We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Newport News hotels

Quality Inn Newport News

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   945 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn Newport News
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Newport News to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
A recent review
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Springville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This was a mess. The rooms were small, no where to hang any clothing and the bed was one of the worst I've ever slept in....and my partner and I are Elite Platinum members with Choice Privileges. We asked for a king size bed in a handicap room when we booked through the 1-800 number.When we arrived and went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

CountryBear, I am very sorry about the problems you had during your visit with us. Regarding the $0.24, our system was charging the incorrect amount for tax, and it was an automatic correction due to this. I agree, the staff should have just not worried about it, and I am very sorry about this. If you would like to discuss... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Front desk personnel need more training. I was asked to sign a document that had the rate left blank and they wanted me to initial the rate which was blank. I refused. They could not get a copy to print with the rate showing. They went ahead and gave me the room and stated she would call me once she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dwight, We appreciate your review, and your business. I am sorry to hear that the front desk staff was confused regarding the rate. Reservations made through online travel agents such as Expedia, Hotels.com, etc, don't show a rate on the registration card. You pay the online travel agent, and they pay us. You are making no agreement to pay us... More

Middlesex, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is not only awful but doesn't even deserve 1 star. What I thought was going to be a 7 hour trip, turned into 9 1/2 hours. When I arrived at the hotel, I was already late. So we checked in around 4:30 maybe a little later, and didn't bother to go to our room. When we returned around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Change4life, I am sorry about the problems you had during your visit. As you can see from our other reviews, these issues are not at all typical of our property. If you would like to give me a call at the hotel directly, we can discuss the issues in more detail, and I can try to rectify the situation. Sincerely,... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and the overall rating, but it sure didn't seem like the rating and reviews were written about the hotel we stayed in at all. I was impressed, too, that the management seemed to take the time to respond to reviewer comments, but basing my review completely on my stay, I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Sara, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to par. I have checked the room you were in, and there is no issue with the flooring in that room. It appears the foam they put down to level the floor, wasn't level in that specific room, leaving the uneven space you had mentioned. Regarding... More

Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is clean. But, it is also very basic. The rooms are old and small, but they have been renovated. The rooms are dark, with inadequate internal lighting, and small windows for natural light. There isn't even a place to hang your clothes. Seriously, there is no closet in the room. Also, the breakfast is not well attended, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Dear H2O Guy, Thank you much for your review of our property, and your business this past June. In the last year we have made improvements to our breakfast, and usually have a breakfast host on staff during breakfast hours. We have gotten over the door hangers to hang clothes on, available by request from the front desk, while we... More

Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My son left his favorite stuffed animal at the hotel following our stay. The very kind gentleman (Jay) is mailing it back to us. We are so grateful for his kindness and understanding! We will be sure to use this hotel every time we visit New Port News (which is frequently to attend swim meets). THANK YOU!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

I am thrilled to see that our staff and management have again gone above and beyond for our guests. We pride ourselves in providing top not guest service, and I am glad we have upheld our standard of excellence and quality. I hope to get to know you upon future visits, and look forward to having you as our guests... More

Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A friend was getting married and we all stayed here 2 weeks ago. The hotel was pretty & clean, the staff were amazing. Internet worked great, and they had flat screen TVs in all the rooms - I wasn't expecting any of this because it is an older hotel. But you can not beat the place when it comes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your business, and your wonderful review. We value each and every one of our guests, and we do our best to go above and beyond to provide the best possible service. I am thrilled to see that we have succeeded, yet again! Congratulations to your friend on getting married, and I hope to see you... More

Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was at this Inn for four days to study, the Inn was quiet, so clean, the employees were respectful and helpful. There is a hotel nearby which I stayed at in the past, but I would choose this Inn again instead. There isn't a frilly lobby, like the one around the corner, but the coffee was hot the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your business and your wonderful review. We appreciate hearing how our guests stays were, and we are pleased that we have continued our long tradition of guest service and excellence! We go out of our way to ensure each and every guest has the best experience possible. I look forward to having you as our... More

Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

From NC, I called the Quality Inn in Newport News to book a room. My daughter recommended the hotel because they had stayed there numerous times when visiting their son at Christopher Newport University. She said she had never met a nicer staff at any hotel she had stayed at. When I called, I spoke with Regina. She went out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Cathy, Thank you so much for your great review of our property! We pride ourselves in offering clean, comfortable guest rooms, with that family touch that you spoke of. I look forward to us all getting to know you over the next 4 years! If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please do... More

California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Week long stay when in the area to visit family. Options are rather limited in the immediate vicinity. Nicer full service hotels are across the water in Norfolk but that is a bit of a hike away. So, that's the backdrop for this review. The plus. Room was clean and comfortable. Climate control works well, both in heating and cooling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StephenBarger, Manager at Quality Inn Newport News, responded to this review

Thank you for your business, and your candid and fair review of our property. We are an older hotel, and we don't have a lot of frills. But we are proud to offer clean, comfortable rooms with an inviting, professional staff, and we do all we can to make each guests stay as good as possible. As you can see... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn Newport News? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newport News

Address: 945 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Newport News 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Newport News reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Newport News/j Clyde Morris Hotel Newport News
Super 8 Newport News
Newport News Super Eight
Newport News Super 8

30 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay