and pet free, 64 rooms and suites provide travelers with comfortable, affordable and value rich lodging in Hampton Roads. All beds feature Serta Perfect Sleeper matresses, rooms have individually controlled thermostats, and hypoallergenic linens to provide a comfortable nights rest. As a mid scale, limited service hotel and located in the heart of Hampton Roads, the Hotel assures guests that room and suite rates remain competitive. With all of the standard amenities of the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson brand guests appreciate the features and services they come to expect such as an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, 24 hour coffee and tea, freshly baked cookies, and complimentary hot breakfast and WiFi. Our Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service with at least 24 hour advance shuttle reservations. We look forward to hosting your future stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer