We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
19
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We use Candlewood whenever we can when traveling for business. The layout is perfect; living and kitchen areas separate from the bedroom. The staffs are always accommodating, plenty of parking, full kitchen, snack bar, outdoor grilles....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Experience was awesome. The hotel staff were very courteous and willing to help with any query/assistance required.Free Wi-Fi, Weekly house keeping,movie library and Laundry facilities were of great help during my extended stay of a month here.Having stayed in their Dulles property in the past, my experience in both occasions has been that this is a brand you can trust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you hnaganathan for your recent visit at the Candlewood Suites Hampton and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and took advantage of our unique amenities. We look forward to providing accommodations the next time you are in the Hampton Roads area. Once again, thank you... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here a month, would have been longer had the rates not increased by almost $35. As in my previous review...I love the kitchenette and the free laundry. This location is situated in a nice and quiet area close to everything and the customer service was excellent! They remodeled and the house keeping keeps everything tidy...Some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you Sharmaine S for another awesome review. We appreciate the feedback, and will pass along your kind words to the staff. Once again, thank you for the review. More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the staff were very polite and friendly, we were extremely disappointed and felt like we were bamboozled. I made reservations December 25, 2014 for our trip 5/9/15 through 5/11/15, for a king one bedroom suite. Upon arrival in Hampton, VA, I phoned the hotel and asked about early check-in. I was advised that the guests had not checked out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Dear Tammy1065 thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I understand that you were under the impression that you booked a King Suite; however, we only have One Bedroom Suites and Studio Suites on our property. Every once in awhile during the high demand season certain types of rooms become unavailable, and we like... More 

Farmville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I stayed here for two nights while in town for business. The bed was super soft, the room was super clean and comfortable. Great layout in the room for getting work done too. Staff was friendly and helpful. Terrific stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you Justbenicetome for the five star review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience at our hotel. Our staff takes pride in providing great service, and thank you for the kind words we will be passing them along to our staff. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to provide accommodations again the next... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

My children and I stayed here for 10 days. The experience was good overall. The bed was uncomfortable, it was very springy. Pillows could have been newer. They offer free laundry machines which I loved and made good use of. They also offer food items for sale..way too pricey for me but a nice selection. The kitchen is why I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you Sharmaine S for the review. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and took advantage of the amenities we offer. Out staff takes pride in providing excellent service to make sure your stay is fantastic. Thank you for the review and thank you for staying with us. More 

Williamstown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Stayed here just a night - drove to VA from NJ to pick up my son's dog (my son works for military). I booked this hotel due to the pet allowed policy. Staff - awesome! Pet policy - awesome! Room - so much nicer than I expected for a no frills hotel. Rooms have kitchens with full refrigerators, free wi-fi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you Michele Z for the fantastic review. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and loved our rooms. Our staff takes pride in providing great service to each of our guests and their furry friends. We hope to provide accommodations again in the future. Once again thank you for the review. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

My husband and I along with our four year old daughter made an unscheduled and unexpected check-in at the Candlewood Suites in Hampton, Virginia. The young lady, whose name I failed to obtain was very polite, considerate, and provided excellent customer service. We were checked into our room quickly. I have stayed at other Candlewood Suites as well as many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you Charmin541 for the five star review. We are ecstatic you had a great experience at our property. Our entire staff takes pride in providing great customer service, and we are excited to hear you were able to experience it. We will be passing along your kind words to the staff. Thank you for staying us and thank you... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

What a great surprise! This hotel is off the main road (very peaceful, yet near everything in Hampton). The price for a one-bedroom suite is incredible. The hotel staff are all incredibly friendly and professional. Free access to washers and dryers. The laundry and gym are open 24 hours. The bed was very comfortable with PLENTY of pillows (when have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you John W for the five star review. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay from check-in to check-out. It's also great to hear you took advantage of our wonderful amenities during your stay. Thank you for the kind words, which will be passing along to our staff, and thank you for the five star review. More 

Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Check-in was a breeze, the rooms are very spacious and clean, due to the weather; we didn't go to the pool which is on the roof, which is neat, the fitness room has vast options of exercise equipment. I would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review

Thank you elmolover81 for the five star review. We are happy you had a great experience from check-in to check-out. We hope to provide accommodations again the next time you are in Hampton. Once again, thank you for the five star review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay