We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Newport News hotels

Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11708 Jefferson Ave, Newport News, VA 23606
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Newport News
  • Overview
  • Reviews (36)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    3
    14
See reviews for
10
5
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a 2-star Secret Hot Rate through Hotwire and was assigned this Extended Stay. I usually book a 3-star, but since it was just my son & I, I took the cheaper route. I booked a room for 1 adult and 1 child expecting to get 2 beds. The room has 1 queen bed, instead. This is a exterior... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our fully equipped kitchen useful during your stay; however, I am disappointed to hear of the cleanliness issues in your bathroom. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well,... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have been staying at the Extended Stay America-Oyster Point for a while. Tameka Johnson, who is the property manager is probably to most understanding, easy going and professional person I have met in a while. Anything I have needed or any problems I have had, she has dealt with it. Are there people here with questionable backgrounds? Yes. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Alison - The team and I truly appreciate your kind remarks regarding your experience at our hotel. We thank you for letting us know that our customer service has been top notch. I am always happy to hear that my team has gone above and beyond to make a guest feel comfortable and give them that "home away from home"... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

One word is sufficient to describe this place: disgusting. Scary would also work. As in make sure your door is locked and sellable items aren't visible in your car kind of scary. Obviously the parent company has forgotten about this location because this location is not representative of the usually reliable Extended Stay America brand. The photos of generic Extended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elkridge, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel barely qualifies as a place to stay. The rooms are filthy when you check in. The carpets are dirty and are sticky. There are crumbs on the plates, cabinets, and throughout the kitchenette. The fluent it is in need on cleaning. There is a draft from the exterior door. The parking lot is loud and the area does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I apologize that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of our hotel. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review our cleaning standards and procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience and... More

Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I would like to thank the staff at the Extended Stay America, 11708 Jefferson Avenue, Newport News, VA. My visit with the wonderful staff, at the outstanding hotel, was a terrific experience the staff must be complimented. Sometimes we shouldn't mention names, because for sure, we will leave someone out. However, Fenne, Juanita, and there were three other ladies, names... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

The staff and I appreciate your kind remarks. We’re happy to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently ended my six-month stay at the hotel to recommend it for any short-term visitors to the Hampton Roads area. The hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants along Jefferson Avenue. Moreover, I never encountered any major issues with fellow hotel guests or staff during my stay at the hotel considering I was a single female. I received a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Tamaria – I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our location and our staff. As well, I am happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at an affordable rate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the... More

Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel has a great rate for lengthy stays. I used my companies corporate lodging card (CLC) and it was easy. They only clean your room once a week, be prepared to clean off your bed and kitchen top if you want them to place new sheets on it or clean. If not they will leave a courteous note stating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Alex - Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location and our grab-and-go breakfast. Still, I apologize for the issues you encountered with your door seal and the noise coming from neighboring rooms. Your feedback will be very helpful as we continuously work to... More

Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I do NOT advise any parents visiting Christopher Newport University to stay at this hotel. My Non-smoking room smell like cigarettes, items in room were broken (including the toilet) and staff was not service orientated. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at the Marriott that is advertised on the CNU website.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Carla - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize that you reserved a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke and items were in need a repair. Please know, our maintenance staff is looking into these issues and are working to correct them immediately. I am also coaching the entire team on how to provide better... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently moved from Northern New Jersey to Newport News, Va. Unfortunately, the house we would be moving in was still under renovation and, we were told, would not be ready for another week. We booked for a week at this place because it is convenient and an easy on and off from main road. At the end of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Floriam - Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a place to stay while you waited for renovations on your home to be completed. As well, it is great to read that you liked our hotel's location and the amenities we had to offer. Still, I do... More

Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lucky for my wife and I we only stayed the night as the list of issues was long. The odor wasn't too strong that we didn't get use to it after an hour or so. Stains on the carpet and the wall, the night stand looked like it had sat out in the rain and the pressed wood composite was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. To uphold our company's high standards, we will make sure that the chairs in the rooms are being checked on a regular basis and I do apologize that it was not checked before your arrival. I do have rooms here that are renovated and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Address: 11708 Jefferson Ave, Newport News, VA 23606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Newport News
Extended Stayamerica Newport News
Newport News Extended Stay

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
120

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer