We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6639 Forest Hill Ave., Gloucester, VA 23061
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Comfort Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I stay every weekend almost and I love it! Easy check in/out and I love booking through Trip Advisor it makes the booking very easy and sometimes you may even get a better price! The beds are nice/ nicely made. The service is pretty good also. Love my stay

Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I don't like to give negative reviews, but this Comfort Inn has earned it. Let me offer three positives: the staff were courteous, check in was fast and efficient, and the beds were comfortable. Upon check in we had to sign a statement that we could be charged if we smoked in the non-smoking room. What a joke. When we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed M
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn Gloucester. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit. I have shared your comments with the department heads to ensure we handle these situations. Again, thank you for your time... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

I knew it was not going to be good from the moment we opened the door to our "non-smoking" room because it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and room deodorizer..so the staff knew about the cigarette odor. I found a BIC lighter on the dresser and handed it to the desk clerk when we checked out after only one night.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMWilsonMD
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the staff I apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay. Unfortunately, we can not control guests who smoke in non-smoking rooms. We do try to clean it and remove the smoke to the best of our ability. I referenced our log books and your folio and did not see anything stating... More 

Rochester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

The stink in the rooms is brutal. I was first given a smoking room - when I complained, the person at the front desk lied and said I requested a smoking room. When I showed the email confirmation of my reservation there was some hemming and hawing but they eventually gave me a non-smoking room. It stunk too but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCtNY
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our reservations come through by the person making the reservations. When making reservations by another entity other than the front desk or Choice Central, 9 ties out of 10 the reservation will be entered into our system by them and will be a smoking room. These rooms are non cancelable, non changeable nor refundable. I am happy to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here with my wife. We were in town for a wedding. We were happy to leave. We arrived late after traveling over six hours. We had booked a non-smoking room with a king bed. The first room we were given had a distinct smell of smoke after we walked in despite my being sick with sinus... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VAbeachgoer
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, On behalf on the entire team, I do apologize for the roach found in your room. Upon notification, the Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper where called to the room after vacating it and took care of your concern. We do not treat finding a roach dead or alive lightly and appreciate you letting us know. We do hope... More 

USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

We brought our two doggies and the hotel loved them. The pet fee was expensive but we had to bring them this time. The hotel is on the main highway outside of the downtown area. Close to things like Wendy's and gas stations. It smelled like smoke but maybe that's just what you have to put up with in that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laruen, We do love having our guests four legged family members stay with us and so happy you chose to bring them! Unfortunately, we do have one wing on the third floor that is smoking, but not for long. We are in the planning stages of making the Comfort Inn Gloucester a 100% smoke free facility! We hope that... More 

New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Check in was smooth and easy, gentleman at counter was very nice and helpful. They allow dogs and there were decent areas to walk them. The only sort of negative comment is there were no "hot" items (eggs, bacon, potatoes) left at the breakfast bar at 9:30 am.

Helpful?
Thank Mid Atlantic N
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We do love when our guests brings their four legged family members and it shows! I was disappointed to hear that their was not any hot items on the food bar at 9:30. I will be bringing this up to the continental staff to make sure that this never happens again. I hope you understand that this is... More 

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here but I will not be staying again. I've called cooperate about these issues but I was never contacted. The rooms smell bad, you get used to it after a while. The ac unit was not working well this go round. The reasons I will not be back: the roaches and the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hrkgeneral
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire staff I do apologize for your unpleasant stay experience. I have looked through our log book for complaints about the AC, rude staff or bugs and did not see one. Would it be possible for you to contact me? I can not dress the staff unless I know who worked when you stayed... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

Staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast didn't have bacon :( but did have some hot items. Room was clean but the property was overall outdated. TV was small and the no channel guide. Plenty of hot water. We did have a fridge and microwave. Not much around the property to do without going to Williamsburg.

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
Lisa_T_Little, Operations Supervisor at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was sadly disappointed to hear that you found your accommodations outdated. We are an older property and we appreciate the fact that you did find your accommodations clean and the staff super friendly. We do try and make each guest during each stay feel welcome! I was doubly disappointed that you found nothing to do in Gloucester... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night over a holiday weekend while the hotel was booked to capacity. I was prepared to be disgusted, especially after watching a family with about six dog crates file in the side door and two other families with more elementary to middle-school age kids than I could count storm in the front while my husband checked... More 

Helpful?
Thank haettenichtgedacht
Management response:

Dear Haettenichtgedacht, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're glad we had the opportunity to serve you during your recent stay with us. On behalf of the staff I apologize for running out of towels. The elevator does make some noise at it is hydraulic and 15 years old, yet passes inspection warranted by law each... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
18.7 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
12.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay