We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Omni Homestead Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    679
    342
    184
    101
See reviews for
816
1,058
37
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2618)
  • Mar-May only
    (598)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (650)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (744)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (626)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Omni Homestead Resort
See the most recent reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent three nights here in June. I had heard so many wonderful things about this resort and I was very excited to spend time there. What a disappointment! First, the front area where you park to check in is a disaster!! There is no system in place and it is a free for all! Cars are all over the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback such as yours is a valuable training tool as our goal is to provide all our guests with a first-class, memorable experience and warm, Southern hospitality. It is good to know, however, that you... More 

Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent four days here in this charming and elegant resort and left far too soon. The service from our arrival to our departure was very good and staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. The pool was our favorite feature and the meal plan is a must when you stay. This was an unforgettable stay and well worth the trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the friendly service of our staff, the pool, and meal plan. We hope that you will be able to return soon for a longer visit and enjoy more of what our historic resort is all about. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Don't go here for anything but the golf, which is excellent. The rooms are at best adequate. Shower fluctuates two or three times a minute from scalding to freezing, and new towels are every third day unless you flag down a staffer. Air conditioning is so loud that it makes conversation difficult, but at least it masks the sounds from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

First, we are delighted that you enjoyed our spectacular setting, golf courses and staff, the Lobby Bar ambience and service, as well as your food in our new Jefferson’s Restaurant. We are sorry that you were disappointed in other aspects of your visit. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a first-class memorable experience and your comments... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband booked a 25th anniversary vacation for us at The Homestead for June 17th-20th. The drive to it was beautiful with some winding roads and mountain views that were spectacular. About the building: The Great Hall has lots of seating, however if your a non-smoker the smoke drifts out of the bar into the area near the bar, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We're thrilled that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion at our resort. It is good to know you enjoyed our food, the Southern hospitality of our staff, and so many of our amenities from the history tour to carriage riding, to hiking in our Cascades Gorge,... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Homestead 10 or more times over the past 20 years. This week's trip was the worst. The staff looks like they don't enjoy their jobs. No one says hello or offers to help. They wait until you ask. In general, they act pissed off all the time. The main dining room food was excellent and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for being so candid in your remarks. We apologize we did not meet your expectations or ours. It is our goal to provide all guests with a first-class memorable experience as well as Southern hospitality, and we obviously fell short in your case. We do hope you will give us another chance as we... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I read some of previous reviews about the Homestead and I must admit I was concerned. However, I was very pleased to see that the service & hotel (while under some construction) is the same. The pool: it is the best and the kids loved it. The hotel was full this past weekend and the staff at the pool were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences at The Homestead. It is always good to hear from our repeat guests as your opinions are very valuable to us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you are already looking forward to your next visit. We hope you will enjoy our new Jefferson’s Grill at that time as it... More 

Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is truly a gem. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff exceptional and the amenities fantastic. My 2 little guys (1 and 3) had a ball playing in the pools. The lazy river was relaxing and the heated pool a pleasant surprise. The mini golf was a hit. After dinner our sons ran on the lawn playing games, catching fireflies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review of our historic resort. You have touched on so many great things about The Homestead and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! More 

Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I, along with our two kids (4 & 9) visited. I believe there are two root issues with this place. The first is the employees don't believe in excellence - a certain morale and leadership issue. The second is that management has not yet decided who the customer is... by this I mean is it corporate /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for being so candid in your remarks. We pride ourselves on extending Southern hospitality to all of our guests, and we sincerely apologize you were disappointed in the service you experienced during your stay. Be assured your review is being shared with our management team for training purposes in order to make improvements. The... More 

key
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just returned from my 2nd stay at the Homestead Resort in the last 5 years. I have to report that this was a very disappointing stay. At one time I was told that this was a grand hotel that served the rich and famous. A staff member explained that they were use to exclusive guests but now they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your experience and for being so candid in your remarks. We are delighted you enjoyed the friendly service of our staff and that you took the time to mention several by name. Be assured your kind comments will be shared with them and they will be delighted you were pleased with their efforts... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in August 2012 and loved our room in the main part of the hotel. The other night was a week apart, and we were in the Garden Wing, which is "newer" but we did not like it as much as there wasn't a lot of charm. The donuts at breakfast in the morning are to die... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your stay with us last summer. We are excited to read that you had such a wonderful time you are making plans to be back in August. When you return, you will find a lot of new and exciting things. Our Allegheny Springs Family Pool is now complete with water slides, lazy river, and Kids... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Indoor pool(17)
  • Breakfast buffet(12)
  • Main dining room(12)
  • Afternoon tea(11)
  • Very nice(8)
  • Jefferson Pools(7)
  • Meal plan(7)
  • Casino restaurant(5)
  • Golf course(4)
  • Gorge hike(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

552 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (501)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (174)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (43)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question