We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bull's Retreat

Opp. Petrol Pump, Shivpuri Village | Rishikesh-Badrinath Road, Rishikesh 249192, India (Formerly Aaranyya by the Ganges)
Bull's Retreat
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great few nights at Bulls Retreat with good staff and great food. Easy to access the main road to get to other activities. Friendly Col Ahuja and other staff. Basketball, badminton, trampolines - practically, an adult's playground! A relaxing retreat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very simple place with rot iron furniture and itvmakes a squeaky sound which disturbed my sleep the whole night. The bathroom seat had a stain which was notified to the manager and removed immidiately. Far from Rishikesh and located on the main busy highway (not at all quiet during the day). Beyter have your own car to travel to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review - it's truly appreciated. Since you've given this review a week back, I presume you were at Bull's Retreat during the busiest season in Rishikesh - the long Good Friday weekend. Which is why it took you 45 minutes to get in - the highway is packed with rafters and holiday-goers. We had in... More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was travelling with my mom to Rishikesh. She wanted a religious trip while I wanted my adventure. It was a difficult act to balance. I has stayed at other properties of MHE before and I chose Bull's retreat thinking that I will get the same personal attention that i have got before. On the way to Bull's from Rishikesh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ghaziabad, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I choosed Bulls Retreat on 2 main points: 1. Easy accessibility , Parking facility availability - unlike many of rishikesh resorts it is bang on NH 58 and has parking facility for 5-6 cars. If the rush is more then you have alottery for Parking!!! 2. Homely Food - No complaints here. Food was very homely. only grudge for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We booked the rooms going with trip advisor's reviews and honestly the place is world class with fine decor yet very homely. With excellent support staff, grand buffet dinner in midst of nature, it's must visit for any tourist. Coupled with loads of adventure other than standard rafting, trills are unbounded. Don't forget to do a trek to view point,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We stayed at the Bulls retreat this Holi. I would rate this place as a must visit just because everything was so perfect. The staff was super friendly and went out of their way. The food at the camp was amazing and the stay was really comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

totally horrible experience . as per trip adviser review i booked this property for me & my family friends but when we reached at resort it took more than hours from rishikesh. no proper attention by staff at desk at check in time and nobody served a simple glass of water . rooms were average. bed sheets & pillow cover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Bull's Retreat is around 18 KM from Rishikesh - which is about a 30 minute drive (you can check out google maps as well). Our address on TripAdvisor clearly states " Shivpuri Village | Rishikesh-Badrinath Road". Our website clearly states we're 30 minutes drive from Rishikesh. You seem to have been misinformed about our location. Our water is... More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed with my family. It was my worst experience from the service and attitude perspective. Initially there were instances where the staff had a casual attitude to provide any service, waited long time to get the room cleaned or taking lot of time to deliver the order in restaurant Some experiences are mentioned below :- 1. Starting with the positives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this review

I thank you for your review and I'm happy to hear you had a great time rafting with us. I'd just like to point out that our address on Trip Advisor clearly states " Shivpuri Village | Rishikesh-Badrinath Road". Our website also clearly states that we're at a distance from Rishikesh. So I'm sorry if you seem to have got... More 

Jackson Hole, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Bulls Retreat for 4 nights. We were extremely pleased with the level of service and the quaintness of the retreat! We loved every moment of it and they have plenty of activities to engage in. The rafting was superb by Arjun and the manager Neeru was more than accommodating when we showed up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review Eric and happy to hear that you and your wife were well looked after. Please do visit us again when you're in this part of the world! More 

London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

What an amazing haven in the middle of beautiful forests and so close to the river that you have everything at your fingertips. Such a beautiful relaxing atmosphere that your stresses just melt away. Sitting by the fire at night with the hospitality of the team there was just wonderful. Looking up at the stars and feeling like you've been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Seema for the lovely review. We loved having you and the kids over! Please do visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question