We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Herndon - Dulles

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1021 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20171 (Formerly Extended Stay America Washington DC - Herndon)
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Herndon - Dulles
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    10
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
4
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the hotel was recently refurbished and the rooms felt clean and "new like" the rest of the hotel experience requires me to tell you to stay elsewhere. I was drawn to this property because of its best rate compared to 6 other Extended stays in the area. Well you get exactly what you pay for. First, when checking in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Could not leave the place quick enough. The location is quite good, close to Starbucks and a number of other decent restaurants nearby. However, the whole place is scary, run down, with awful service and would never consider staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Herndon - Dulles, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I appreciate your comments regarding our location; however, I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will be using your comments as a training tool to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

horrible at best! eary feeling, very uncomfortable sleep. I kept hearing someone banging on doors so loud that I thought it was my door. I requested a late check out due to to an disability. also the veterans service that my husband made reservations through includes late check out. however, I was woken up before normal check out time by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakeland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I had just spent the previous 3 months at an ESA in Newark, DE and was thrilled with the level of service there, which was why I chose them again. There are plenty of hotels, both short term and long term, which I required, in the general area. I chose convenience to my work over the area. I wish I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

So i stayed in this hotel back in December last year through Priceline. As soon as we got there, the room smelled like crap but I've been in worst places, at least the bed was comfortable. So i stayed there just for a few hours and then I went back home. A few hours later I realized my son forgot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

All please do not believe everything you read!! I Have been staying at this property off and on for the past 5yrs and I am dumbfounded by these reviews. First let me start by recognizing the Hotel Manager. I have seen a few come and go since I have been here and Lori is the best by far. She is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Herndon - Dulles, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really enjoy spending time with our guests. Halloween and Christmas were perfect opportunities to connect with everyone. Seeing the children enjoy snacks while wearing their costumes was so much fun. The highlight of our year was getting to see the kids faces when Santa came to visit them early one morning.... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

this was one of the worst hotel that i stayed in in my life. I have stayed at budget hotels but at this one there was absolutely nothing I felt like I was living in a jail cell. for over a hundred dollars I expected a lot more. please don't stay at this hotel! it's not all worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Herndon - Dulles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that you had such a poor stay with us due to issues with our staff and cleanliness. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that we try to ensure that each guest has a positive experience during their stay. I will work with... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First, I asked for a nonsmoking room and got a smoking room room a "no smoking" sign. The room smelled horrible, had bugs crawling around, and was dirty. To top it all off, the bed sheets had stains of what appeared to be dried fecal matter. In closing, if you value your health and sanity, stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I was on business in Herndon and normally stay at the Hampton but decided to compare other hotel properties in the area and chose Extended Stay. My misfortune was leaving behind some personal belongings and after contacting the hotel upon arriving back home they said there was nothing left in the room. It's unfortunate to know the staff obviously will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Pleasant stay and love the renovations! Eye candy at the desk was a plus! Jose and Eduardo were very helpful and pleasant. Great location to many things, shopping, food, movies, etc. Second stay at hotel and I look forward to my next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay