We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America's Best Value Inn

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
908 Valley Ridge Rd, Covington, VA 24426-6348 (Formerly Covington Knights Inn)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
America's Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    15
See reviews for
3
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We had had a pretty awful day and so we were just looking forward to a comfy bed, a cool room and somewhere nice to eat. The attendant at the desk was less than helpful in fact downright rude. When we finally found our room the a/c had not been turned on in anticipation of our stay (had been booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wytheville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The whole place smelled like a sewer! Carpeted floors in bathrooms...yuck. Needs updated for sure! Truck broke down so we had to walk everywhere free breakfast was at a neighbor hotel up the road so we had to walk. The front desk woman was nice. But we first got there and there was a sign to call for assistance as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have not written a review on this site before, but I have benefitted from many reviews from others, and so here is my effort to help my fellow travelers avoid an awful choice. I should add that the reason I booked this hotel is that I was late on the road and had few options available to me at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hard to imagine a worse place to stay. Wasp nest in door, spider webs over bath tub, head board fell off wall at bedtime. Told it was nonsmoking, but rank odor and ash trays in room. If there was any other option (including camp ground) we could have stayed, we would have. I will never stay at an America's Best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sendai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I chose this to have 2 adjoining rooms and decent price. It was recommended by the Best Western nearby, (and breakfast for this place is at the Best Western). I was warned 'not fancy, but clean'. I would have been fine with that; just needed a comfortable place to sleep. It looked like floors had not been vacuumed, heat/air didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvicovington, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am extrememly sorry for the condition that ou found your room in and would like you to know that we have been working diligently to clean and maintain all of the rooms here at America's Best Value Inn! We hope on your next trip through Covington, VA, that you will give us another chance! SIncerely, Cary L More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have come to realize that this ABVI facility is not the best of the bunch, as I have had some issues regarding room cleanliness and upkeep in the past which I have reported to building management, however, I was aghast at the conditions of the room that I entered on my most recent visit. I have only a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvicovington, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest! I am sorry that you experienced such disatisfaction with our room when you were our guest! We have been deeply cleaning all rooms in hopes that your next visit through Covngton, VA will be a pleasant on! Sincerely, Cary L More 

Gloucester, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Horrible stay. Bed bugs. Terrible customer service. You cannot imagine the effort to clean and eradicate your possession and the feeling of having bugs all over your body. Avoid like the plague. Terrible experience. manager and corporate would not help in any way and would not refund our money even through we were forced to find another hotel. Absolutely the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvicovington, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so sorry for the inconviences that occurred to you during your stay here at our hotel! We can assure you that we have monthly exterminator visits. Sincerely, Cary L More 

springfield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

there was actually dry animal food scattered on the "carpet" when we checked in!!!!!!!!!!!!!really! we were treated to trucks passing thru the property most of the night - still don't understand the bizarre setup. road weary, we just kept our socks on (along w/ clothes, of course) and waited for morning hoping to get enough sleep to continue on our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvicovington, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are truely sorry for the inconviences that occured during your stay here at America's Best Value Inn. We have reviewed the housekeeping of our rooms and are ensuring that our housekeepers are cleaning the room properply by instituting a Double Check procedure for checking the rooms. We are unfortunate in the fact that we have no control... More 

Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here this past Friday night because I was too tired to complete our trip that evening. We had not planned on stopping in Covington and after our stay, I recommend you not stay in Covington either. We tried to get a room at the Holiday Inn but they wanted $149 for one night. Are you kidding??? So we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvicovington, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have taken note of your complaint! Thank you, Cary L More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. We should have stayed in Beckley and driven the extra miles. They gouged us for $124.00 tax and all for a room that would go for $29.00/night, or maybe even 10.00/hour. It is musty, the towels were worn completely out with some staining so we went to Kmart and bought some.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvicovington, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have taken notice to your complaint and are working to remedy the situations you encountered! I do assure you, that we do have one of the lowest prices during the PGA event each year! Sincerely, Cary L More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question