We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Hotel website
Hotel deals
11708 Jefferson Ave, Newport News, VA 23606
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    11
    6
    4
    17
See reviews for
12
7
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
See the most recent reviews
Elkridge, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel barely qualifies as a place to stay. The rooms are filthy when you check in. The carpets are dirty and are sticky. There are crumbs on the plates, cabinets, and throughout the kitchenette. The fluent it is in need on cleaning. There is a draft from the exterior door. The parking lot is loud and the area does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I apologize that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of our hotel. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review our cleaning standards and procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience and... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I would like to thank the staff at the Extended Stay America, 11708 Jefferson Avenue, Newport News, VA. My visit with the wonderful staff, at the outstanding hotel, was a terrific experience the staff must be complimented. Sometimes we shouldn't mention names, because for sure, we will leave someone out. However, Fenne, Juanita, and there were three other ladies, names... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

The staff and I appreciate your kind remarks. We’re happy to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently ended my six-month stay at the hotel to recommend it for any short-term visitors to the Hampton Roads area. The hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants along Jefferson Avenue. Moreover, I never encountered any major issues with fellow hotel guests or staff during my stay at the hotel considering I was a single female. I received a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Tamaria – I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our location and our staff. As well, I am happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at an affordable rate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel has a great rate for lengthy stays. I used my companies corporate lodging card (CLC) and it was easy. They only clean your room once a week, be prepared to clean off your bed and kitchen top if you want them to place new sheets on it or clean. If not they will leave a courteous note stating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Alex - Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location and our grab-and-go breakfast. Still, I apologize for the issues you encountered with your door seal and the noise coming from neighboring rooms. Your feedback will be very helpful as we continuously work to... More 

Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I do NOT advise any parents visiting Christopher Newport University to stay at this hotel. My Non-smoking room smell like cigarettes, items in room were broken (including the toilet) and staff was not service orientated. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at the Marriott that is advertised on the CNU website.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Carla - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize that you reserved a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke and items were in need a repair. Please know, our maintenance staff is looking into these issues and are working to correct them immediately. I am also coaching the entire team on how to provide better... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently moved from Northern New Jersey to Newport News, Va. Unfortunately, the house we would be moving in was still under renovation and, we were told, would not be ready for another week. We booked for a week at this place because it is convenient and an easy on and off from main road. At the end of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Floriam - Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a place to stay while you waited for renovations on your home to be completed. As well, it is great to read that you liked our hotel's location and the amenities we had to offer. Still, I do... More 

Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lucky for my wife and I we only stayed the night as the list of issues was long. The odor wasn't too strong that we didn't get use to it after an hour or so. Stains on the carpet and the wall, the night stand looked like it had sat out in the rain and the pressed wood composite was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. To uphold our company's high standards, we will make sure that the chairs in the rooms are being checked on a regular basis and I do apologize that it was not checked before your arrival. I do have rooms here that are renovated and... More 

Fairfax
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am very particular about the comfort of a bed and pillow. Not having a good bed or pillow can ruin the whole hotel experience for me, whether it costs a lot of a little. This place was a dump, cheap, definitely needs a coat (or two) of paint, but has the best bed and pillow I have had in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am happy to hear that you love our new bedding and pillows while staying with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the overall appearance of our building was a disappointment... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are not familiar with the area, this hotel is located in a rougher area of NPN. Sirens could be heard at all hours of the day. I didn't feel unsafe in my room though and the parking lot was well lit. It's an older property, which could use lots of maintenance. The room was clean and the A/C... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very old and rundown facility needing major renovation. Room was dirty with soiled carpet. Furniture is very old and heavily "scuffed". Fridge was working ok but with broken handles etc. Entrance to rooms is direct from outside. For many that is a safety concern. Long wait to check-in, and then I was send to a room belonging to another guest.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay