We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Hampton hotels

Candlewood Suites - Hampton

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites - Hampton to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
76%
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Loveyj333
  • Overview
  • Reviews (94)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
14
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this room for 2 out of town guess Aug 15-17, I used booking.com. My first impression was older hotel, checking in at the desk was a hassle and took a while I paid for the rooms with my atm debit card where the 2 clerks failed to tell me I'd be charged times 3 after the hotel payment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear Loveyj333 thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit. It is important to us that you have a great experience, from check in to check out. I will be working with the desk on how we can do better if this situation arises again. We hope that... More

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In town for son's BB tourney at Boo Williams. Hotel is in an office park about 5 minutes from Sportsplex and 5 minutes from main restaurants and mall. Some would consider this a negative but really a positive if you want to be a little bit away from the main drag in Hampton. Staff was exceptional. Only downside to this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear jvaj60 thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are thrilled to have provided you with such comfortable accommodations. I will pass your kind words on to the staff, and once again, thank you so much for your 5 star review! More

Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night on August 15 and we will not be staying again. We made the reservation on the 14th of August and requested a roll away for our daughter. We were told no problem and that it would be in our room upon check out. Upon check in the front desk person actually laughed when we asked about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear Raskew thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are very sorry that we were not able to meet your needs for the roll away bed. We truly appreciate your business and always do our best to ensure our guest experience is 100%. I will be working with the desk on how we... More

Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first time I've stayed at a Candlewood Suites property and we stayed for 2 nights. Location threw us off at first as we seemed to be driving in a residential/office area, but when we finally pulled up we found it to be very quaint and a nice change of pace from being in a hustle and bustle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear justpassinthrew, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is great to know you appreciate the Candlewood Cupboard. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had with our... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just found my paperwork while going through my books. The year we stayed there was 7-11-13 not 14. I had my 2 little dogs with us also. I couldn't find any thing to complain about. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were wonderful. Adam (Belt?), the Guest Service Representative was so nice and very personal. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Michele N, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. I will pass along your kind words to Adam. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Hampton. Once again thank you for your 5 star review. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This the first time we have stayed at a candlewood. Very friendly check in. Every thing was great until she told me there were no ice machines. We had driven all day and were tired and didn't want to go hunt ice. She told me to pop the switch to the icemaker and we would have ice in 30 minutes.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear Kathy M, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you had surrounding... More

Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed overnight for a funeral. Staff was very welcoming. Had booked for two nights, but decided to leave for CT. after the funeral to visit family. Call and cancelled the second night before arriving, that was taken care of without any problems. In a very quite area. The hotel is not near any thing, it is in what appears to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

johnlh, thank you for your review. We apologize for the condition of the chair in your room, we are working diligently to remove them from the rooms. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for a little over a week. My boyfriend and I were not impressed with the original hotel we had booked so we did some research and found Candlewood. We were just looking for a decent clean place to stay for a week while also being on a budget. When we walked in it was much nicer than we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear Kayley H thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are thrilled to have provided you with such comfortable accommodations. We have recently undergone a linen changeover and it includes new pillows. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Hampton. Once again, thank you so much for your 5... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A work colleague and I had another fine stay while traveling on business. Everything worked the way it was supposed to, reservations, the room, the room coffee maker. The desk area was well designed for working on a laptop and the chair comfortable. The staff were all professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

MikePsy thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had a great experience from booking to check-out. We hope to see you and your colleagues again. More

Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My sister and I came to Hampton, Va. for me to have proton radiation at the Hampton University Proton Institute. When I searched for a place to stay, we wanted handicap accessible, efficiency full kitchen rooms and a pet friendly place to stay for my 3-weeks of treatment. We arrived from South Carolina to be greeted by staff who were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Sarah H, thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you and your sister staying with us while here in Hampton, and we are thrilled to have provided you with such comfortable accommodations. I will pass your kind words on to the staff, and once again, thank you so much for your 5 star review! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hampton with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton #2 Business Hotel in Hampton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites - Hampton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer