We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockwood Manor

GreenLeadersGold level
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
5189 Rockwood Road, Dublin, VA 24084
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rockwood Manor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

This fantastic B&B is located only 45 minutes west of Roanoke, VA and 5 minutes from NRV Airport. Both couples stayed in over-sized suites with private baths, whirlpool tubs, phones, TV, high-speed wireless Internet, romantic fireplaces throughout, Central air and heat, refrigerators with complimentary drinks and snacks, and so much more! It smells history here and Frank has done a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudia6511
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

Rockwood Manor is lovely, but be prepared to be enveloped in Southern Charm. If you want anonimity, go somewhere else. The hospitality is lovely if you are open to personal questions. The accommodations are quite comfortable, the breakfast was ok, the coffee delicious. A good place for chatty people, not for those who want to be left alone.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey H G
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Went to visit kids and Radford and decided to stay here upon reading the reviews. The best part of our trip was talking to Miss Sarah and Frank over breakfast. The food was home cooked in the kitchen and was very fresh. The pictures, coupled with Miss Sarah's stories really made it feel as if it was a visit to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank COREY C
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

Stayed at this delightful historic home whilst doing a road trip with American friends. What a find!!! We were greeted by Granny Sarah and she was so welcoming & informative about the history of her family home it was a shame we could only stay 1 night. Very large rooms all original decor & furniture and all in all a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
Tadpoledude, Owner at Rockwood Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful words. We really do like to have everyone visit our Family home. I am blessed to have Grandma Sarah as my Mother too. More 

Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Excellent, from the moment we came until we left. The hosts were very present and Sarah was such an addition,as she is a guide to history having grown up in the house and with Frank her son have brought the home back to it's glory. Wonderful choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank kathaas
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We celebrated our 24th anniversary at this wonderful B and B. We were transported to a more peaceful and romantic atmosphere the minute we got out of the car. The grounds are beautiful! The home has so much character and the owners were full of interesting historical information! Breakfast was delicious. It was a delight!

Helpful?
1 Thank 333jwilson2015
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

My husband and I relocated to Georgia, from Long Island, N.Y. over 4 years ago. We have traveled extensively overseas, on executive corporate business trips, as well as in the U.S. for other corporate and personal reasons. Since 1972 we have also been reserving rooms at BnBs in the Northeast, the Middle Atlantic, and more recently, the Southern states. Our... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank georgiapeach410
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

Our recent stay was our second visit. Like our first visit, the accommodations were great! The house is full of character. Sarah, Frank, and Rochelle all took the time to tell us their stories and history, answer our questions, and help us with directions and places to visit. Our first trip there (last year) was just prior to our wedding... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MandMnature
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

In reference to the recent review by John on our week-end stay about a month ago: I am the Mother of the groom, (John referred to on his recent post) that was shocked and dismayed with Frank, the owner of Rockwood. His disrespect and rudeness started about three weeks before the wedding. Upon my visit there; Frank was uncooperative and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie222254258
Tadpoledude, Owner at Rockwood Manor, responded to this review

My Mother taught me to live by the Golden Rule and to respect everyone. I tried to help you plan your event and you took that the wrong way. I am sorry you feel this way. For ten years we have supplied the venue and our guests used the items they wanted too and returned them afterwards. They are kept... More 

Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

First the Disappointing. After reading the reviews we were anticipating a pleasant weekend retreat with family. There were several communication issues with Frank the owner, but they were mostly resolved prior to our arrival. However, at the end of our stay we could only say this was one of the most disappointing locations we have visited. Disrespectful. Frank was quite... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John G
Tadpoledude, Owner at Rockwood Manor, responded to this review

First the truth. I greeted you on arrival and helped carry in your luggage as you had called asking for help . We spoke shortly on your journey by train which fascinated me. You seemed comfortable and I told you to let us know if you needed anything. Never spoke with either of you afterwards. You did not come to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
19.1 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay