We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham

2.5 of 5 200 McBride Lane, Gretna, VA 24557
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    50
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
66
26
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham
See the most recent reviews
NE NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm not sure what all the glowing reviews for this place are about. It's just a regular Hampton Inn and definitely nothing spectacular. I guess I'm supposed to be grateful this place exists though, as there are no other choices in the area. TWO ISSUES to be aware of if you stay here: One, the sheets and pillow cases are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and at breakfast however, most of our amenities are brand standard and per Hilton have certain guidelines that we must follow. Again, we apologize and if you return to our... More 

richmond va, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

doors make noise all night a vacuum cause door to hit door frame and make terrible banging sounds the room in and of itself was very clean and people very friendly would stay again if fix door sounds ALL NIGHT

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and we will work with our maintenance team to ensure that we make the necessary improvements. Again, we apologize and if you return to our area, we hope you will... More 

Morristown, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hampton Inn as always is a good deal. I arrived very late at night after a long day of work and travel. Restful place to recharge for the next day , no surprises, check in, clean room, good nights sleep , eat and gone again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was delighted to read from your review that you were satisfied with our clean rooms as well as our staff being friendly and attentive. Our main priority is for all... More 

Wirtz, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Over all it was a relaxing, comfortable stay. Unfortunately, the hotel places additional charges on your bill even if you don't use any incidentals without notifying the customer that this is taking place. Though I'm being told it will be credited, I will need to watch my statement to make sure it happens.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences that the additional authorization on you credit card may have caused for you, however, this is not a charge, just a precaution placed as a hold by hotels in case of incidentals. For instance, if a long distance phone call had been made... More 

Blacksburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a difference PEOPLE make at this hotel. You will never find a better staff anywhere! Clean, neat, and simply the best!! The desk and food staff were so nice and very sincere in their efforts to make sure everything was not just OK, but that is was PERFECT! I give them an AAAAAA++++++

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! Guest satisfaction is definitely one of our top priorities at our establishment and we are thrilled to know that your expectations were exceeded. We hope to have the chance to serve you again if your ever have lodging needs in our area! More 

Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overnight stay with family on road trip through area. Generally clean and has the typical Hampton amenities. Very nice to have the fridge and microwave included in the room. There was significant walking noise from the room above, creaking with every step (on one side of the room). Unsure if this reflects materials used for the entire hotel or if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your place of lodging! We are very glad to know that you was impressed with your stay and hope that you will return if need be! More 

Chatham, Va, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Delightful staff. Wonderful experience in every way. It was exceptionally clean and we feel safe when we stay. The rooms are spotless, and it is so convenient to have the business office facilities and the fitness equipment available for use. Breakfast is a real plus, especially the fresh fruit and wonderful coffee throughout the day.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to know that you was pleased with our customer service. Guest satisfaction is a top priority in our hotel and we strive to make sure that this is met with every guest! We hope you will choose us as your place of lodging if the need ever comes about again! More 

Alexandria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Pleasant place to spend a night. Not much around for dining, but that's not what I was looking for. Beautiful area and very relaxing. Friendly staff and nice selection for breakfast. Blue Ridge Parkway is close as well as lots of historic structures.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your return! More 

Weston, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inns in Yonkers, New York and Gretna, Virgina during this trip. Both were wonderful hotels that provided everything we could want, clean beds, cable tv, internet, complimentary breakfast, fitness room, pool and even a welcome for our dog. Would definately stay again.....

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Pets are welcome in our establishment just like you are and we look forward to seeing them walk through our doors! We hope to have the chance to serve you all again if the need ever comes about in the future! More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a very clean family friendly place. The lobby is quite accommodating for meeting with family members during breakfast as well as other times.There were several different groups at the hotel yet there was space for all of them in the lobby. The beds are clean and comfortable. Internet service is free. I will visit again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to know that our services made your stay at our establishment and pleasurable one. We look forward to your return! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham

Address: 200 McBride Lane, Gretna, VA 24557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

35 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay