We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

#12 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    71
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
43
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To start with the good, this would be a great hotel for a budget-conscious family trip to DC. The hotel is a good value but discounts always come with drawbacks. The hotel is not too far from the new Silver Metro and a shuttle is offered. Very important: if you arrive via the Metro (instead of drive or via airport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review

Dear Janell H, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your hotel stay with us. I am glad to know you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your guest room and the hotel in general. Cleanliness and quality of our guest rooms... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for business. It is a very good value compared to other hotels. The room was very nice, great location, and the included hotel shuttle was very efficient for local destinations. Great breakfast too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was my second stay at this hotel, the first one being about four years ago and at that time I gave a 5 star review. This time, I came to the hotel and noticed that it certainly shows signs of wear and tear. When I got into the bathtub to take a shower, I noticed that there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review

Monica078, As a valuable customer to the Holiday Inn Brand hotels, we value your loyalty and your business. I’m disappointed to hear we didn't exceed your expectations. Your comments regarding your experience at the hotel are very concerning to me as this is totally unacceptable and certainly not typical. The issue you described in the shower will be addressed immediately... More 

NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Stayed here twice over the past 2 weeks. Front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast was tasty and hit the spot. The location is convenient to shopping and restaurants and not too far away from I-495. Look forward to future stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nyc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Had a snow cancelation so was stuck over night in Dulles. Lovely hotel with restaurants near by and safeway supermarket next door. Easy shuttle drop off. Front desk staff very nice and accommodating. Amazing breakfast included. I was glad my delay was tolerable by staying at the Holiday Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reston, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Perfect location for supermarkets and restaurants, plus a free shuttle to common areas and a very cooperative cheerful nice staff. The hotel is very clean, practical and wonderful for business and pleasure stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

we would stay here again in a heartbeat! The location is perfect with many restaurants and stores nearby. The room was clean and nice. Bedding and towels were clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable! Their toiletries are from Bath and Body Works, which was a treat! The front desk staff was extremely friendly, each and every time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Koronowo, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I stayed there with my brother for one night before visitig air and space museum near Dulles airport. We had two double beds room. Room was really spacious and looked quite modern. In our room we had a refrigerator, and microwave. Room was't dirty but also not especially clean. We had one really dirty towel and on my linen there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review

Dear Maciexx, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our room accommodations. On the other hand, allow me to apologize if there were any shortfalls that may have caused you inconvenience, particularly with our housekeeping services. I have taken... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Overall this was a good hotel, clean with nice staff, free wi-fi. Good location if you are staying overnight to catch a plane or visiting Air and Space Museum at the airport. One thing that spoiled my visit was a towel that had blood stains all over. I guess it was washed but you know how hard it is to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review

Michal M, As a valued customer of our hotel, I would like to thank you for your business during the Christmas holidays. It's great to know you did enjoy the friendly staff and service you received from my team members. You mentioned that you received a towel that had a dark red spot on it. This is not acceptable from... More 

Leesville, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The hotel was small but near a bunch of little shops in a cute little area. We were here for a funeral for two nights and it served its purpose. The only thing was that the breakfast was pretty dry and there were no waffles. The was a faint stale sent also when we entered the room, which was smaller... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review

Dear Anabelle L, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the breakfast selection. We will address this concern. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question