We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1069 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23602
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    19
    17
    22
See reviews for
97
18
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two days and enjoyed each day/night very much. My room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff and management take much pride in what they do and will do everything in their power to make your stay comfortable. From needing directions and more they were helpful in every way. The breakfast was very good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA, responded to this review

Steve, Thank you much for your review of our property and your business. On behalf of our entire staff and management team, I hope to see you again the next time you're in the area! Thanks again! Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is a complete dump and not worth the $106.00, $115.00 after taxes they charge for suites. Stated at this location during Boo Williams basketball tournament and it was a total ripoff! AC didn't work!! Staff told me that they would bring fans to room after we called and told them AC didn't work... Never bought fans up! Went down... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA, responded to this review

Shamekah, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of your stay with us. I will look into the items you mentioned and make sure they are addressed and corrected. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly. Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

C I & S in Newport News, Va. is simply the best!!!!!! From top to bottom. Let's start at the top with the Hotel Mgr. Steve, he is "OMG" when it comes to satisfying our group. We ask & if he can he will deliver. The front desk staff, Jeanne, Marlon ,Stephanie, Ruth and others were outstanding and came through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA, responded to this review

Jimmy, It was an absolute pleasure having you and your friends as our guests for the 6th year this year! You guys are always amazing, and are always welcome! Myself and our entire staff have enjoyed making friends with you all over the last 6 years, and look forward to having you back next year! Thanks again Stephen Barger General... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As I approached the hotel the sounds of construction greeted me. The tile at the entrance was being replaced and a sign indicating not to step on the tile (no where else to step.) A very energetic gentleman greeted me immediately. He found my room and told me he'd make my keys as soon as someone brought back the machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA, responded to this review

n2gems, I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the renovation, that there were issues with the key machine and with the shuttle service. We have removed the shuttle service from our website and have discontinued it. I realize this is why you booked our hotel, and I am deeply sorry for this. Regarding the renovations, the major renovations... More 

Frankfort, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There just after Easter and the facility was remodeling, but when the remodeling becomes an inconvenience, it is more than an annoyance. No key cards, the reader was being replaced which they did tell us up front. Enter the side door, no biggie, phones in room didn;t work, tried to follow directions to repair per desk personnel - still never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA, responded to this review

KTJMitchell, On behalf of the entire staff and management team here at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Newport News South, I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced during your visit with us. As I have told others, the lobby renovations are completed, and while we will be having other renovations going on throughout the year, but those... More 

Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I was staying at another hotel down the street and had to change hotel to this one, and affordable price to beat. Very clean and quiet, our microwave broke and or air conditioner didn't work but once I reported, it was fix just like that... I love hotel...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA, responded to this review

Dear Moni852015, Thank you for choosing our hotel when your other hotel didn't work out. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you're in the area! Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities