We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1809 W Mercury Blvd, Building A, Hampton, VA 23666 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites & Conf Cntr)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    5
    13
See reviews for
11
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel for a trip with friends. They helped us fix our room keys when it wasn't working right away. It's inexpensive and a good place to stay over for a weekend. I recommend staying here for leisure trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jbhuller, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about our property. I will share your words with the entire staff. We are currently under a New Management as of June 15, 2015. We are also renovating our property to bring a new modern look. Some things to look forward too our 40 inch flat panel televisions, new carpets... More 

Harrisonburg, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a good hotel stay at all! When we first checked in, we had only two small hand towels and had to ask for towels. (We continued to have to ask for towels each day as only 2-3 towels were left for 4 guests.) Then, we discovered the tub stopped up when we showered. With the drain fully open, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made an account just to warn people to never stay here! Do not waste your money! As others have said the decor and construction is awful, which I can handle to an extent. I get it, you need to spruce up and renovate, and I can't hold that against the hotel. Yet they don't even try to make it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

GO TO THE MARRIOTT! Unless you are on drugs or selling them this is a great place for that , the manager Reza offered to put us out for a refund I have not received! For some reason I can't upload the pics but they are on Facebook! Sticking to the Marriott and will never use a booking agency again!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed in this area many times but this is out first at this hotel. We stopped here as we are celebrating our anniversary and figured it woukd be nice. We requested a king bed and got 2 doubles. My husband is a big muscle dude and sleeping in a full bed is not the best way I want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Me and my husband stayed one night in this hotel. It was awful. The owner was not very welcoming and he obviously didn't care about what he was selling. We got to our room and there were cigarette holes in the nonsmoking room, stuffy and stale air throughout the hotel, due to the fact there were no windows to open.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel1809Mercury, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Good morning HatePineapple, I appreciate you taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay with our property. I apologize for any inconvenience and am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I can assure you that if you were completely unsatisfied with your stay and informed our front desk immediately we would have been... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Friends and I stayed here for an event at the nearby Hampton Coliseum -- which we've attended since 2011. We have stayed at several other area hotels during this event (Holiday Inn; Courtyard Marriott) and never once had an issue checking in. At the Clarion, we stood in line for over an hour and a half, as the hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello ZW6913, First let me apologize on behalf of the Clarion Inn for any inconvenience you encountered during your visit. There are several factors that play into the difficulty during that weekend for check-in. More than a few of the guests were underage which delayed the check-in process due to our policy, which is stated on our website, that the... More 

Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

When I was booking a hotel for New Years Eve, I accidentally booked a room through priceline for New Years Day and missed the short deadline they give you to make changes. I called the hotel personally to see if there was anything they could do and did not receive much help, but I booked a room through the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Desiree, We apologize if you encountered any issues during your visit to Clarion Inn. I hope that this will not deter you from visiting again. More 

San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The Hotel General Manager is a very racist man... Has no compassion nor customer service skills towards weary travelers... The most absolute worst attitude in the world!!! Do not stay here!!! and he stated that " even if we were the President of the United States, he would not care about our feelings. Does not support Military and does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Clarion Inn in Hampton. I would like to apologize if you encountered any inconveniences during your visit. Your review has been shared with our staff and we will be making reasonable changes to our customer service. Thank you again. More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Checkin - I would say that this experience should have made me walk away. I approached the front desk and there was a woman complaining about the room that she was staying in and they were less than pleased about her. They really gave her a hard time about her reasoning and she only wanted a new room, not even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel1809Mercury, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites by Hampton Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear T B, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I would also like to apologize if the manager working that day seemed to have a foul attitude and I can assure the manager probably just did not hear the question/comment made by you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay