We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1069 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23602
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    58
    27
    19
    26
See reviews for
112
20
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the misfortune of arriving at the hotel late - 3am- due to my travel arrangements. I notified the hotel of my late arrival. The room I received was dark and did not smell fresh. When I walked into the room,the first thing I noticed was the bedding on one of the queen beds looked as if someone had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

We apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay in regards to the condition of your room. The Country Inns & Suites and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any pest claim is fully investigated. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us at it has enabled us to take corrective... More 

New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was amazing for the one day I stayed here. The customer service was great as well as the room. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in town for a day or two, the location was great and only 30 minutes away from VA Beach. They had a nice workout room and indoor pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our check in process took about 1 hour. The first room we got the AC and fridge didn't work and the room smelled like mildew Rm#206. The second time around the bedroom carpet was soaked Rm#306. And finally the last room(118) we had to finally settle for because it was the last room, after settling in the front office lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the issues you encountered with the rooms you were provided and additionally for the service you were provided by the staff. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. More 

Maryland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a last minute trip last weekend.. We arrived in the evening on 7-31-15. upon checking in we were given room #102. upon entering the room i quickly discovered there was a significant ANT problem. Brandy was awesome! she moved us to rm#319.. after moving to the new room we had to call for service because our toilet didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, I apologize for the problems you had while staying with us. As we discussed on the phone yesterday, this situation has been taken care of. I assure you that we are doing all we can to prevent similar situations from reoccurring, and as you notice from our other reviews, this is not at all typical of our service.... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me just say that I am not a hard person to please when it comes to hotels. I just expect cleanliness and good customer service. I don't need to be pampered or anything, I just expect hotels to be free of unsanitary conditions. We checked in on Sunday, August1st. I always check rooms before our family goes in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Mrs. Maryland, I am very sorry about the ant situation in your room. We have called our exterminator and they have treated the room, and preventatively treated the entire hotel to ensure this does not continue to occur. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me at the hotel directly. Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were nice when they got cleaned, breakfast OK, I don't care for canned fruit. Would like english muffins. And a trash can in a convenient place in the lobby. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Price was good, we were on a group rate, but you had to work to get housekeeping to clean your room. One day our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Large Red, Thank you much for your business and your recent review of our property. I am very sorry that you had such a problem with housekeeping, we have made major changes in the last few days with housekeeping, and assure you that we are making sure this does not repeat. If you would like to discuss this in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#11 of 40 in Newport News
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#2 of 40 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay