We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Sand

102 White Sand Beach/Haad Sai Khao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Sand
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rock Sand
Rock Sand
Rock Sand
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Group size 26; purpose wedding; financial status of group varied; Rock Sand ideal. Ideal because there was a significant range in room price (and , yes, quality) Ours was top of that range and was excellent. Ideal because whenever you went to the delightful restaurant area it was simple and inevitable that another member of the group would be there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there for the eight time (?) and found that the room standard vary a lot, some of the cheapest are quite bad and the more expensive are really good. You get what you pay for. Nowdays we always book one of the rooms 1-3 that are of a good standard with AC, fridge, safe, toilet and reasonably warm water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayong Province, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe because of new staff and the owners got tired, this beautiful resort getting worse. Luxurious room 24000B/night. No hut water in the shower. No sound in the television. The whole place is dirty. Old extra beds in the corridor. The staff uninterested and nonchalant. They mix up the orders, forget orders but still put it on the bill

Was this review helpful? Yes
RockSandKohChang, Owner at Rock Sand, responded to this review

New staff? Most of the staff is there at least three years and are always interested and might seem nonchalant. Tired owners? No. No hot water? No one has complained about that since October, broken heater, or complained about a tv without sound. Dirty? No way! Yes, NEW extra beds in one corridor. The only place to keep them dry... More 

Lake of Geneva
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there 1 week and it was the best place we found on our Thailand trip. The prices are correct. We had a wonderful contact with the Dutch owner. The staff was so kind and helpful and we spent a wonderful time in their resort. We had a very nice room with balcony and view on the sea with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Located on a rock that juts into the sea, you can step off either side onto White Sand Beach. The restaurant overhangs the water and the food is good. Room 4 is the cheapest and it's pretty horrible. The bed is waist high and seemingly made of stone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Our room/balcony was located towards the sea. This hotel has a charming style with its location straight at the beach and its special architecture. The service was good. The breakfast, that was included in the price, was just okay. If you come frome Europe, you tend to expect more. This is why we never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We come from Taiwan, me and my Family (7 persons, 4 from Taiwan 3 from france) stayed there for a almost a week, we loved the place, the view, the cleanliness, the breakfast, the staff. The Hotel is located 10 mins walk from the entrance to white sand beach(next to seven eleven) so when you first check-in you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed there for just one night and it was too long. They have a real problem with mould in the tiny cubicles that they call double rooms. Marie - the Manager - is the rudest person I have ever met. We orderd two cocktails around 21.45, they made us pay right away and then she just switched off all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RockSandKohChang, Owner at Rock Sand, responded to this review

You checked the room, the cheapest one, beforehand and afterwards you complain about the size? We can't find the mould. Yes, we mostly close the bar at 22.00 hrs to give our hotelguests the quiet we promise. We don't know of anyone called Marie and what I heard from the staff you started to shout at them and one of... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

When we arrived our room was booked by other guest . I showed them confirmation email . which is they doesn't care . They blamed it was my fault. finally we got the room which is downgrade the staff tried to charge me the same price.this is the way your treat your guest

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RockSandKohChang, Owner at Rock Sand, responded to this review

In our emails we only confirm a booking if the booking is paid beforehand. On request we tell if a room is available and always add 'you have to pay in advance to confirm the booking'. Payment can be done by credit card or by Thai-bank. More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were going to stay in the resort next door but having looked at the rooms at independant bo the rooms in rock sand were far superior, cleaner and all for 100b more. We paid 700b for a fan room including a breakfast of tea, toast, eggs, fruit and fruit juice. The staff are friendly and speak good English. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rock Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Sand

Address: 102 White Sand Beach/Haad Sai Khao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rock Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay