We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1809 W Mercury Blvd, Building A, Hampton, VA 23666 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites & Conf Cntr)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    5
    11
See reviews for
9
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

GO TO THE MARRIOTT! Unless you are on drugs or selling them this is a great place for that , the manager Reza offered to put us out for a refund I have not received! For some reason I can't upload the pics but they are on Facebook! Sticking to the Marriott and will never use a booking agency again!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed in this area many times but this is out first at this hotel. We stopped here as we are celebrating our anniversary and figured it woukd be nice. We requested a king bed and got 2 doubles. My husband is a big muscle dude and sleeping in a full bed is not the best way I want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Me and my husband stayed one night in this hotel. It was awful. The owner was not very welcoming and he obviously didn't care about what he was selling. We got to our room and there were cigarette holes in the nonsmoking room, stuffy and stale air throughout the hotel, due to the fact there were no windows to open.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel1809Mercury, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Good morning HatePineapple, I appreciate you taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay with our property. I apologize for any inconvenience and am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I can assure you that if you were completely unsatisfied with your stay and informed our front desk immediately we would have been... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Friends and I stayed here for an event at the nearby Hampton Coliseum -- which we've attended since 2011. We have stayed at several other area hotels during this event (Holiday Inn; Courtyard Marriott) and never once had an issue checking in. At the Clarion, we stood in line for over an hour and a half, as the hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello ZW6913, First let me apologize on behalf of the Clarion Inn for any inconvenience you encountered during your visit. There are several factors that play into the difficulty during that weekend for check-in. More than a few of the guests were underage which delayed the check-in process due to our policy, which is stated on our website, that the... More 

Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

When I was booking a hotel for New Years Eve, I accidentally booked a room through priceline for New Years Day and missed the short deadline they give you to make changes. I called the hotel personally to see if there was anything they could do and did not receive much help, but I booked a room through the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Desiree, We apologize if you encountered any issues during your visit to Clarion Inn. I hope that this will not deter you from visiting again. More 

San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The Hotel General Manager is a very racist man... Has no compassion nor customer service skills towards weary travelers... The most absolute worst attitude in the world!!! Do not stay here!!! and he stated that " even if we were the President of the United States, he would not care about our feelings. Does not support Military and does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Clarion Inn in Hampton. I would like to apologize if you encountered any inconveniences during your visit. Your review has been shared with our staff and we will be making reasonable changes to our customer service. Thank you again. More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Checkin - I would say that this experience should have made me walk away. I approached the front desk and there was a woman complaining about the room that she was staying in and they were less than pleased about her. They really gave her a hard time about her reasoning and she only wanted a new room, not even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear T B, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I would also like to apologize if the manager working that day seemed to have a foul attitude and I can assure the manager probably just did not hear the question/comment made by you... More 

Clinton, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Hotel in need of repairs. One of two elevators out of order. Dirty towels issued with clean dingy towels. Security lock broken off room door. Ice machine leaking in hall . Over all decor dim and could use painting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Lester S, Thank you for leaving a review. Our property is looking forward to having renovations and making improvements to better suit our guests wants and needs. We are an older property and we try our best to keep the hotel suitable for our guests with what we have. We appreciate all kinds of feedback and we are glad... More 

Ney York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Hotel is very dated inside and out. Hallway, elevator and sleeping room was filthy. Room had ants crawling everywhere including the bed. Dead cockroaches in hallway. Could not sleep in the bed because I felt there were ants crawling on me. Bathroom is so small and found hair on floor. The hotel is in a great location, but be careful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear njstrong, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize that you were not satisfied with your visit. I hope you had a chance to share your discomfort with our staff while you were still at our property so we... More 

Whiteman afb
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

This is the one for you! We got a great rate for the pet room, on top of military discount. The room was very clean and comfortable. Also went for a swim and enjoyed the pool. The location is convienent with lots around to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Megancash91, Thank you so much for leaving your review. It's excellent to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in being one of the few pet friendly hotels in the Coliseum District and are always happy to have our four legged friends stay with us! I will be sure to share your review with the rest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay