We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Divine Ganga Cottage

Certificate of Excellence
Vill. Post. Tapovan | Laxman Jhula, Rishikesh 249192, India
Hotel amenities
Divine Ganga Cottage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 103 Rishikesh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
RachitJ1983 Delhi, Delhi, India
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    213
    150
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
114
88
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (416)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my wife visited Rishikesh in the month of May for couple of weeks. Divine Ganga Cottage is a small hotel but I would say one of the best hotels as per the location is concerned. Staff is very friendly, prompt service and very homely feeling. Chef is also very friendly and food is really awesome. Easy to locate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The place is not at all honest when telling about the hotel. The hotel is situated inside a narrow lane. The rooms given were dirty and small. The view from the room was not at all what was told to us. They only have ganga view from some of the top rooms. Above all the behaviour of the staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my friend stayed here in standard ac room. The room was small but neat and clean. Bathroom was also nice. Everything was proper. Service was very good. Chef was very friendly and had served us very tasty food. Roof top restaurant is awesome. Breakfast was nice. Masala tea and pakoda was awesome. Try mushroom curry, dal fry its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros:food, behaviour of staff Cons: Too many to list Approach road: as wide as my suv Rooms: lots of insects,both dead and alive Power back up: extremely poor Dirty linen Their service is good, and that is the only good thing Only a couple of the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor are good This place is right for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry you did not have a pleasing experience with us. Unfortunately the approach road is part of government property and thus it is very difficult for us to do anything about it. Every year we fix the potholes at our expense and we have also put our personal lighting to help guide the guests. We have... More 

SIRSA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a life saving for me, specially The Manager (Mam Gautame) she is like the awesome Manager I have ever been come acrossed, the rest of the staff is decent enough. Pandey Ji is quite a nice guy he coordinates well with the staff, only negative part is the road which leads to Divine Ganga Cottage if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind words. We take pride in our brilliant staff and fabulous manager Gautami. She goes the extra mile to make sure all guests are looked after well. We truely appreciate you taking the time out to send a review. thank you Seema Nanda More 

Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cottage in Rishikesh is approachable easily and directions are a plenty in the city. The atmosphere is peaceful and serene. The rooms were clean, ACs were working well. Room service was quick. Toilets were clean. The hotel has a restaurant with an excellent view of the holy Ganges.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind words. We take pride in our brilliant staff and fabulous manager Gautami. She goes the extra mile to make sure all guests are looked after well. I will definately complement the chef as well. thank you Seema Nanda More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the standard room for two nights. The room was average, certainly not worth what I paid for it. The room wasn't very clean and there was a smell from the drain in the toilet. Wifi strength was very poor in the room. The ac may as well have not been there, it didn't have any affect, just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind words. We take pride in our brilliant staff and fabulous manager Gautami. She goes the extra mile to make sure all guests are looked after well. Unfortunately the approach road is something we cannot change as its the governments property. We do however try to fix up the potholes and remove... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice lodge, please don't call it a hotel or resort... There was no power during night... Rooms were too small... Bathroom was average clean... Food was below average...And the best... You will have to drive through a narrow and scary lane...

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are extremely sorry you had an unpleasant experience at DGC. Unfortunately Power cuts are very common in Rishikesh during the summer and when there is maximum influx of tourist. We have clearly mentioned that AC backup is not provided in our property. We have inverters and generators that support all lights and fans. We will definately look... More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

If ever we are led to a place, I was led here. Gautami and her staff are really a family and when you stay, if you are open, you are welcomed in immediately as I was. My room had the most beautiful view of the Ganga looking up-river and to the mountains, without all the town and buildings. Truly a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the warm hearted complements. I am so happy you enjoyed the positive aspects of our hotel and understood the shortcomings. We are hounored to have such guests stay at our hotel. Do visit us again thank you Seema Nanda More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Definitely a great place to stay. The reception, especially the manager Ms Gautami is super efficient, able to arrange pick-up cab, and full of helpful suggestions on things to check out in Rishikesh. This place, located slightly further away from the bustling town, which gets overwhelming at times, is a charming place with the drop-in yoga class. We even took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
divinegangacottage, Owner at Divine Ganga Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for the warm hearted complements. I am so happy you enjoyed the yoga and ayurvedic consultation. I will definitely let the chef know about your praises. Shashi has been with us for many years and tries his best to cook to the guests taste.. We are hounored to have such guests stay at our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay