We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Newport News

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
943 J. Clyde Morris Blvd., Newport News, VA 23601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newport News
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Newport News
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
16
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stay at lots of IHG group hotels especially Holiday Inn. I thought this one was below par. It is an overall score reflective of the entire stay and not a single major issue For $159.00 and at Platinum elite status I felt I was in a low end hotel priced around $50. Lack of parking, unprofessional welcome at lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear academydjs11 Thank you for you valuable feedback. Your experience is not who we are and everything you mentioned will be addressed immediately. We sincerely apologize. Thank you for being a platinum member and your continued loyalty to IHG. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this matter further. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great stay here! Staff was extremely friendly! I didn't check in up 5:30 a.m. because I had to drop off a deploying soldier at the airport. Staff was so understanding and gave me a late check out at 2:00, which was highly appreciated! The roommates and hotel was extremely clean and up to date! The king size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Emily G, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're so happy to hear how accommodating our staff was during your stay in home. We look forward to seeing you in our home when your travels return you to Newport News. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is quiet, clean, comfortable, and peaceful. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The pool is well-kept, and the common areas were also very nice. I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. I would come back anytime!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear peacefulkelly, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We strive to give each and every guest a memorable stay. We're glad you got to experience that. We look forward to seeing you when your travels return you to Newport News. More 

Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Our family of four had a perfectly fine overnight stay here. We neither needed nor expected much service, but the staff members we encountered were professionally friendly and efficient. The room was clean and in good repair and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The only negative at all for us was that we're all fairly tall with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear FromIowa, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay in our home. We look forward to seeing you when you return to Newport News More 

Toluca
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I can't think of anything to say about this place really. It was exactly what I expected, neither amazing nor terrible. Clean, quiet, I slept great. Totally fine hotel. Checking back in my notes that I make when I travel all I wrote for this place was "its fine". So there you go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear paxmaac, Thank you for valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about our home. We look forward to seeing you when your travels return you to Newport News. More 

United States
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Starting with a positive, the service can be very friendly and helpful WHEN YOU CAN FIND THEM. Often they are not at the desk, especially during evening and night hours. The restaurant has changed and is really worthless. The restaurant completely misses the boat on room service - no menus in the rooms, does not answer the phone because "it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Filipendulous, We appreciate your feedback. We strive to make each guest stay with us a wonderful experience and a joyous memory. We're very disappointed that we failed to do that with your stay. We will address every concern that you mention in your review. Please feel free to contact me about this as I would love to discuss this... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

No problems with Holiday Inn here .... i got an upgrade to an enormous suite (which was nice) ... Gym and Pool not 24hr asccess (which would have been nice) and maybe the hotel look at this in the future ... No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Stuart D, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will definitely look into having our gym/pool 24 hr access. We happy to hear you enjoyed the upgrade to the suite. It's just one of our ways we recognize our Platinum members. We look forward to having you in our home when your travels return you to Newport News More 

Frederick, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

When walking into this hotel, was hit with a smell of mold or some other stench. Now I am a housekeeping supervisor in MD so I couldn't help but to look around and see what I could find. Dirty microwave, stains on BR counter, mold on shower curtain. Changed rooms because needed handicapped room and this room was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Launda B. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for lack of attention to detail you experienced. These are the comments we appreciate to let us know our focus as drifted away from the small things. We will definitely address these issues. We thank you once again and look forward to seeing you in our home when your... More 

Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This hotel is clean, well run, and in a good location. My biggest problem is that I missed the turnoff into the hotel while using GPS. While coming to the hotel on US 17 (J Clyde Morris Blvd) I saw the sign for the Quality Inn. Because it came first I thought there was a second turn for the Holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear William B., Thank you for valuable feedback. We apologize for the confusion with our parking lot entrance. We understand how this can be a confusing entrance. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hotel as we strive to have an excellent hotel. We look forward to seeing you in our home when your travels bring you back to... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in the beginning of November on a weekend trip for a friend's wedding. Everything was beautiful and the hotel was very nice. Our only problem was that we couldn't understand why the restaurant didn't get more business except for breakfast. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Jake the chef and Myam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David J, Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Samantha F., Thank you for your valuable feedback. You are correct our restaurant Mariners Pub and Grill is one of the most underrated restaurants in Newport News. We thank you for recognizing that. We look forward to seeing you in our home when your travels bring you to Newport News More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities