We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonewall Jackson Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
547 East Market Street, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Special Offer
Free Wine Tasting
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Rate this Hotel

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    35
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
182
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I learned the hard way and tried to get a room for graduation, which is coming up in six weeks. There were no rooms available here or anywhere else in Harrisonburg! Fortunately, Wayne, the owner possesses a wealth of information about other accommodations and he was able to recommend a nice place that actually has a room available. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Early reservations for weekends here are always a good idea. But if we are full, we have a wonderful and cooperative relationship with all the other Inns and B&B's here in the Valley. So, if we are full we help find an alternate place that suits your needs or the occasion. We are all connected by a Bed and Breakfasts... More 

Monroe VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed there after he had surgery in UVA hospital for a quiet rest. We book for one night but stayed for two. Lovely Inn, "A NIGHT'S DELIGHT ~ A BREAKFAST TO REMEMBER". Paul and Candy was very helpful and we had a great breakfast each morning. We would book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this very good summary of your "Stonewall Jackson Experience". You have captured the essence of our mission both in your tagline and your review. I am so happy that you found it restful and hope your healing speeds to full recovery. You must come back this summer for our rousing croquet tournament... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traveled to Harrisonburg for my son's audition at JMU. Our first time there. Chose the Stonewall Jackson Inn based on the great reviews. It did not disappoint. Beautiful inn, full of amazing antiques. We arrived late, but Wayne still graciously greeted us when I called and requested he come and talk to us. He recommended a great place to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

We sure enjoyed hosting this family and are grateful for their review which I am sure the reader will find helpful. Even tho we have a grand 135-year-old historic Stone&Shingle Victorian Cottage Style mansion, we were able to squeeze ensuite private bathrooms in the rooms by using showers rather than tubs. Because of space limitations, some showers are bigger than... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I really had to think before posting this review. This is the first time I’ve posted a review on TripAdvisor, but I feel compelled to share my experience with the Inn. I will first say, that the room I stayed in the; The Stonewall Jackson Suite, was pretty expensive given the area of Virginia. I was very surprised by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Kimberly is right! It was a weekend of calamity for everyone here in the hospitality business. Valentine's Weekend this all as jammed with loves looking for a nice romantic getaway. Enter, Winter's worst! Whew! This old house is still reeling from the double whammy surprise Artic Blast over the Valentine's Day weekend with record-breaking sub-zero temperatures. -40 wind chill with... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We went up to Harrisonburg for a weekend getaway to attend the Rock Town Festival and needed a place to stay. I am so glad we made the choice to stay here. The staff and accommodations were lovely. The property is beautiful and well kept. You can tell from the moment you arrive that the owner and everyone that works... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StonewallJacksonInn, Chatelaine at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know we achieved our goal of making you feel that we are your "home away from home"! We pride ourselves in doing just that from the moment you arrive with a warm hello, to a comfy, cozy room with a bed you just don't want to get up from. But then, you just... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We had a very nice couples weekend at the Stonewall Jackson Inn with friends celebrating a birthday. This was our first visit to Harrisonburg, VA from Charlotte which is a 5 hour drive (in case anyone is wondering, longer than we expected). The initial phone contact with the Innkeeper Paul was very pleasant. He was extremely helpful coordinating the winery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

One can tell that Tara takes her comprehensive experience seriously in writing her reviews and reserves her 5 star rating for rare instances. We are very happy with the 4 star review from her. The restaurants partners we recommended that are really and consistently rated as 5 stars were also not up to her exceptional 5 star criteria. Some folks... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn for 2 nights on a weekend getaway with friends. The purpose of the trip was around visiting the vineyards in the Shenandoah Valley. The innkeepers are very friendly, knowledgeable, responsive and accommodating (Paul and Candace). They even helped arrange a car for us so we could "safely" taste wine all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Visiting our farm/craft wineries is one of the most popular things to see and do, especially if you want to drive through some of the most beautiful and scenic pastoral an picturesque countryside in the Shenandoah Valley! Our Wine Trail and Massage Packages are our best sellers and always a hit with the guests. For romance, wine tasting and culinary... More 

Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We stayed here on our way to see our kids in Virginia. It just popped up on a Google search and we called. We loved the service, and the property was really beautiful. The only complaint I have is their pricing - we could have saved $30 by going through one of the online aggregators. It really chafes me when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Mercy me, you would have called that to our attention we would have corrected it at the time of the reservation! Are you sure it was the same night and the same room??? All of our rooms are priced differently and they may vary depending on the season, occupancy, and time of the reservation. Then to, we are like the... More 

Brielle, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night on our journey south to Florida. We stayed in the quaint Stonewall Jackson Suite. The suite was very nice and well appointed,including the very cozy shower/bath area. A lot of attention was made to every detail of decorating the Inn. It was just beautiful! Candy, Gary and Wayne were wonderful Inn hosts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this very kind and complimentary review. We know it takes time and motivation to do this, especially for these kind that are from very happy campers. I am sure we would be delighted to have a good and enjoyable time having a glass of wine with you, but we will need to do that privately as our... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn being joined by our 26 year old son for one of the nights. Our stay was delightful! Everyone at the inn was most helpful giving us tips for dinner and directions for day trips! The food was incredible as was the company! We would definately stay here again if we are anywhere close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StonewallJacksonInn, Chatelaine at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

How wonderful that you were able to visit your son, as well as enjoy some time alone for a getaway! I and the rest of the staff strive to make you feel most welcomed, as new-found friends and family, along with providing a delicious "Breakfast to Remember". We were happy to provide restaurant recommendations - so many to choose from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question