We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Danville

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2121 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Danville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Danville
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
13
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a nice, clean hotel with no frills. The beds were terribly uncomfortable, and I am not a picky mattress kind of girl. Pillows were great, though. Too bad the whole bed wasn't made of the same thing! Breakfast was decent. The only thing I didn't like was the maid knocking on the door at 8:15am asking us when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear CharlestonFoodie37, Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we're glad you had a good stay overall, but regret falling short of your expectations in a couple of areas. We will pass your feedback regarding your bed onto our corporate team for further discussion. Our housekeeping staff begins their day cleaning rooms that have been vacated. Once... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Hotel was completely booked due to graduation weekend at Averett University in town. The staff were efficient and friendly and seemed unfazed by a full hotel of parents and graduates all congregating and celebrating a glorious weekend. The room was comfortable and the shower was fantastic! Great water pressure is always a plus. Small frig and microwave are a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear Susan H, Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed the graduation festivities and are happy to hear you had a good stay even though we were very busy. We appreciate your high ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Danville! Thanks again for your comments. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I came here after cancelling my reservation at the Hampton Inn across the street (bad customer service) and was really impressed by their customer service and cleanliness. I had a nice stay and they were extremely helpful as I was not from here and had questions about the area. I would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear April H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we're glad we were able to provide you with a great stay after a negative experience at another hotel! I'm delighted our staff was able to accommodate your needs and recommend local attractions. Thanks again for your comments and we can't wait for your next visit! David... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I came in late after many hours on the road and was referred here when my target hotel did not have a room. Apparently the group that own the local Marriott also owns this hotel. The gentleman at the desk was attentive and got me checked in smoothly. He offered the warm cookies but I only took a fresh orange... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear James F, Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express! We're happy you enjoyed your visit and are glad you felt you received good value for your money. We appreciate your feedback regarding our complimentary breakfast and look forward to serving your future needs in the Danville area! Thanks again for your comments. David Amick... More 

Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My family and I highly enjoyed our stay. I was impressed, as it was my first time in Danville. We were welcomed by hot baked cookies with milk, hot chocolate, or coffee on a cold rainy day. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was well stocked with various options and staff was very helpful. The hotel is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear Gr8nessnme, Thank you for your review - we hope you had fun visiting Danville and are glad we helped make your first visit a good one! We look forward to welcoming you back so you can take advantage of the Riverwalk trail in our backyard. Thanks again for your praise! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Very clean! Delicious breakfast! Loved the location and quantity of electrical outlets (there were four of us in the room all needing to charge phones/tablets/laptops). My only complaint would be that the Front Desk Clerk never spoke to us a single time that we entered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear Amanda M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & Happy New Year! We're glad you had an excellent stay overall and enjoyed the availability of outlets in your room. I do apologize you did not receive the friendly service we aim to deliver from our front desk staff and I will pass your comments onto... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I stayed here on a trip home. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was standard. It's one of the nicer hotels in the Danville area. I would stay here again on another trip home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear Gabrielle T, We appreciate you reviewing your stay and hope you had a happy Thanksgiving & enjoyed visiting your family in Danville! It's great to hear you found your room clean and comfortable and we hope to see you for another visit soon. Thanks again for your comments! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Milford, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

The room was clean and the Hotel was well kept. We had trouble with the heater in the room, and the pancake maker at the breakfast bar was on the fritz, but all in all a good experience. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear CKatto, Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express - we hope you had a good Thanksgiving! I'm glad you had a good stay overall, but do apologize you experienced a couple of issues and will pass your comments onto our team to look into further. Otherwise, thanks again for your high ratings and we look forward to your... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

an ok basic property. The rooms are smaller than average, but quiet. The HVAC works well. The breakfast is a step better than most HIX properties. A room on the river side will reduce any road noise. Breakfast is better than som HIX properties

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear Paintman0954, Thank you for your review - we're glad you had a quiet stay and found our complimentary breakfast above average. We hope to see you the next time you're in town! Thanks again for your feedback. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

My $150 chi hair straightener was stolen from my room while I was at a work meeting by someone on the cleaning staff or someone else with room access. The management did nothing about it and said they would "call me if it turned up" which it obviously will not because it was stolen from my room. No effort was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review

Dear Clarissa S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guests' security very seriously and continue to investigate this matter. I have spoken with our General Manager and I understand our housekeeping staff returned the wallet also left behind with everything included. In the meantime, we are continuing to search & using your feedback... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay