We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites Newport News South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1069 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    53
    19
    16
    21
See reviews for
93
18
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As I approached the hotel the sounds of construction greeted me. The tile at the entrance was being replaced and a sign indicating not to step on the tile (no where else to step.) A very energetic gentleman greeted me immediately. He found my room and told me he'd make my keys as soon as someone brought back the machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

n2gems, I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the renovation, that there were issues with the key machine and with the shuttle service. We have removed the shuttle service from our website and have discontinued it. I realize this is why you booked our hotel, and I am deeply sorry for this. Regarding the renovations, the major renovations... More 

Frankfort, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There just after Easter and the facility was remodeling, but when the remodeling becomes an inconvenience, it is more than an annoyance. No key cards, the reader was being replaced which they did tell us up front. Enter the side door, no biggie, phones in room didn;t work, tried to follow directions to repair per desk personnel - still never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

KTJMitchell, On behalf of the entire staff and management team here at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Newport News South, I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced during your visit with us. As I have told others, the lobby renovations are completed, and while we will be having other renovations going on throughout the year, but those... More 

Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying at another hotel down the street and had to change hotel to this one, and affordable price to beat. Very clean and quiet, our microwave broke and or air conditioner didn't work but once I reported, it was fix just like that... I love hotel...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Moni852015, Thank you for choosing our hotel when your other hotel didn't work out. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you're in the area! Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Stephens City, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here before and I will stay here again the next time I visit. It's clean and the king room we stayed in had a door separating the bedroom from the living room area. All rooms should have this. It had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Breakfast had cereal, waffles, toast, bagels, fruit, juice, coffee, and many more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Shortcake19, Thank you much for your repeated business and your excellent review of our property. We do all we can to provide the best possible experience for each and every guest, and I am glad to see that we are keeping up our service. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the area! Sincerely, Stephen... More 

Newnan, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at many Country Inn and Suites because they have excellent accommodations and polite employees. The room was booked on Hotels.com for the location in Newport News, VA. Prior to arrival, we called to let them know we would be arriving late. The person that answered the phone was rude. At arrival, the front door was blocked with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Carol, I would like to apologize for the problems we had during your stay, and assure you that your input and your business is greatly appreciated. Our key machine broke the day you arrived, and we were unable to make keys for guests. We had a new machine overnighted to us and now have that problem rectified. The lobby renovations... More 

Opelika, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 3rd time staying in a hotel in the Hampton area. We would not return to the other two hotels, and hoped this one would be better. It was! No problems with our room. They were doing renovations to the foyer and breakfast area, but it wasn't noisy. They served breakfast in the meeting room, and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

12ALTraveler12, Thank you very much for giving us a chance, and thank you for your excellent review of our property! We do all we can to provide the best possible experience for each and every guest, and we are glad to see that we have succeeded yet again! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in... More 

Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I contacted this hotel in January to reserve a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding in April. We received a contract via email, signed and returned to the same email address, and I thought we were fine, until the phone started ringing. When our guests tried to make reservations, our block could not be found. The manager finally emailed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

VTHokie, I am sorry about any misunderstandings we had regarding this block. Unfortunately, when we send out contracts out, if we don't receive a signed copy back, we don't make the group block. I will reevaluate our policies, and begin recontacting guests back to verify whether they still need the block or not, I am very sorry that this was... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Husband and I , along with 3 friends, reserved 2 rooms for 3 nights at this hotel in Newport News. When we first arrived at the hotel, there was construction going on downstairs. It was an awful sight for those entering to stay at the hotel. I feel as if there should have been some type of warning before... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newport News South, responded to this review

Meshe, I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay with us. We are undergoing some renovations in our lobby area, which should be done in the next week. Please feel free to call me at the hotel directly so we can discuss your problems, and so we can have the opportunity to rectify the situation. Sincerely, Stephen... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question